We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel And Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Miami Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average Hotel And Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in the Miami Beach Resort & Spa for one night as we were due to cruise out of Fort Lauderdale the following day. First impressions of the hotel are pretty impressive as the lobby is quite striking with its huge chandeliers but in contrast the rooms are average and in need of an update, having said that they were more than adequate for our needs.

Check in was easy. The reception was very busy when we arrived but there were plenty of staff available and we were in our rooms within 10 minutes of arrival. Check out was equally efficient, we were told check out was 11am but as our transfer wasn’t due until noon we were allowed an extra hour which was a nice gesture by the hotel.

The 3 rooms we had were on the 7th floor and they were quite large and very clean, the only downside was they did look tired and were in need of a spruce up. Our room had a crack in the window which ran the full length of the window and it had been repaired by someone putting a bit of tape over it, as I said, the hotel needs refurbishing. Another thing to note is the noise from the hallways, the sound of people coming and going resounds around the rooms like an echo chamber, the doors offer little protection so if you’re a light sleeper then ear plugs might be a good idea.

We did try to dine in the restaurant in the evening but we were informed that they couldn’t accommodate a party of six which was quite bizarre. We did manage to have breakfast the next morning which was ok but very expensive, it worked out at $144 for the six of us, which was really over priced for what you received, however the quality and selection was good.

There are a couple of things to be aware of when booking this hotel, mainly the hidden charges. There is a resort fee of $16.95 per room per day, we were only in the hotel for 15 hours, most of that sleeping after a day of traveling and we didn’t use any of the facilities but the hotel insisted on charging us the fee. A sun lounger and umbrella will cost you $25 a day and if you arrive by car then expect to pay $30 a day to park, by the end of your stay and you could easily have paid as much in ‘extras’ as you initially paid for your room. The other disappointing thing was the lack of communication from the hotel. I emailed Eduardo Moya the hotel manager prior to arrival with several enquiries and a request for room allocation but it was ignored so don’t expect any kind of response if you have to contact them
.
This hotel was pre booked by our agent but if we had been booking direct then we definitely wouldn’t book this hotel, there are many more in the area which offer better all round standards and represent better value for money, one night was more than enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Azertyuiop_9,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experiences with us, your review is very detailed and constructive, thank you! We know we have room to improve but our intention is to get better every time. I have spent a great deal of time searching for any guest e-mails that I did not respond, however I was unable to find it. Perhaps the message went to the spam folder or it is possible that the e-mail was incorrect? My e-mail is Eduardo.Moya@MBeachResort.com and my direct line is (305) 604-3713 so please feel free to contact me at any time if there is anything I can do to regain your confidence.

I would like to take a few moments to also share with you that our Resort has contracted the services of a well known architect to work on the renovation/modernization of our building. Due to the historical significance of our Resort, we are waiting for the city of Miami Beach’s preservation committee to approve our renovation plans before we commence construction.

On behalf of my team please accept our most sincere apologies for our shortcomings and we look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectations during any upcoming visits to Miami Beach.

Sincerely,


Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    676
    399
    220
    207
See reviews for
586
527
75
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Miami Beach resort for one night prior to our cruise. On arrival at the hotel we found there were no ramps into the building and had to carry heavy cases up two flights of steps. there were massive queues to check in. Apparently all the computers were down, nobodys fault but very tiring after a long flight. When we eventually got in our room it was comfortable if a little dated. also there was no safe in the room. which meant carrying some of our travel luggage with us to the restaurant.
Before we left England my husband rang the hotel to ask if, on return of our cruise, we could spend the day at the hotel as we would arrive in port early morning and our flight was late evening. The reservations staff member told us this would be fine. He said we were welcome to leave our luggage and use the facilities around the hotel. we offered to pay a day rate but he said it was no problem. We checked again with the receptionist before we left the next day and were assured that we were very welcome. We altered our transfer so we could go to the hotel instead of the airport. we thought this was wonderful as we had done this at a hotel in San Diego.
when we came back from the cruise it was such a different story. The supervisor on reception said we could not stay at the hotel as they did not do that sort of thing. When we said we had been told by Reservations that it was okay she said it wasn't and we should move to the side and let her deal with other people in the queue, she would contact the manager. My Husband was very polite but stood his ground and would not move from the queue.(he had spent a long time in it )he had already been waiting 3/4 hour. After a while a member of staff came out of the office at the back and my husband recognised her as being the one who said we could stay for the day. A lot of whispered discussion went on and then the supervisor came back and said "leave your luggage and find somewhere to sit, but don't use the sunbeds they are all taken".
There were plenty of sunbeds and the pool attendent was very nice. He at least made us welcome. We didn't stay long as I felt very uncomfortable ( the supervisor from the reception wondered around outside by the pool a couple of times, and as they say 'if looks could kill'. )
Would we go there again. Absolutely Not!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Suenlan,

I am very disappointed to learn about the incident with our Front desk supervisor, it is unacceptable for any member of our staff to be rude to any one of our guests. I can assure you the Front Office Manager is investigating and will address this type of behavior with the responsible individuals.

