We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
grand cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Miami Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and had the most romantic and relaxing time. The service was first class and the rooms well appointed.

We will return in Nov and there is no question that we will stay at Lord Balfour again.

The picture of the beautiful girl on the wall was funny for us as she looks just like a friend of ours so we would walk into the room and say "Hi Alina".. ha ha

Hope to see you soon!

Yvonne

Hi Cree!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It was wonderful to have you here with us. We look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    180
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
95
314
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wonderful, newly renovated hotel! I stayed here from 8/26-8/30 for a birthday and end of summer vacation. I found this hotel via a Groupon and read great reviews on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to say that they didn't disappoint. Lovely decor! Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Great to have the complimentary continental breakfast every morning! The property was well kept and the lobby always smelled lovely!

Only a few very minor complaints:
-It was very easy to hear people talking in the hallways
-The water temperature tended to be slightly cooler at times.

These two minor issues didn't ruin my trip nor will it keep me from returning!

Look forward to staying at Lord Balfour again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
It was great to have you here with us! Thank you for your kind words and observations. We are always striving to provide ever more excellent service. I look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The location is excellent - close to Nikki beach and the South Beach promenade but far enough away to avoid the crowds and the noise. Ideal for the short break that we took and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for kind words regarding our staff and hotel! It was great having you here with us. I look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Awesome art deco from lobby to room. The staff in the lobby were freakishly nice. Some of the staff wore fake smiles and personalities but it didn't bother me. Overall everyone was super friendly. Richard the bellman was awesome. Don't know if they need a bell service for every guest considering there are only 4 floors with an elevator lol. People gotta make tip somehow yeah? Room was fantastic. Fitness room sucks. Only 4 cardio machines but who works out in south beach right? Lol. Bottom line: BEST BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations. We are always seeking ways to provide excellent service to our guests. I hope to have you here with again soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you are in Miami South Beach do yourself a favor and visit Lord Balfour for a cocktail or two. The quality of their drinks and service are outstanding!
We have tried a few cocktails mixed by Preston who really made us feel welcome (although we did not stay at Lord Balfour) and in a way made me regret not booking our stay at this hotel - we went for nearby Marriott instead.
The person who designed/created the cocktail list definitely knew what they were doing. Notice quality of ingredients being used (starting from the sugar syrup, ice cubes, organic juices and sodas etc), great bar staff skills, tools and presentation as well as flawless customer service skills.
Whoever is in charge of HR - great job on staff selection, keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind word about your experience in the Lord Balfour Bar! It is a wonderful cocktail program prepared by a knowledgeable staff. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow, just got back from a long weekend 2 weeks ago and stayed at Lord Balfour, I Read all the reviews of this new hotel before booking and decided to give a try.
This is so nice to see customer service still exist in North America, Cree the Manager was really helpful and all the staff during my 4 days stay.
My favorite and most amazing staff member was Amaury..... just WOW, Great Job!!! Lord Balfour is lucky to have such amazing guy working there.
I suggested this hotel to 2 friends and they already booked it for the liberty weekend and I am thinking to go back at this hotel really soon....
Again Great Job, Design/Space/Location/Bed/and all the ETRO Bath Product!
See you soon LB.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It was wonderful to have you visit with us! Thank you for your kind words and observations. I am looking forward to having you here with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stay there for two night last week, the hotel located a street away from the beach and a street away from the loud crowd of ocence drive. It is very quiet at night. The hotel room is very stylish and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind words. We appreciated you choosing to visit with us. I look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.