We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Miami Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Balfour

Save Saved
You added Lord Balfour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lord Balfour
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Lord Balfour for two nights on 14th and 15th July 2013. The Hotel had opened only two weeks before my stay and it is in splendid conditions.

The staff is really excited to be part of this new hotel in such a prime location in Florida and is extremely attentive and professional. Everything from check-in to check-out was perfect and extremely well taken care of.

A special thanks to Dilip Pathek (head of concierge), who took care of myself and my daughter in an exceptional way and who has the experience to understand your needs before you have to express them.

The room (320), was excellent, in perfect conditions and with great facilities. A few inches more between the bed and the desk would have been enjoyed but I am sure many other rooms are slightly more spacious. Not a big thing.

Complimentary continental breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere in reception in the morning was very relaxing.

The location of the Hotel is excellent, as it is a very short walk from the heart of Ocean Drive but distant enough to be quiet in the evenings. Walk to the beach is only minutes and the beach is really, really nice. The Hotel has an agreement with a beach club establishment, which appears very nice but does not accept Hotel guests on Sundays - disappointing but am sure the Hotel will fix that.

Overall a splendid two days, in a super hotel that hits the right spot between luxury and informality, with excellent staff that will take care of you. My next stay in Miami will definitely be again at the Lord Balfour!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind observations about our hotel and staff! It was wonderful to have you visiting with us.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    111
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
58
190
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a short trip to Miami after a week in Key West. Lucked up & found this awesome new hotel right on Ocean Drive across the street from the beach. The place is decorated beautifully & it is spotless. Its trendy & chic w/ a bit of eclectic humor. The beds are super comfy, the shower was fantastic w/ a rainfall shower head & a handheld part as well. The toiletries were great smelling & in generous tubes. There are nice robes & slippers provided. The room has a really comfortable lounge chair in the room as are the common areas especially the porch. I sat on the porch w/ cooling fans outside & watched as people walked by. This is the quieter end of Ocean Dr but a short 5-10 min walk to all the loud crowds. I love that I could walk a few blocks to join the action but run back to the calm oasis of this hotel. They also provide a fresh continental breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. Very high quality coffee, yogurt, fruit & croissant; yummy. The best part however is the staff. Every single person from the front desk, bartender, manager & housekeeper smiled & spoke to me at every point during my stay. There are many chic & trendy hotels in South Beach but these folks are something special & they genuinely appeared interested in me. I had a great talk w/ Cree who is the front desk manger who told me of all the new plans for the 2nd phase of the hotels' growth plans next door (2nd building w/ pool & full service restaurant coming soon) I can't wait to come back to see what it looks like! In the meantime, this will be my only hotel when I come to Miami.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel and staff! It was great having you here visiting with us and we look forward to providing another great experience on your next visit.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at Lord Balfour in Miami on July 6,2013 rooms were very clean and comfortable was in walking distance of the beach and restaurant nice and cozy would visit again for sure. If in Miami please visit Lord Balfour you will enjoy it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and observations! I am happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to the pleasure of providing service for you in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay! Within walking distance to the beach,bars,food,and night life! We were so happy with the service and the rooms ! We love the tattooed girl on the walls of each room. The staff was very accommodating,polite and very quick.The shower was very nice! The hotel was very clean and smelled great when u walked in. We can't wait to come back ASAP !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! I am happy to enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to providing great service on your next visit as well.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was going to a concert in Miami and stayed the weekend at this new hotel. The decor and art work in rooms are very trendy and the beds are big and comfy. The staff went above and beyond to assist my friends and I to have a great trip and even extended our stay with no issues for a second night. All needs were met in a quick fashion and they even let us borrow pool towels to use to lay on the beach which was great since the beach is right across the street. Local bars and restaurants are within walking distance or quick taxi trip down the road. This is a new and up and coming spot to check out if you plan to stay in Miami beach. It is a smaller hotel, so easier to get more attentive services. I would recommend this hotel to visitors and locals in South Florida.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar style and noise level from outside is low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and observations about our new hotel and staff! It's wonderful you enjoyed your visit with us.


Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights here and I can say the customer service was excellent. Everything is new so it was really clean. The minibar was not stocked due to the hotel one being open for one day. It's about 4 block down from the main action on Ocean drive but it was about a 3 min walk to the beach. The only bad thing I could say was that our cable went out the last night we were there but we were offered another room once we talk to the staff. The double bed rooms and bathrooms were small but its a south beach hotel. I would stay here again when I go back to South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide you kind words and observations about our new hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with the cable and appreciate your other comments. It is our goal to provide a great experience every visit. Rest assured these items have been addressed and we look forward to providing great service to you in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a quick trip from Miami Beach and had a great stay at this new hotel. The service was great, very friendly and the drinks at the bar are creative and fantastic. It just opened, yet these people were all on their game. South of 5th, so a quieter, only a couple blocks from the action. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey350, General Manager at Lord Balfour, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. I am very happy to enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to providing great service to you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Balfour 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened June 2013: The Lord Balfour made its debut after a multi-million dollar renovation. The Lord Balfour molds well into the rich diversity of Art Deco styles as its exterior is marked with forms of the industrial era. Originally opened in 1940, the Lord Balfour hotel opened its doors as the influx of tourists streamed to Miami Beach, with an enthusiasm for the warm and sunny climate – continuing to do so today. The hotel sits in close proximity to the city’s ever growing arts and culture scene. Enter the hotel’s public space comprising lobby and bar, and you’ll discover a chic vintage setting combined with animated and witty design details. A prominent display of mirrors, on a backdrop of soft textures is a playful homage to Lord Balfour, a man who was considered thoroughly vain. Guest rooms feature natural and sustainable bamboo hardwood floors and all of the modern comforts required of traveler’s today. Oversized windows overlook the interior palmed courtyard, Ocean Drive, or offer city views of the SoFi neighborhood. Furnished with custom designed writing desks and chairs, and leather lounge seating, additional amenities include ETRO bathroom products in a scent that will satisfy both men and women. Comforts include luxurious bed linens along with plush robes, towels and slippers. Fully modernized for today’s guests, rooms feature docking stations, 40” televisions and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Balfour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.