We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful 2nd stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Whitelaw Hotel to your Saves list
Whitelaw Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful 2nd stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here last year and we were very happy so we booked a longer stay this year.

We requested a room away from the lobby as we know this can be noisy. We arrived a little after 8pm on Saturday night, we got room 101, right next to the lobby.

The walls were pulsing with the music, this went on to 5 am. We tried calling the lobby with no answer. We were moved the next day.

As time went on there were lots of little problems. This included the person who inspects the mini bar stating we had eaten and drunk items which we had not touched. Our door did not fully close without pushing hard, it was even slightly open a few days after housekeeping was in. Telephone did not work, sinks blocked with hair.

Everytime we reported any problems to reception we were advised that they need to speak with the supervisor and get back to us. We are still waiting. Or a popular response was 'they do not work for us so we will have to look into it'.

We did not get any reponse from managers or supervisors.

I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated!! I am very glad that you chose to come back to stay with us a 2nd time! Very sorry to read that it wasn't as enjoyable as the first time. Do you remember who you spoke with at the reception? I would like to look into this issue furthur to see why nothing was done about the door or your phone.

I am looking forward in hearing back from you.

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    188
    128
    88
    155
See reviews for
74
189
64
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It`s not so expensive as ocean drive hotels, the rooms where renewed and clean, close to many interesting points in a walking distance... We didn't feel the noise of the loby parties, 'cos our room was the last one on the hallway. The staff was kind. The elevator is old and slow, but that was not a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms in the end of the hallway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Good Day Vivi and Jeff,

Thank you for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests tor read! The Whitelaw offers great prices with many great amenities that come along. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's walking distance to shopping, ocean drive, the beach, food and the location is just great.

The hotel itself... looks a little rundown and the elevator scares me. The room has no outlets- well maybe 3 and two that are occupied by the fridge and tv-- so basically, no outlets. There's one in the closet and that's just inconvenient. The beds were comfortable enough-- the sheets were stiff. The service was good because I'm super low maintenance anyways and I don't expect or need much. There's no pool here but there is a sun deck. Stayed here because it was cheap and I didn't spend any time in the room anyways.

No trouble with checking in or checking out. The staff was super nice, bartenders are fun and it's a functional party hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Good Afternoon Esther,

Your honest feedback on Trip Advisor is appreciated! I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to fit your standards. Very glad to read that the service was good as well as the check in and check out process. Were you able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8?
Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback!

Have a wonderful day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed @ Whitelaw from 10/26 to 10/31 and had a Wonderful stay..From Jose checking me in @ 2am and Sterling answering All of my questions to the bartender whose name escapes me it was all good..The water was hot, the nightly partying was turned down promptly at midnight and there were No Bugs in my room.

This was one of the nicest hotels that I've stayed in around in the area..The only thing missing is a pool but the beach is one block over...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your kind feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very glad to read that you had a wonderful stay with us! I will let Jose and Sterling know of your wonderful praise! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Have a wonderful day!

Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for a short trip in Miami. The room was very clean and the shower was hot! There is a nice little lounge downstairs if you want to pre-party or after-party. The only problem we had was the noisy people above us who sounded like they were playing a game of intense soccer at 8am the next morning. Otherwise, this hotel is inexpensive and a close to everything happening on South Beach. Warning... parking here is crappy but so is everywhere else in Miami.

Room Tip: Based on my experience with loud stomping, I would advise to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
tristabrophy,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your short trip to Miami with your friends. We hope you were able to enjoy our great amenities, such as daily happy hour for all of our guests. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced from the guest above you. I wish you would have told our staff about the noise so that we could have assisted with the matter. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Thank you,

Steven Morales,
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

this was my 4th time staying here and i will never again.. went for my bday weekend Oct.12-15 and card was charge for stay prior to arrival... At check in found out that i was charged twice for the Whitelaw and twice for the Chesterfield which is a assistant hotel... Check-in rep Andre was the worst no sympathy at all. I had to contact my bank as well as the hotel Manager Carolina was contacted to get charges straight. Everything again was paid in full, check my account the day after check out and saw that my card was charged again for another complete stay and for parking 3 days and i didnt have a car. My account is now overdrawn and ive been contacting the hotel and no returned call since... i will never advise this hotel or stay again.. Ill stick to my 4-5 star hotels as normal for my Southbeach vacations....Nice decorated hotel but room had mold my allegeries were on over flow... Comfy bed but service sucks!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Lakisha M,

I have reviewed your account in reference to the charges during your stay. The charges for the Chesterfield were refunded to your account once the error was noticed. As for the valet parking the manager did refund the 96 dollars to your account for the valet parking. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope you reconsider your next visit to Miami and stay with us as this was an isolated issue. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Steven Morales,
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel only complaint is the water temperature. It doesn't get hot but from what I heard alot of other hotels have this problem. The music is loud but only during happy hour which wasn't a problem at all. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My room was very clean. There were no bugs and plenty of fresh towels (room 201-one king bed). I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to take a cold shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Sbg_Vibe_Mgr, Manager at Whitelaw Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Shay C.,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. I have forwarded your issue to management to see why you had this issue. We will make sure the issue is resolved as soon as possible. We are happy to hear that you will be staying with us again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitelaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitelaw Hotel

Address: 808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitelaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelBookers so you can book your Whitelaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitelaw Hotel Miami Beach
Whitelaw Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitelaw Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.