We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albion South Beach to your Saves list
Albion South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a visit at the Albion. We visit every year for the Miami Swim Show (probably 5th or 6th year) and the Albion has continued to offer great service, clean, clean rooms and the people. Jorge, the all around guy at the front door, remembers me and my associates with a great smile and helpful hands. Front desk people are professional and welcome you to their small, but, absolutely convenient to everything hotel. This hotel is a five minute walk to the beach and 20 steps to Lincoln Road. If you're on business at the convention center it's a 10 minute walk. The only negative is the bar has an odor of mildew. I think people would enjoy their time in the small, intimate bar, but, it's not inviting because of an odor of mold. The bartender was so nice and made great cocktails, but, unfortunately the physical environment limits the time you can spend in there. I miss their rosehips shampoos and especially body lotions, etc. I always looked forward to their bath accessories, but, a small negative. Ask for a corner junior suite room. Fabulous view up Collins and overlooks pool. I'll be back again next July or sooner if I travel overnight to Miami.

Room Tip: Ask for corner junior suite. Worth the extra money. Very quiet and good city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    396
    168
    57
    54
See reviews for
143
353
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Perfect located, 5 minutes walk to Miami Beach and one minute to Lincoln Avenue with super shopping and many, many restaurants. The hotel has a nice inner courtyard with a nice pool area. The rooms was quite small but big enough for a 4 person family. As all other hotels in big cities they charge a lot for the car parking.

Room Tip: We lived in room 405 and we were not disturbed by any noise from the area at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel has a real wow factor when you walk in. It was our last two days in Florida and it didn't disappoint. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but we requested a kettle and a fridge and they were delivered to the room within minutes. BLAIR on the front desk was absolutely fantastic and very very accommodating. Free breakfast was great with toast, bagels fruit and meats and eggs done any way you wanted. The lady who served us made us feel like royalty and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were airy and light and the beds were very comfortable. Playing classical music on the radio on arrival in the room was a nice touch. A special mention for JORGE ABADI who always welcomed us into the hotel on our return and delighted us by really talking to us and asking about our day and discussing the football. Blair, Jorge and all the staff were fantastic and I would not stay anywhere else in South Beach. It is also central for everything with the beach and nice restaurants close by. It was also very quiet. Check out was 12 but we were able to leave our cases in a locked room and use all the facilities until we left, including a shower in the heated restrooms. I really wish I could give it more than 5

Room Tip: We had room 503 and the beds were Queen size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just Back from vacation in albion hotel
Minute walking distance of the ocean
Minute walking distance of Washington Avenue - Lincoln Road Mall

I like the attitude I got especially from Billy and George :)

LIRON ZAMIR
ISRAEL

liron1@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I just returned from a business/vacation in Miami. I stayed at the Albion. The location was perfect. A short walk to the convention center, a 2 block walk to the beach, a block and a half to the Lincoln mall shopping street which was ideal for shopping and dining. A very close walk to Ocean Avenue which was lined with plenty of places to eat or drink.
The room was immaculate. The shower spectacular! And most importantly the staff was both friendly and helpful. While everyone was very nice there was one individual who stood out. His name was George (Jorge). When I would arrive at the lobby he was always there with a huge smile and a kind word. He truly seems to love his job and is eager to assist the guests. I definitely would recommend this hotel and George is a big reason for that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Firstly I would say the location is the BEST thing about this hotel. You are so local to restaurants, bars, pharmacies, and anything you need.
There are lots of decent priced places to have breakfast in the morning if you walk towards Lincoln road mall. For lunch there is lots of deals including happy hour, or you could grab a slice of pizza across the road, as well as there being a 24 hour mcdonalds, and subway 5mins away (perfect for a hangover cure).

The receptionist are somewhat friendly, John, and Alex were very helpful, and answered our many questions. The concierge are also lovely, and will help you any way they can.

We had a double room, it was not great in size, but we were not expecting much for what we paid. The beds were comfy, rooms cleaned daily. A fridge is available on request. I think it is lacking a tea/coffee making facility though.
The wifi is free and was a relatively good speed.

Swimming pool area we used once, and was okay, however the beach is a 10min walk so we spent most of our time there. Beware the charge for beds is roughly $20, you may want to buy one from a store if you are going to be there for the majority of your holiday.

If you ask at reception there is a free tip only transport service to get you around the area, also check out duck tours we had lots of fun sight seeing.

In terms of party scence, I would definitely recommend a place called story best night is a thursday. If you like hip hop cameo was relatively good, and we got into VIP for free including drinks. It helps being a female, not to sure for prices for guys.

Overall we had a great time, we were happy with our stay, and would come again on our next visit.

Tania

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at the Albion post cruise. Rooms were not ready when we arrived around midday. That was no problem as the Lincoln Road mall shopping street was just around the corner. Had a pleasant surprise when we returned to check in at 3pm where we learnt that both our parties (travelling with Father in Law) had been upgraded to suites for no extra charge. Suites were very spacious and located on 6th floor overlooking over the pool. Plenty of sunbeds by pool for a relaxing hour or two after shopping and walking.
Special mention to the 2 guys on the door. Very pleasant manner and very very helpful. Both wore orange polo shirts and were always available to call taxis and sort out luggage (Jorge and Maximo I think). On the last day had trouble ordering taxi for 4 for airport. Maximo disappeared for a number of minutes and soon a taxi mini bus pulled up. Apparently he had walked to Collins Ave to hail a taxi off the road.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for price and location alone.

Room Tip: High floor with pool view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion South Beach

Address: 1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albion South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albion Hotel, a hip South Beach Hotel and one of the coolest Miami Beach Hotels located directly on stylish Lincoln Road Mall. The Albion Hotel location is considered the most central to shopping, dining, and nightlife of all South Beach Hotels. The Albion Hotel South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of flashy South Beach Miami, Florida. Miles of beautiful beaches and the Miami Beach Convention Center are just one block from this Miami Beach Hotel gem. Guests at Albion, a 3.5 star South Beach Hotel enjoy convenient access to Florida tourist attractions, many of which are within walking distance to the hotel, including Ocean Drive and the Art Deco District. Miami International Airport is approximately 20 minutes from Albion Hotel South Beach. Transportation from Miami International Airport (MIA) can be arranged through the Albion Hotel Miami Beach for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albion South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Albion South Beach Miami
Albion Hotel Miami
Albion Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.