We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundays Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Cafe

Las Olas Cafe
644 6th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139-8602 (Flamingo / Lummus)
+1 305-534-9333
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 875 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sundays Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Las olas is the best place where you can find back your energies after a rough saturday night in miami beach... usually I get to have a couple of empanadas + colada. After that you are so ready to start another day at the beach! And you don't need to wait too much...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“THE REAL DEAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

tiny spot, no room or time for fancy. This is where the locals go for their cuban coffee, empanadas, sandwiches, etc.
We had the chicken empanada, best empanada i've ever had (and I am latina) the cafe con leche is not to be missed and you must also try their guarapo (sugar cane juice)
Gem of a place!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just wonderful, honest food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Truly a hidden gem in Miami Beach, off the main drag but close enough. A small place on the corner of 6th st. Excellent chicken, rice and beans, fish, fresh vegetables, mashed potatoes. Cuban home cooking like mom made, and the coffee is excellent, did I mention the best plantains I have ever had. No English is spoken here and there is no menu, but walk in, just point to what you want. The girls behind the counter work very hard and are friendly. You will not be disappointed. More food than you can eat and at a great price. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A small restaurant located at the corner of 6th St & Euclid (1 block past Wash). No Menu offered but food can be ordered from the counter of options behind the glass. With 4 different rices to choose from and a few meats & sides, you will not be disappointed!! We ordered 2 plates to go... 1) White Rice & Black Beans with Grilled Chicken 2) Lechon (Pork) with Rice & Beans and Maduros (Sweet Plantains). Both were full of flavor and absolutely delicious!! Best value around as you are given HUGE servings. 1 plate (about $8) can easily be shared between 2 people. We also ordered a cafe con Leche and Rice Pudding - both excellent! There are a few tables inside & out and a take out window for quick pick-up. I will def be back to this Cuban hot spot in South Beach! Tip: they close at 8p and close early on Sundays (3p)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Cafe con leche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Cuban coffee at it's best! You can also get some great food there. I love the walk up windows and everyone is so friendly. The only draw back is that they don't have very many seats outside which is where we like to sit. They have seating inside, but it is very close.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Las Olas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.