We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Room Mate Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Casale Monferrato, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Many Thanks to all the staff of LB Hotel, great people, happy to assist the customer for any needs...good location on Ocean Drive , close to the entertainment, but far away from the noise.
A special thanks to Dilip (Concierge), when you're asking to him any suggestions for tours, restaurants, and so on, he's greatly honored to help you...he loves his job...Grazie.
In conclusion we can suggest the Hotel to all the people, family and couples, you feel like at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear "2BeMax"
Thank you for recognizing our staff services in special from our Concierge Dilip. Everyone works hard to provide a memorable stay for our guests and these comments are much appreciated.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    182
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
318
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's a boutique type hotel. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. It's way down on Ocean Drive so it's a bit of a walk to the "happening" spots but we wanted some place that was quite at night but still walkable to everything else. It was perfect. Beach very close and although they charge a resort fee it was nice to have an umbrella and chair each day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you "jtjt114" for your business and for your comments, we are glad that you chose the Lord Balfour for your stay and enjoyed our location, service and facilities.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lord Balfour is not a major resort but it is beautiful non-the-less. The decorations and just the entire step of the hotel is unique and had a great modern feel. it is not a very large hotel therefore does not many floors or the largest rooms but they did suffice and it ended up being quit homey. One of the major benefits of this hotel is its extremely helpful staff members. When returning from one of Miami's crazy nightclubs one of their employes, I believe his name was Kendrick, was very helpful and even brought towels to our room even though it was the middle of the night which is not the type of service you will always find when staying at a hotel. Another great benefit is its location. It is extremely close to the beach, walking distance even. Which is just what you need for the perfect vacation in Miami. So if you are looking for a nice hotel near the beach with great service and beautigul modern decor Lord Balfour is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Elena K,
It was great reading your review, thank you for acknowledging the service provided by Kendrick, I will pass along your comments to him.
Please think of us the next time you visit Miami Beach.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful small hotel placed on the quiet area of Ocean Drive. Walking distance from the beach, all the famous terraces of Miami Beach and Lincoln Road. Staff is absolutely fantastic, we had a problem with our rented car and they very kindly help us to get it solved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear "Bartolome J"
There are plenty of boutique hotels in South Beach but we are fortunate to have the greatest staff that cares so much for our guests, we are glad to have provided you a memorable stay.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lord Balfour is a SMALL boutique hotel; which means there are not a lot of rooms, not a ton of employees, and the hotel is stylish, and the rooms are smaller than at the mega hotels. So, to compare it to a resort with full services and a pool is unfair. Okay, now that we have that sorted out....

I loved The Lord Balfour. I was there earlier this week for 2 nights. The staff is very helpful and professional. I believe some employees perform multiple roles, and they all go the extra mile to make sure everyone is happy. The property is very quirky and stylish. I found the place to be upscale, but fun at the same time. The bartender crafts delicious, inventive drinks.

The room was immaculate, quirky, and stylish. I appreciated the SUPER comfy bed, the super shower, and the cold, efficient air conditioning.

The morning continental breakfast was just perfect. The hotel is a (very) short walk to a great beach.

The property is on the more QUIET end of Ocean Drive; far enough away from the madness to allow for an evenings rest....but close enough to get to the fun in a five minute stroll.

When staying there, be sure to stroll down to South Pointe Park---great place to watch a sunset or sunrise. This is the point of Miami where cruiseships make their final "goodbye" to the mainland. Check the cruise departure calendars and wave "bonvoyage".

I will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear "atlfuzzy"
It was a great pleasure to read your extensive review of your recent stay with us, tank you for taking the time and for choosing the Lord Balfour.
I will share your comments with our staff that work so hard and wear multiple hats to provide the service our guests expect and deserve.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days/2 nights at Lord Balfour. As soon as we pulled up, we were immediately greeted by Richard. He helped us get our things situated and was so kind to be honest with parking advice. The hotel was so beautiful, which fit well with the smell that lured the people on the streets. Nice and peaceful, even during the late evening of partying. Very artsy and modern. The decor in the room was nice to look at. Comfortable, big bed but, the bathroom was smaller than preferred. What made up for it was the whole staff; Richard, the ladies at the front desk, bar tender, the lady who took care of the complimentary breakfast, were all so wonderful, helpful and just friendly which made our stay all worth it.

Room Tip: If you are going for the weekend, make sure to take the Valet parking that's offered. It will sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Tiffany F:
It was such a pleasure to read your review, we are blessed to have a great staff taking care of our guests and it is rewarding to see that we made your stay a memorable one.
Please think of us the next time you are planning your trip to Miami.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent a long weekend here during a trip to Florida in June. Booked through Hotel directly after comparing all deals whilst in U.S. Front desk staff very friendly and room/bed very comfortable. Noted previous reviews re the small bathroom which staff seemed at pains to point out too, but it's fine and fit for purpose! Breakfast was nice. Cereals, toast, bagels etc. The location of the hotel is excellent, situated a short walk from the main bars & restaurants on Ocean Drive but really quiet at night. The walk to the beach is even shorter and the hotel supplies the facility to have sunbed and umbrella every day should you visit. This brings me onto the only one thing that has to be added but not really a negative, just a need to know. There is an $18 a day resort fee pp that covers this beach hire & breakfast. I didn't see that anywhere when booking. Secondly there is no hotel car park and they use a Valet service at $35 per day. Again not a major inconvenience but would have been nice to know in advance. Overall a beautiful place and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear "Basing36"
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in South Beach, we are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We made sure that all our sales channels were informing about the resort fee but I will revise it again, thank you for letting us know.
We look forward to be of service again on your next visit.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and evrything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.