We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design but rooms are noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great design but rooms are noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first impression of the hotel was marred by the fact that they couldn't find the reservation that we had made via their web site. It was sorted out reasonably quickly but we later saw some other people apparently having a similar problem with their reservation. The hotel clearly spent a lot on design and our first impression was that the designer did a superb job. The check-in, bar and breakfast area on the ground floor have a great atmosphere and we were seduced into having a couple of cocktails in the bar. The location of the hotel is great with a wide range of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was nicely designed but very small, but this is South Beach so you don't expect a huge room. However it would have been nice if the room design had left somewhere to put your luggage. The bed was very comfortable but overnight we discovered that the designer clearly didn't understand the need for noise insulation. We were woken 3 times by people talking in the corridor and once by noise from the room upstairs. It wasn't people shouting or any thing like that, just, for example, some people saying goodbye to their friends at 5am before they went to the airport. The walls don't seem to have any noise insulation in them as we could hear every word very clearly. The complementary continental breakfast in the morning was fine, but maybe it could be more innovative to match the innovative design of the hotel. The only other problem that we encountered during our stay was a wait of nearly half an hour for the valet to deliver our car. The hotel management needs to consider using a different valet company.

Room Tip: Unless you can sleep through noise, ask for a room on the top floor and as far from the elevators as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mike-Bucks ;
Thank you for you comments about your stay with us. I understand your frustration about being awaken by your neighbors at night and in the early hours, my apologies for the inconvenience. Our staff is trained to respond quickly in situations like this as we want to provide all our guest with a relaxing room to recover from the day activities. I am also working closely with our Valet company in order to bring more efficiency to the car delivery process. We appreciate that you stayed with and took the time to write this review.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    140
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
255
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane,Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I could not fault our recent stay at the Lord Balfour in December. The staff were great and the complimentary breakfasts were more than enough for my hungry teenagers.
The position is in a quiet area but is within easy walking distance to the Collins Ave shopping area (5 mins) and also to the many Art Deco bars & Restaurants along Ocean Dr.
We hired bikes from the city cycle stand about 1 block away and rode around South Beach looking at the Art Deco buildings and rode up to the 17th Mall.
We loved all the quirky art around the hotel and the "hand" soap holder in the shower was a novelty. Rooms are a little small for 4 people but everything was comfy and clean. Besides we were only in our room to sleep so space wasn't an issue.
Only 2 blocks away is a bus stop to get around everywhere. Caught the bus to the NBA Miaimi Heat game.
Look forward to returning one day!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear teddy_tourist :
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Miami, I know you came a long way from "down under" and I am glad the Lord Balfour South Beach did not disappoint.
We sure hope to see you soon!
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Lord Balfour - we're 30-somethings, newly married, and were looking for a relatively easy escape from the miserable North-Eastern winter. We had a great time relaxing in SoBe and the Lord Balfour was a huge part of that! It is located in a quieter area, which we appreciated, and near South Pointe Park, which we also liked. The staff at LB, as other reviewers have mentioned, were amazing, kind, and the best part of the experience - special thanks to Richard and Jose! A close second was the location - a wonderful, peaceful section of the beach is right across the street, and we got beach chairs, towels and umbrellas which were such great perks! Breakfast was simple and good - always some fresh fruit and awesome coffee, which are really my two requirements, so I was very happy. And we loved our room - the decor is funky and fun, and we thought it seemed spacious, though we are used to city living, city hotels, etc., so maybe folks used to different types of travel would feel differently. For us it was perfect though, and we loved it! We hope to be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Rachelnt30:
Thank you for recognizing the services provided by our staff members, we work hard to exceed our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when these efforts are acknowledged. We know the choices in South Beach are many and we thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

fantastic hotel. we were there 2 days before our cruise and it was fantastic. service at the hotel was excellent and it was very clean. the room was a great size but the placement of the toilet was was very tight. we arrived early and the service team was gracious enough to give us a call when it was ready...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you PaulwithSusan for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Let me start with the staff...helpful, courteous,efficient, accommodating and just plain friendly! I am not talking about two or three exceptional staff...I am talking about every staff member who works in the hotel 24/7! From the moment we checked-in until we checked out, my wife and I were treated like Royalty. The rooms were certainly not small for a boutique hotel in a major tourist area. Our king room had more than enough space for our needs. However, if one wants to spend most of his/her time in the room and not on the beach or walking around South Beach, then maybe it would be too small. With regard to the location...it was fantastic. The spectacular beach is right across the street. If you want to stay in the midst of the South Beach madness, i.e., blocks 500-1100, then the Lord Balfour may not be for you. If you want to experience the excitement of Ocean Drive, but return to a quiet room, the the Lord Balfour, in the 300 block s for you! The lobby is clean and airy and the Continental breakfast is well-stocked and the coffee is good and strong! I will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear rmarksby:
It gives me great pleasure to keep repeating that our staff is our greatest asset here at Lord Balfour, thank you for your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your stay in South Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel was nice , rooms where clean , not to big in size. The walls to the hotel were thin so we could hear almost everything at night. On the Friday night that we got in someone was having a party in a near by room we could hear their music bumping. The staff handled the situation very quickly. The next night everything was good. THe hotel is located on the quieter end of Ocean drive. Walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shops. If you want to be close to the south beach action this place might be for you.

Room Tip: no tips for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear KingDin;
I am glad that our staff responded quickly to your call about the noise. We have a zero tolerance policy for noise as we want to ensure a relaxing night to all of our guests. Thank you for staying at the Lord Balfour and think of us on your next trip to sunny South Beach!
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room was well-sized, clean, and nicely decorated as are the common areas with the bar and hotel lobby featuring some cool art pieces. Contrary to some other reviews, we did not find the bathroom to be small. However water pressure for the shower could be better.
Like for probably most of the hotels in South-Beach, noise isolation of the room was not great (we slept with ear-plugs). Our room was facing Ocean Drive with thin windows, and was located on the floor just above the bar.
Breakfast is served at the bar and offers a choice of different pastries, fruits and orange juice. Great courtyard on the backside of the hotel to take breakfast.
Finally, they provide you with towels and lounge chairs (free of charge, 2 per room) on the beach in easy walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear "Nicolas M"
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your positive comments regarding your stay. I know the choices in Miami beach are many, and we are honored that you chose the Lord Balfour for your stay.
Please come back to see us in the near future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.