We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but very noisy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Whitelaw Hotel to your Saves list
Whitelaw Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent, but very noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here with my best friend. We're both 21. We were meeting friends in South Beach and wanted a place to sleep for one night. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. Close to the ocean, shopping, and bars/restaurants.

The hotel lobby is cute, as pictured. The room was clean. The beds were fine. The bathroom door didn't lock (broken), but that wasn't a huge deal to us. The rooms were very very noisy, even at 6pm (loud music in lobby). Our room was at the end of the hall, first floor.

We went out and came back at 3am. Even drunk, I wasn't able to sleep through the night. Other guests were screaming and talking right until 10am, when we had to wake up to check out. It's an old building so the walls are very thin, and given its reputation as a "party-friendly" hotel, it attracts loud party-goers. Basically, don't stay here more than one night unless you're a very deep sleeper. I would stay here again as a place to drunkenly crash for the night, but never as a place to relax and explore South Beach. However, the price was great and you get what you pay for! I didn't have super high expectations like a lot of the people on here, so I wasn't disappointed. Just sleepy. Good luck!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello there H E,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad to read that you were content with the cleanliness of our hotel. We are indeed a party hotel and our website clearly states that. If you were looking for a more quiet and secluded stay, perhaps one of the other hotels in our group were more suited for you.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    189
    128
    88
    155
See reviews for
74
190
64
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night! It was awful! First off, we had to drive to the valet to have our car parked (literally took an hour even though it was one block away), get to the room and there was an overbearing smell of bleach. Given the week we went was spring break (nothing against partying) there were people yelling in the halls almost every hour until 5am! When we went to leave to catch our flight(at 6am) there was an abundant smell of weed coming from the lobby and the only one in there at the time was the front desk man. The hotel definitely ruined Our Miami experience. Never going back!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Good Afternoon Mriz22,

We value all of our guests feedback, and we are terribly sorry that you did not have a 5 star time with us! Unfortunately the City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve the roadways. They have set strict regulations with the valet parking, and have made all valet stations move elsewhere for the time being. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our General Manager so that she is aware of this. We apologize that your stay with us was less then enjoyable!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I had a very good time every one was so nice, the rooms super nice and the location is amazing , also at the restaurant the service was great the waiter Lourdes was so nice, that's my spot in miami, see you next time!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Good Afternoon LisaMarieSwitzer,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours! The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways and this project should be done soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! Our complimentary cocktail hour is the perfect way to start the night off! Doreene is great and all of our guests love her! She whips up some delicious cocktails! We are in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad that your stay with us was great! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Arrived with.construction.out front but was kindly directed to a.free parking garge a street up. The room was exactly.what.was expected from discripton. Happy hour was awesome, the bartender Doreene was awesome, very friendly, attentive and knew our group. She took great care of us all.night. the.service desk.help Andrew helped us with a room accomidating to our situation. The location Is one block from.south.beach strip with a vey mellow and comfortable porch to.hang on.and.and.have some drinks and enjoy the.south beach weather. Overall a good expierence we would.definitely do.again. thank you Whitelaw for a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Afternoon LisaMarieSwitzer,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours! The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways and this project should be done soon. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! Our complimentary cocktail hour is the perfect way to start the night off! Doreene is great and all of our guests love her! She whips up some delicious cocktails! We are in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. We are glad that your stay with us was great! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Only positive for this hotel is location. Happy Hour starts at 7PM and people do not leave the bar area until 5AM. If you get a room on the first floor all you hear are doors slamming and loud racket from the bar! We asked if we could check out early do to noise levels but were advised we would not receive a refund. I am a manger for several hotels and most reputable hotels are normally willing to work with their guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good Afternoon jescat55,

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay. The location of our property is indeed in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the hot spots. We offer a lovely complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM nightly. It's a perfect way to start the night off. We have a cancellation policy just like any other hotel. If you chose to cancel out of our cancellation policy you will be penalized. We could have moved you to a room towards the back of the hotel on a higher floor away from the noise. If not, then to one of our sister hotels. We apologize that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was here in early February 2014 and had a great time with my friend. We were just heading to Miami for the weekend and wanted to be in a good location down in South Beach. While it was unfortunate that there was major construction going on in front of the hotel (it was going on in front of most of the hotels on the block), I was happy with the location (being just one block away from the beach).

My only complaints would be the skeevy hookah guy who tried showing my friend naked pictures of himself on his iphone and giving us his personal card for his "massage" business...

The atmosphere was nice, enjoyed the free drinks at their happy hour although the cups could have been a little bigger.

I would probably go back here as it was such a cute girly place and was in such a great location in South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Good Afternoon Cathleen O,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are delighted to read that your stay with us was a great one! We are definitely in a prime location here on South Beach. We are just a convenient walk away from all the hot spots here. The City of Miami Beach is preforming construction on Collins Ave. They are working to improve our roadways and this project should be done shortly. I wish that you could have provided us with the name of the guy that was showing these pictures on his iPhone. This is COMPLETELY unacceptable and I will make sure that our General Manager is aware of this. We apologize greatly for his behavior and will assure you that this will never happen again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

great honeymoon with my wife.

happy hour was excellent and all the excursions and tours Nicolas booked were amazing.
also a shout-out to jorge luis. excellent bellman. very attentive and full of information

Room Tip: back rooms are the quietest. construction was trouble for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello there Marcos p,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us! We are delighted to read that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us! I see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm nightly. It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. Jorge is absolutely amazing and all of our guests seem to think so as well. I will make sure that he is aware of your kind praise! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitelaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitelaw Hotel

Address: 808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitelaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelBookers so you can book your Whitelaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitelaw Hotel Miami Beach
Whitelaw Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitelaw Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.