We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for 10 days the service was awesome Amaury in the front desk super good energy and Reynaldo in the night hours , I definitely love it, the customer service excellent,I will recommend and is going to be my place to stay in Miami any future trips.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear "FanniLescano"
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that 2 of my Front Desk associates were able to enhance your experience. It is very rewarding to see their names mentioned as I see on a daily basis their dedication to please and accommodate our guests. We appreciate your business and kind comments.
Hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    176
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
92
302
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Although the rooms are small, they are gorgeous. The same goes for the bathroom. The beds are super comfy. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Anything you need ask Richard. He's your man. The hotel is in a prime location. It is in walking distance to all of the action, but far enough where you can appreciate the quiet. My next trip to Miami I know where I will be staying.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear DeeDee B:
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach, we appreciate your comments about our staff, in particular to Richard. We will hold you to your word and will be waiting for your next visit.
Thanks so much,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santana Parnaiba
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This property is perfectly located close to the beach and comercial / restaurants area at Ocean Drive, but not right into the noisy area. Comfortable room, elegant decoration and prime taste amenities. Some people might find the bathroom too small, but it was not a problem for us (just me and my daughter). The breakfast was simple but enough, with choices of bread, drinks, fruits and yogurts. The staff was very helpful and ready to help. Although it is more "european oriented", the manager is Brazilian and was very kind and friendly from even before check-in till time to leave. The parking (valet) is not cheap, but average Miami and the service is good. Beach service impeccable, with chaises, towels and shade umbrellas. Gay friendly. Highly reccomended for any party, we will sure come back.

Room Tip: If you really need a two-bed room, you must write your request directly to the hotel. Surcharge may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear LucianaG70
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. I am happy that you and your daughter had a good time here and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Regular rooms are very small and tight. Book suite rooms only for comfortable stay, may cost more but it's worth it. Hotel is very clean and everyone is very nice and accommodating. Love the showers and lounge area.


Room Tip: Book only the suite rooms ,in which they only have two available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Loved your alias "Miamitakeover2014 " !!
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I hope you found everything you were looking for in Miami Beach and come back soon.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Room was not big enough to fit all my clothing and luggage. Had to hang some clothes on lights next to bed. Bathroom was so small that when sitting on toilet, you could not reach toilet paper without being a contortionist as arms were squeezed against the sink. Decor was unique with faux cowhide stripes on doors and walls. People/employees were great. Location was fantastic, but room conditions make this a non-starter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear William A:
I am sorry that the size of your room did not fulfill your needs. In every Boutique Hotel in the Art Deco District rooms are smaller than in the new hotels but we have different room configurations with bigger closets and bathrooms as well as Suites. On your next visit let us know in advance and we will reserve a room that fits your needs. Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay .What you see is what you get . Super cute hotel . Nice clean rooms.Very intimate. Prime location . Comfortable beds and amazing service. The concierge Richard is extra helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you reviewer, for staying with us and for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and that Richard was able to make a positive impact on your stay.
Kind regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel a 1 minute walk to the beach and 3 minute walk to the Main Street of South Beach Miami. Rooms are not huge especially the bathroom but it is clean, modern and well presented. We had a perfect time relaxing and unwinding in Miami. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Sharon R,
We have seen such an increase of visitors from Down Under and we are extremely happy that Miami became a destination from Australian visitors. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.