I would also like to clarify the Resort's policy regarding your incident. As a Resort guest you may use and enjoy any of the facilities at any time, even during the day of departure until the time that you wish. However, coming back three days after your departure and wanting to use the facilities is not something our Management team encourages our former guests. Our Supervisor on Duty on that particular day would have made an exception for you, however due to the high amount of guests staying with us we were unable to accommodate your request. I have already taken steps to remind our reservations, front desk and pool staff of our policy to insure we avoid situations like this in the future.

I would like to sincerely apologize to you once again for the incident you shared with us and please do not hesitate to contact me at any time if there is anything else I can do to regain your confidence. My e-mail is Eduardo.Moya@MBeachResort.com.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after spending time on a cruise where we were treated so well.
Upon our arrival, there was no one to take our luggage up the stairs (there is NO ramp).
Eventually a bell boy showed up.
We waited in line for about 1/2 hour to check in, only to be told our room would not be ready until 4:00pm!
What is one supposed to do from 12noon until 4:00pm? especially after coming off a cruise.
Walk the beach with passports?
When we finally were settled in our room, we found the room old and dated.
The room was cold due to the high A/C, and there were NO blankets other than a cotton weave on the bed.
These so called "five star" hotels ride on their reputations but do not deliver.
Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a "good room". The hotel needs to be renovated. The TV was not even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our Resort and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. It is our intention to make every stay memorable so we are very disappointed we did not meet your expectations.

Although our official check in time is 4:00 P.M, we do welcome any early arrival guests and they are placed in a priority list to have the room prepared as soon as possible. We do recommend to our guests, while the wait for their room, to enjoy our pool and beach facilities, we do have luggage storage available and our pool area is equipped with locker rooms. Our beach provider offers water sports and our Seabreeze restaurant has a great lunch menu, just to share a few options for things to do while you wait for our friendly and hard working housekeepers to prepare your room. It is my understanding that our staff had your room prepared well before the 4:00 P.M posted check in time.

On behalf of our staff of hospitality professionals, please accept my apologies for your poor experience. If there is anything I can do to regain your confidence, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail at Eduardo.Moya@MBeachResort.com.

Sincerely,


Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed on the 10th floor, beautiful oceanside room is worth the extra cost. Everything was great besides the following complaints:
Chair lounge and beach umbrellas are way too expensive ($25 per day). Parking at the hotel is also ridiculous priced at around $30 per day. We parked at a public lot about 20 minutes away for $10. If you don't have a car, be aware that there is almost no restaurants within walking distance that are reasonably priced. The hotel breakfast is mediocre for the price, and most restaurants we went to in Miami include an 18% service charge on the tab. The hotel room service was very slow: it took 30 minutes to receive two sets of silverware (our food had already gotten cold), and even when it arrived, we only received two spoons. The second time we requested room service, they were closed... (Around 3pm) and we were told to come down and get it ourselves. There is a minibar fridge. However, you cannot store any of your items in it, otherwise they will charge you a $25 fee. Finally, the pool is fairly small and heated (not pleasant in 80 F). However, that didn't matter for us because we spent our time at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Haniwa09

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we are honored that you rated our services as high as you did; it is expected that every employee goes out of their way to anticipate our guest’s needs.

I would like to take a moment to clarify some of the fees that you mention in your review. The beach in front of our Resort is public and as a result, there is a beach provider that charges a fee for chairs and umbrellas, however, these services in our pool area are already included with the cost of your room. Parking on the beach is also extremely limited and therefore all hotels in the area charge for valet parking. We are proud to have the friendliest valet parking on the beach with one of the lowest fees per night. The Miami Beach Resort does not recommend using the public parking lot which is 2 blocks away from the Resort due to the fact there is no in and out privileges (you must pay every time you park), your car is outdoors exposed to the weather and it's very difficult to find a spot.

Lastly I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had with our room service staff. Our Director of Food & Beverage is looking into your comments and making immediate improvements to insure no other guest has the same experience.

Thank you once again for allowing us the privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring to to Miami Beach!

Sincerely,


Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Good valet service (parking was $30 a day), reception was OK. Nice foyer but the room and the whole environment, decor is a bit old fashioned and is about from the early 80s.

Spacious room on the 16th floor with great view, overall clean but old fashioned furnitures and lights. Was missing a safe in the room.

Felt a bit expensive for the overall experience I had.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is a dated hotel in a quiet side ( north) of Miami Beach. It is a tired hotel with great staff. The gym has ancient equipment. The toilet wasn't working in the unmanned gym. I was there for one night and it was very windy so I couldn't go the beach. The Tv is old and the shower was wanting. Didn't eat any meal there. Wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo M, Manager at Miami Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jokels,

We are disappointed to learn about your experience and downhearted to realize that our staff did not earn your recommendation. I would like to share with you, however some great news! The Miami Beach Resort retained the services of a well known architect and he is currently working with the historic preservation committee from the city to allow our historic building to modernize. As soon as the permits are issued, we will commence the modernization and renovation of the Resort.

Thank you for allowing us the privilege to serve you and we look forward to regaining your confidence once renovations are fully completed.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Moya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice room. Stayed at 14th floor with a fantastic view.Concierge Eduardo was great. Restaurant was too expensive. Service at pool was great. Thanks Jimmy. Sunbed at beach TOO expensive. Should be free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 4833 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Beach Resort and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern high rise oceanfront resort on a private beach, 12 miles from airport. Minutes from South Beach, on trendy Collins Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Miami Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.