We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squeezed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Save Saved
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Squeezed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was not big enough to fit all my clothing and luggage. Had to hang some clothes on lights next to bed. Bathroom was so small that when sitting on toilet, you could not reach toilet paper without being a contortionist as arms were squeezed against the sink. Decor was unique with faux cowhide stripes on doors and walls. People/employees were great. Location was fantastic, but room conditions make this a non-starter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear William A:
I am sorry that the size of your room did not fulfill your needs. In every Boutique Hotel in the Art Deco District rooms are smaller than in the new hotels but we have different room configurations with bigger closets and bathrooms as well as Suites. On your next visit let us know in advance and we will reserve a room that fits your needs. Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    106
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
177
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was very pleased with my stay .What you see is what you get . Super cute hotel . Nice clean rooms.Very intimate. Prime location . Comfortable beds and amazing service. The concierge Richard is extra helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you reviewer, for staying with us and for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and that Richard was able to make a positive impact on your stay.
Kind regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A beautiful boutique hotel a 1 minute walk to the beach and 3 minute walk to the Main Street of South Beach Miami. Rooms are not huge especially the bathroom but it is clean, modern and well presented. We had a perfect time relaxing and unwinding in Miami. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sharon R,
We have seen such an increase of visitors from Down Under and we are extremely happy that Miami became a destination from Australian visitors. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at The Lord Balfour Hotel. The Hotel was great. The rooms are not huge but if you are on South Beach you are not in the room much. The location is great. Not by all the noise but only a short walk from the action. While the accommodations were great, the staff is really what made our stay special. Everyone went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable and pleased with our stay. Richard stood out as he made a connection not only with us but the other guests as well. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you "DLJ3200" for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach and for recognizing the services provided by Richard, we very much appreciate your kind comments as well as your patronage.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came to the Hotel and we was greeted by a very nice gentle men Richard Beauvais. He was very nice and helpful with everything. Our stay was wonderful and these are the nicest people ever. Thank you so much Lord Balfour for letting us stay we will be back and make sure Richard Beauvais is there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear "Aline E"
Thank you for your review and we are glad that Richard was able to impress you and make your stay memorable. He is one of the many talented staff members that take exceptional care of our guests and distinguish our Hotel from other hotels in Miami Beach.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very convenienty located in Miami South Beach. It can`t get any better.

The resort fee the hotel charges includes a small continental breakfast buffet which was perfect for us. We do not need anything else for breakfast anyway. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a good time. We stayed in other hotels in South Beach before and found this to be slightly cheaper. It is good value for the money. The room had a decent size, very neat and tidy, the bathroom was a little too small for our taste but nothing of major importance. The bed was very comfy.

This is a good hotel and we would recommend staying there if you are after the not too expensive hotels in South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks Denneo for staying with us and for your positive review. We appreciate your comments and hope to be of service on your next visit to Miami.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wanted to experience South Beach "style" and the Lord Balfour hotel delivered. Very aesthetically stylish (room, lobby) as well as the fact that they had the best music playing in their lobby! My husband and I were travelling with our 2 teenagers who were only interested in beach time. Lord Balfour was close to beach and had the chairs & umbrella they needed, so it met my kids' expectations. This hotel also had a nice complimentary continental breakfast which helped our budget. The only downsides to our stay: the room is very, very tiny. Probably ok with just a king bed in it, but with 2 doubles, yikes - barely room for our luggage! We could not all 4 of us be in the room at the same time. Also, they charged $50/extra person and it's not like we got a bigger room for the extra bodies... I even had to request additional towels which chapped me after paying the additional fee. Overall, I was happy with this property though. The staff was nice, location good, and I felt like I'd experienced South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear "ColumbusLori11"

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you liked our hotel, despite the fact that our rooms are not as large as other hotels you have stayed, most of the boutique hotels in historic buildings in South Beach have smaller rooms. Regarding the additional $50.00 per person, our rates are based on double occupancy, therefore when 4 guests are staying in the room the additional fee is applied. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you and your family in the near future.
Best regards,

Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;