We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Lord Balfour!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Lord Balfour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Room Mate Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holy Lord Balfour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel is located on the main strip on ocean drive, walking distance to the beach and to the noise of south beach but far away enough to get away from. Lord Balfour is beautiful and tastefully decorated from the lobby to the hallways. The rooms are small but they make great use of the space. very comfortable beds with fresh smelling linens. the bathrooms are super tiny but once again super clean with modern and new fixtures. breakfast was simple and boring but atleast you have juice to get your morning going. Valet is expensive, so we parked 1 block away at 4th for $20 a day. We had a hot water problem with our room and we were given a different room immediately. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms, as well as customer service. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the hot water issue during your stay and that we were able to find you another room. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us your comments. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Truly yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    207
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
111
373
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel purely based on trip advisor comments as we have never visited Miami before. All the brilliant comments are true. The hotel is modern stylish and a perfect base to explore Miami.

The complimentary breakfast (which we weren't expecting) was really lovely for a light bite before heading out.

The room, although on the small side, was pristine and had everything we needed.

It's easy to walk to anything you might want from here, shops bars restaurants etc.

This hotel will be a great success. They have employed a wonderful team who are hard working friendly and make the hotel what it is. We would especially like to mention Cree Stubbs as she really added something special for us on our trip. She was helpful, insightful and a real delight to talk to.

There are many hotels to stay at in the area but if you want to feel like a valued customer in a quality hotel at a reasonable price then this hotel is a must.

Can't wait to return to The Lord Balfour when they have added the pool and restaurant and to catch up with Cree again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on how much you appreciate all the hard work our team provides to ensure your overall satisfaction. Our mission at the Lord Balfour Hotel is to ensure that every guest is comfortable, pleased and ready to return for another memorable experience. It was certainly our pleasure to serve you,and we look forward to host you again soon!.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Sincerely yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located right off of Nikki Beach, south of 5th ave on South Beach. Great location to everything on Ocean Dr and Colins, as well as Washington, without the noise and ruckus of SoBe. Richard was our everything we need, do it all guy from day one when we pulled up till when we rolled out. He was phenomenal. The lobby is decorated beautifully with famous quotes by Winston Churchill, Lord Balfour and others, as well as other neat and sleek decor. The bar in the lobby serves awesome cocktails that are made from fresh ingredients. Preston was the man with the magic hand dishing em out. He was pretty cool bartender and helpful. Our room was small but very cosy. The main thing I liked about this hotel was the continental breakfast that was freshly prepared every morning, which I took advantage of every morning. It wasn't a extravagant load of options but it was just the right amount of food that can hold you for breakfast. Fruits, sweets, juices, yogurts, breads and pastries. Valet parking is the best option around the area. Very hard to find parking anywhere else, especially over night. This was a great hotel for a great experience, with a great price tag. I recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
What a delight to read your comments you shared with all the TripAdvisor travelers. Your positive experience and accolades will be duly shared with the teams who take pride to exceed your expectations. I am certain that Richard and Preston will be very happy to read the mentioning of their names. Glad you enjoyed the breakfat while here and we do hope to be of service to you in the near future if Miami Beach is the choice for vacationing.

Best wishes,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is first time I have ever written a review and that is solely best this was the most lovely staff I have ever experienced.

The location was walking distance of all the activities in which I wanted to experience on South Beach. The room was on the smaller side but was clean and had nice art to fill the space. The thing that will bring me back is the lovely staff, Richard in particular was the sweetest, most sincerely caring person I had the pleasure of meeting. It was a wonderful way to bring in my birthday with my girlfriends!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Happy belated Birthday! I am so happy to hear you and your friends had a great time here at the Lord Balfour Hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments on Richard our bellman. Richard takes much pride in making sure all guest he encounters are well taking care of. We are looking forward to your return in the future if Miami Beach is your next destination.

Truly yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was in Lord Balfour hotel 10 days,with my son...I was looking is there any things I can complain..but nothings was...All was great...clean ,nice..Especially director Mrs. Cree.and
consierg Mr.Dilip ,,are Wonderfull helpful person,,I will go there in January again...
Looking forwert to be there....
Begum Augsburger

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review on TripAdvisor in particularly for praising Cree our Front Office Manager and Dilip our Chef Concierge. We are very happy to have such great staff members in our team. Thank you for complimenting the Lord Balfour hotel, and we are looking forward to seeing you in January.

Cordially yours,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at his wonderful hotel over the Labor Day weekend. We discovered this boutique hotel on Jetsetter. We were looking for a quick getaway. As beach lovers, we decided on South Beach, This trip was well worth it. This hotel is beautiful. From the lobby, which features quotes from former conservative British Prime Minister Lord Balflour, to the rooms that features modern decor in every room (you will chuckle at the soup holder that literally hands you the soap). The staff is what really makes this property pop. Cree is the best hotel manager around. Dilap is a fantastic concierge, LISTEN TO HIM. He knows all the local spots to hit for dinner and fun and will steer you away from the tourist traps. Preston, the bartender, makes the best British inspired drinks unique to the hotel. During happy hour, try the Tower of London. You will not be disappointed. The hotel is building its pool, so it will provide you free passes to Nikki Beach, which is a great deal. All in all, if you want to stay in South Beach, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We can't say enough about how truly we appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Lord Balfour Hotel where you spend your time enjoying yourselfs. We appreciate your acknowledging of our staff who made a positive impression on you and your wife. We are truly lucky to have caring staff who are ready to deliver memorable vacation experiences to all of our guest. Thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved our week's stay at the Lord Balfour and look forward to returning. The staff was fantastic. Everything…design, room amenities, bar, breakfast. Best of all, the location was fantastic. I am happy to give the Lord Balfour five stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for your compliments of the Lord Balfour Hotel and most of all giving us the highest ranking.

Thank you kindly,
Ralph Reveron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
City Center
Vintro Hotel South Beach
Vintro Hotel South Beach
#6 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#8 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and evrything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.