We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Save Saved
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$155 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
G
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything is good here, great welcome, special requests honored, extremely helpful and willing staff from check in thru breakfast all the way to check out. Rooms good, the bathrooms are small but it doesn't matter. Free Internet and breakfast and being just south of 5th it's nice and quiet yet close walking distance to all the action. The beach is right across the street and reception organise towels and umbrellas for you. The only downside is the walls are a bit thin and you can hear the TV in other rooms. Otherwise highly recommend this place. I'd rather be here than any other in the same price category and I think the good service and effort made deserves recognition

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you E M for your review and for staying with us. I am glad that our staff was accommodating and provided the service you expected. Please think of us on your next trip back to South Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    98
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
164
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been trying to cancel my reservation for days.
Reservations tells me they can not do it and I must contacty the front desk. The frent desk Never answers there phone? I have sent several Emails and no one responds?

There is now a charge on my Credit card as of February 16th? Wasn't supposed to be at the Hotel until the 17th?

apparenlty they will take a reservation but you are not allowed to cancel...and yu will be charged.

scam

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear VonDutch007
I am sorry, but I researched reservations, no-show charges and telephone issues and did not find anything that would support your allegations. Our phones are working fine, our Reservations Department can cancel any reservation within the cancellation window stated on the confirmation we send and we did not charge any no-show for the specified date. Contact me directly if you have any additional information that would help solving this issue.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first impression of the hotel was marred by the fact that they couldn't find the reservation that we had made via their web site. It was sorted out reasonably quickly but we later saw some other people apparently having a similar problem with their reservation. The hotel clearly spent a lot on design and our first impression was that the designer did a superb job. The check-in, bar and breakfast area on the ground floor have a great atmosphere and we were seduced into having a couple of cocktails in the bar. The location of the hotel is great with a wide range of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was nicely designed but very small, but this is South Beach so you don't expect a huge room. However it would have been nice if the room design had left somewhere to put your luggage. The bed was very comfortable but overnight we discovered that the designer clearly didn't understand the need for noise insulation. We were woken 3 times by people talking in the corridor and once by noise from the room upstairs. It wasn't people shouting or any thing like that, just, for example, some people saying goodbye to their friends at 5am before they went to the airport. The walls don't seem to have any noise insulation in them as we could hear every word very clearly. The complementary continental breakfast in the morning was fine, but maybe it could be more innovative to match the innovative design of the hotel. The only other problem that we encountered during our stay was a wait of nearly half an hour for the valet to deliver our car. The hotel management needs to consider using a different valet company.

Room Tip: Unless you can sleep through noise, ask for a room on the top floor and as far from the elevators as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mike-Bucks ;
Thank you for you comments about your stay with us. I understand your frustration about being awaken by your neighbors at night and in the early hours, my apologies for the inconvenience. Our staff is trained to respond quickly in situations like this as we want to provide all our guest with a relaxing room to recover from the day activities. I am also working closely with our Valet company in order to bring more efficiency to the car delivery process. We appreciate that you stayed with and took the time to write this review.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I could not fault our recent stay at the Lord Balfour in December. The staff were great and the complimentary breakfasts were more than enough for my hungry teenagers.
The position is in a quiet area but is within easy walking distance to the Collins Ave shopping area (5 mins) and also to the many Art Deco bars & Restaurants along Ocean Dr.
We hired bikes from the city cycle stand about 1 block away and rode around South Beach looking at the Art Deco buildings and rode up to the 17th Mall.
We loved all the quirky art around the hotel and the "hand" soap holder in the shower was a novelty. Rooms are a little small for 4 people but everything was comfy and clean. Besides we were only in our room to sleep so space wasn't an issue.
Only 2 blocks away is a bus stop to get around everywhere. Caught the bus to the NBA Miaimi Heat game.
Look forward to returning one day!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear teddy_tourist :
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Miami, I know you came a long way from "down under" and I am glad the Lord Balfour South Beach did not disappoint.
We sure hope to see you soon!
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Lord Balfour - we're 30-somethings, newly married, and were looking for a relatively easy escape from the miserable North-Eastern winter. We had a great time relaxing in SoBe and the Lord Balfour was a huge part of that! It is located in a quieter area, which we appreciated, and near South Pointe Park, which we also liked. The staff at LB, as other reviewers have mentioned, were amazing, kind, and the best part of the experience - special thanks to Richard and Jose! A close second was the location - a wonderful, peaceful section of the beach is right across the street, and we got beach chairs, towels and umbrellas which were such great perks! Breakfast was simple and good - always some fresh fruit and awesome coffee, which are really my two requirements, so I was very happy. And we loved our room - the decor is funky and fun, and we thought it seemed spacious, though we are used to city living, city hotels, etc., so maybe folks used to different types of travel would feel differently. For us it was perfect though, and we loved it! We hope to be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Rachelnt30:
Thank you for recognizing the services provided by our staff members, we work hard to exceed our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when these efforts are acknowledged. We know the choices in South Beach are many and we thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

fantastic hotel. we were there 2 days before our cruise and it was fantastic. service at the hotel was excellent and it was very clean. the room was a great size but the placement of the toilet was was very tight. we arrived early and the service team was gracious enough to give us a call when it was ready...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you PaulwithSusan for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Let me start with the staff...helpful, courteous,efficient, accommodating and just plain friendly! I am not talking about two or three exceptional staff...I am talking about every staff member who works in the hotel 24/7! From the moment we checked-in until we checked out, my wife and I were treated like Royalty. The rooms were certainly not small for a boutique hotel in a major tourist area. Our king room had more than enough space for our needs. However, if one wants to spend most of his/her time in the room and not on the beach or walking around South Beach, then maybe it would be too small. With regard to the location...it was fantastic. The spectacular beach is right across the street. If you want to stay in the midst of the South Beach madness, i.e., blocks 500-1100, then the Lord Balfour may not be for you. If you want to experience the excitement of Ocean Drive, but return to a quiet room, the the Lord Balfour, in the 300 block s for you! The lobby is clean and airy and the Continental breakfast is well-stocked and the coffee is good and strong! I will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear rmarksby:
It gives me great pleasure to keep repeating that our staff is our greatest asset here at Lord Balfour, thank you for your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your stay in South Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.