We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I went with some friends and I have to say it "service is wonderful!"
Gisella in reservations was really nice and helpful, she helped us organizing everything and told me about the Concierge, what a guy! He really knows the place and make everything possible.

Richard was there when we arrived and assisted us from the beginning to the end. There was another guy (sorry I don't remember his name) he also was ready to assist anytime.

The hotel is just beautiful! Rooms are a little small but nice and comfortable. The beach is no more than 5 minutes away and offer chairs, umbrellas and big towels... I just loooooooveeee this place!

They also have complementary breakfast, croissants, bagels and fruits; just what you need to start the day.

I absolutely recommend this place!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Maritvrela:
Thank you for your review acknowledging several staff members. You can find many similar hotels in Miami Beach but our staff is second to none, we go the extra mile to make every guest feel welcome and looked after. We appreciate your kind comments.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    129
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
232
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the hotel Feb 20-24 this year. It's a really tiny hotel but besides that I was shocked to see $80 charged after checkout. After multiple messages I talked with billing and they claimed I cleaned out the minibar knowing full well I didn't. The lady wanted to argue. After double checking she claims that she will credit me . This after making me look like and idiot texting my friends which she insisted maybe they took it. This is a very deceptive practice. If a customer wiped out the minibar red flags should be raised and should be contacted. The location is perfect but the size of the room would make a toddler have difficulty walking in. We stayed in a 2 queen? Bed room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "bilah1"
I am sorry for the incorrect minibar charge and for the inquiries during your call, since your stay was back in February and we did not hear from you until this week we though that the charges were legitimate and there was no problem. Immediately after your phone call and dispute we have reversed the charges. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and I thank you for staying with us.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

First, the staff, including the very considerate Richard, the front desk staff member, are very considerate and genuinely interested in making your stay a pleasant one. I loved being able to pick up and drop off courtesty beach towels at the front desk.
The hotel is in a great location, between 3rd and 4th street on Ocean Drive, I believe. That puts you on Ocean Drive but a few blocks away from what could be a lot of noise from the bars and clubs. Also, 3rdstreetyoga takes place almost directly in front of the hotel on the beach, if you want yoga right on the beach (I highly recommend it).
The courtesty breakfast and bar in the lobby are another plus.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Jorge A;
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour amongst so many great options in South Beach. I am glad that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. I will pass your comments to them.
Please think of us on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Location is perfect, a block from beach access, and a block from SoBe fun. The property is in great shape, and very well decorated. Many pleasant details made our stay awesome. The staff was absolutely amazing and made us feel like VIP the entire time. We will most definitely return and recommend to friends/family. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "dengel":
One of the advantages of a Boutique Hotel is that we get to know our guests and make them feel special. Your comment about feeling like a VIP illustrates that and was very rewarding to us.
Thank you.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is one of those reviews you kind of hate to write because a person gets greedy with a 'perfect find' and wants it always to be available to them!! We stayed at the Lord Balfour for only one night, April 10 and it was without a doubt a gem! Located on the quiet end of Ocean Drive, it is so conveniently located to the beach and just a short walk down Ocean to any dining you might require. The room was tastefully decorated and outfitted with top of the line everything. While not huge, they made efficient use of every space and it was adequate. Our room overlooked the lovely courtyard with mural on the opposite wall.
We arrived early and were easily accommodated, not something we were expecting but thought we would at least park and hit the beach before check in. The front desk staff is genuinely happy to welcome you and inform you of all the amenities available to you during your stay. We took advantage of the beach area with umbrella, chairs and towels for the afternoon. This is a great inclusion and there were a lot of guests using it so obviously something that should be kept!
Concierge directed us to "Smith and Wollensky' for a wonderful dining experience. Overlooking the water it was the perfect end to a beautiful day on Miami Beach. Had we not consulted him, we would not even have realized this restaurant existed at the end of the street right beside a park and a beautiful walking area.
The other inclusion that is great at the Lord Balfour is the morning breakfast. Just what we needed to start our day. This is a real bonus when there isn't a restaurant on site and the LB has recognized the need and convenience it offers their guests.
We loved Happy Hour at the bar as well. Bartender was very friendly and we witnessed him mixing up some interesting tea infused drinks. We enjoyed our drinks outside on the front deck on a beautiful evening.
I don't recall the young man's name who greeted us when we pulled up to the Lord Balfour but he was very kind and friendly and is definitely an asset to the hotel - a first impression is so important and he certainly went above and beyond to put forth a gracious welcome.
Look no further in Miami Beach for a perfect spot to stay, our only regret is that we only had one night there, we now look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "tanfan"
We were honored to receive a positive and detailed review from such a savvy traveler and TripAdvisor's Top Contributor. I am happy that our hotel and staff were able to provide a memorable stay and we sincerely hope to be of service again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Kind Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

LB is perfectly located, one block back from the stunning beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are included in the rate. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive but not too far to walk if you fancy a night out on the town. There are heaps of restaurants as well.

The hotel itself and its decor is very funky. Staff are hugely helpful and the rooms are a decent size. Breakfast is simple but delicious; fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, juices and coffee. Wifi is free.

A great hotel. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sarah M:
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcome you back.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

What an enjoyable experience. The location is just perfect and everyone in the Hotel such amazing and kind. Don't forget you have the beach just across the street with towels, umbrella and beach chairs waiting for you! I just loved the hotel design and outstanding experience. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Mr. JoeOConnor:
Thank you so much for the nice review and for the 100% endorsement! We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.