We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lord Balfour Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Room Mate Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lord Balfour Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Overall good experience- a bit of a glitch when we arrived there as we were told our room was not yet ready (check-in is at 3pm, we got there around 4pm), but they gave us beach towels and told us that they had lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach across the street. Location is okay- on Ocean Drive but not in the "main" area.
Richard was awesome!! Super friendly and very attentive!

Room Tip: No restaurant and no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Anais T
I am sorry if the room was not ready upon your arrival, it is rare that this happens but sometimes due to high occupancy and some late check outs we encounter this issue.
I am glad that Richard caused a positive impact, he is one of our senior associates here and we really value his services. I will pass you comment to him.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    182
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
318
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lord Balfour for three nights in March 2014. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The room was small and so was the bathroom, but cozy. The walls and floors are thin, you could hear the people walking in the room above, not the greatest at 6:30 in the morning. The continental breakfast was nothing fancy but it did the trick. The valet parking was a bit slow 25-30 min to get your car, but it was nice that you didn't have to find parking on your own. I would go back if I was in the area again.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor so you do not hear the people walking around at night or in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you "Adam S" for your comments and for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach, I do hope that when you come back you think of us again.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Modern, clean and cool in an excellent location. Easy walk to restaurants, beach and South Pointe Park. Room is compact but still works for two. Bed is really comfortable! Walls are thin but we were fine with a room far from the elevator/stairs.

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear "Brittney W"
Thank you for your review and for staying at the Lord Balfour. We hope to be at your service again in the near future.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Recently had a stay here and was not disappointed. The hotel fits well in Miami Beach- love the art and decor. The service by all staff was excellent. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. A few oddities: small closet, which by itself would have been ok, but the lone small dresser was IN the closet, and the bottom shelf of the dresser housed the safe. Glad to have a safe (hate it when hotels don't), but the weight of the safe in the dresser led to us deciding not to try to drag the dresser out of the closet in order to get more closet space. The weirdest thing though was the very low shower head in an otherwise great bathroom. Shower was very spacious, and the shower head was barely fine for me (I'm 5'2'') but boyfriend is over 6 foot and it was humorous to watch him try to wash his hair. Doable, but silly choice on behalf of hotel, when the ceiling / wall could have easily accommodated a higher placement for the shower head!

Loved, loved, loved the back patio. Breakfast was not exceptional, but it was yummy and fresh. Nice to have the bar there too, and the happy hour was a nice touch.

Would I stay there again? Sure! Especially after they've put in the restaurant which is in the plans!

Room Tip: If you are tall, ask if they have any rooms with higher shower heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear "ScarletMoon2013";
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. By the description of the shower and closet it seems that you stayed in one of our accessible rooms, reason for the low shower head, our regular rooms have very high showers and the closets are bigger than described. I am glad that this did not affect your overall stay but keep in mind that there are other room configurations that will provide you a more comfortable stay. Hope to be at your service again soon.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

From the moment I walked into the lobby I knew I would enjoy my stay! The decor was fun, eclectic with a hint of nostalgia. The front desk staff greeted me with genuine smiles which made for a smooth and seamless check in experience. From the pony hair decor on each of the guest room doors to the murals on the walls and the silver tree stump night stands the attention to detail cannot go unnoticed. The resort fee brings such extras as wifi and continental breakfast each day during your stay which makes this place great for business as well as pleasure. When leaving I said to Richard (front desk agent) I will not say good bye but I will say "See you soon"! Thank you Lord Balfour for making my recent stay most enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Julie C:
We appreciate your review and your attention to the design details of our hotel. The design firm has received several awards for the work they have done at the Lord Balfour.
We truly hope to see you soon!
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nothing but rave reviews for this hotel after our stay this past weekend. The staff is beyond helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless. Our room (standard with one King bed) was cozy and comfortable. The location is on the quieter end of SoBe but walking distance to all of the action.

We used their umbrella and chair service each day (included in the resort fee) to enjoy the beach. What a treat! So easy- just a 3 min walk to the beach and everything is there for you.

The included breakfast was fabulous. We also enjoyed reasonably priced drinks at the lobby bar at night.

Do not think twice about booking here if you are looking for a clean, quiet, beautiful SoBe hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear "Jaymee1545"
Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay at the Lord Balfour. Every staff member works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations and it is very rewarding when we are recognized for it. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Miami Beach and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stylish. Best describes this hotel and that's what I wanted when staying in south beach to celebrate my honeymoon! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated famously from Amuri (sorry if I spelt your name wrong), Dylan, Richard and the unforgettable Mr Dilip! I normally do not remember names so it goes without saying that all the staff made an impression none more so than Mr Dilip who came up with some fabulous recommendations, his sleek but personable persona so suited the hotel brand. 11 out of 10 for service. The only con's in staying on Ocean drive ( through no fault of the hotel, more so for the location which by the way is super convenient) is the noise the street generates ( BMW's racing down the road and booming sound systems - give an example, cars that you could hear three blocks away) so if you are a light sleeper get a room away from the street. My wife and I loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear "BG_1980"
Thank you so much for your review, I will share your comments with the staff members mentioned as they will be honored to have made a positive impact on your experience with us.
Unfortunately I can only share your frustration for the lack of common sense for the racing car drivers and loud music on the street, we are located on the quitter side of Ocean Dr. but not totally immune from these individuals.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and evrything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.