We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“girly getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albion South Beach

Save Saved
You added Albion South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albion South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“girly getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly I would say the location is the BEST thing about this hotel. You are so local to restaurants, bars, pharmacies, and anything you need.
There are lots of decent priced places to have breakfast in the morning if you walk towards Lincoln road mall. For lunch there is lots of deals including happy hour, or you could grab a slice of pizza across the road, as well as there being a 24 hour mcdonalds, and subway 5mins away (perfect for a hangover cure).

The receptionist are somewhat friendly, John, and Alex were very helpful, and answered our many questions. The concierge are also lovely, and will help you any way they can.

We had a double room, it was not great in size, but we were not expecting much for what we paid. The beds were comfy, rooms cleaned daily. A fridge is available on request. I think it is lacking a tea/coffee making facility though.
The wifi is free and was a relatively good speed.

Swimming pool area we used once, and was okay, however the beach is a 10min walk so we spent most of our time there. Beware the charge for beds is roughly $20, you may want to buy one from a store if you are going to be there for the majority of your holiday.

If you ask at reception there is a free tip only transport service to get you around the area, also check out duck tours we had lots of fun sight seeing.

In terms of party scence, I would definitely recommend a place called story best night is a thursday. If you like hip hop cameo was relatively good, and we got into VIP for free including drinks. It helps being a female, not to sure for prices for guys.

Overall we had a great time, we were happy with our stay, and would come again on our next visit.

Tania

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    398
    167
    60
    53
See reviews for
132
337
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Albion post cruise. Rooms were not ready when we arrived around midday. That was no problem as the Lincoln Road mall shopping street was just around the corner. Had a pleasant surprise when we returned to check in at 3pm where we learnt that both our parties (travelling with Father in Law) had been upgraded to suites for no extra charge. Suites were very spacious and located on 6th floor overlooking over the pool. Plenty of sunbeds by pool for a relaxing hour or two after shopping and walking.
Special mention to the 2 guys on the door. Very pleasant manner and very very helpful. Both wore orange polo shirts and were always available to call taxis and sort out luggage (Jorge and Maximo I think). On the last day had trouble ordering taxi for 4 for airport. Maximo disappeared for a number of minutes and soon a taxi mini bus pulled up. Apparently he had walked to Collins Ave to hail a taxi off the road.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for price and location alone.

Room Tip: High floor with pool view are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotels location excellent bars restaurants shops & Beach all close by .The hotel was very clean staff very helpfull. Our room wasn't the biggest but fine for us.didnt eat in the hotel but the bar had 3hr happy hour.


  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I travelled with my mum on holiday to Miami for the 2nd time. After an excellent stay at the Albion the first time, we came back here. The rooms are nice with big TVs and clean bathrooms. But the people really make the stay so much more pleasant. Maximo is very helpful and accommodating and will do whatever he can to help. A special mention goes out to Jorge, the happiest, and most helpful staff member you can hope for. He is always full of smiles and one of the most hardworking people I have seen at the hotel. Maximo and Jorge play a major role in why my mum and I enjoy our stay here at The Albion so much, and why we will be back here again in the future.
Alexandra and Solvi Styrvold

Room Tip: King size bedrooms or twin queen size bedrooms are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Barthelemy, FWI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were in Miami only 24hours on transit and all we wanted to do was shop and good restaurant, so this place is perfect. Perfect location 2 sec from shopping, the room is really large almost suite, with sofa, coffee table etc so we thought that it is also great with a child. Bathroom with amenities and bathtub, nice comfy bedding, iron, mini bar and fridge. Good place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the micro rooms that everyone mentions.

It's a fact it isn't the largest room in the world but you have a choice, you only have to stay there if you want to.

We stayed in the Albion for four nights and loved it. For my wife and I it was more than enough, clean with a big TV, and a great the location. You stay at a walking distance to most of the must see spots in Miami Beach at an affordable rate.

The staff were always available to help us with everything, that a big plus for us.

In a future visit to Miami Beach the hotel we will be staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent a week here: a room at the back overlooking the pool. Very clean, bright and airy (with original pictures on the wall) and modern decor. We were on the 6th floor with a good view to the west.

It's a great location: one way is the beach (200m), the other way (100m) is Lincoln Mall, a pedestrian road with loads of restaurants and shops. It's between the two main roads that run up/down South Beach, off a side road, so there is not much traffic noise.

We chose this because it's a restored Art Deco building and it does retain this character. It's therefore a bit old, so if you are after something totally immaculate/modern this may not be for you. But we found it good and liked staying in a place with character.

The walls seemed to be quite thin (we clearly heard the neighbours a couple of times), but either the rooms next to us were mostly empty or people were quiet and it wasn't an issue.

The place isn't really geared-up for food (no sign of a restaurant) and we didn't try the buffet-style breakfast (plenty of great other places nearby). The bar area is a bit dark and we only had a drink there one night. They do serve drinks by the pool.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

There is a small exercise room at the other end of the pool and a shaded seating area beside the pool. There were always plenty of fresh towels and sun loungers, and the pool was clean.

The bath in the bathroom was very small, but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albion South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion South Beach

Address: 1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albion South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albion Hotel, a hip South Beach Hotel and one of the coolest Miami Beach Hotels located directly on stylish Lincoln Road Mall. The Albion Hotel location is considered the most central to shopping, dining, and nightlife of all South Beach Hotels. The Albion Hotel South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of flashy South Beach Miami, Florida. Miles of beautiful beaches and the Miami Beach Convention Center are just one block from this Miami Beach Hotel gem. Guests at Albion, a 3.5 star South Beach Hotel enjoy convenient access to Florida tourist attractions, many of which are within walking distance to the hotel, including Ocean Drive and the Art Deco District. Miami International Airport is approximately 20 minutes from Albion Hotel South Beach. Transportation from Miami International Airport (MIA) can be arranged through the Albion Hotel Miami Beach for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Albion South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Albion South Beach Miami
Albion Hotel Miami
Albion Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.