We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albion South Beach to your Saves list
Albion South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited Miami in August and I have been meaning to leave a glowing review ever since. We arrived here from the UK after 10 days in Orlando so we could relax and see another side of Florida. The location of the Albion is superb. It is on the doorstep of South Beach as well as all of the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Ave. the location is fantastic and offers value for money compared with the 4*/5* hotels which surround it. A friend of mine who is from Miami recommended we stay in this area and we are so grateful for the advice as many hotels recommended by Travel Agents are reasonably priced and 'on the beach' but MILES away from the action - be careful! The staff were very friendly and polite so we felt welcome. The pool is a very good size too and there were many sun loungers if you wanted a day away from the action. One thing I noticed about a lot of hotels nearby was the lack of swimming pool so this is a bonus - a central hotel with a pool! The cocktail bar is well worth a visit, too. It has an old-fashioned chemist lab/apothecary feel with some of the best cocktails I've had. the prices are a little high-end but no higher than you'd expect to pay in a decent cocktail bar in a major UK city. We paid about $15 a cocktail which is about £8/£9 (August 2013) and worth it in our opinion. We stayed in a King room and got a very good deal via Booking.com so it's worth keeping an eye on prices at different times of the year and snapping up a deal when you see one - we looked at prices when we returned home and they'd increased quite a lot. There was plenty of room so I cannot complain about this - I gather from other reviews that some rooms are a lot smaller and so we'd book a King room again next time. yes, the walls are quite thin and you can hear quite a lot but to be honest, you don't go to Miami to sit in your room and it wasn't enough to annoy us or stop us visiting again. All in all we had a great time. You'd be hard-pushed to find a hotel of a similar standard in an outstanding location for the same price. we are hoping to visit again in a couple of years.

Room Tip: King room overlooking pool or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    421
    175
    59
    56
See reviews for
148
371
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Large rooms, great value (even on thanksgivig), perfect location on the corner of James Ave and Lincoln Road, great staff especially Jorge, a nice guy who cares about everything: the business center, the vallet, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, they're quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is the second year I stayed at this hotel and the owners and management keep improving it. Location is terrific, my room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was small but clean and functional, the staff was attentive and very friendly and helpful and I was very pleased with my stay. The ratio for cost and quality was very satisfactory as during the week of Basel/Miami all the hotels jack up their prices. This year I stayed on the penthouse floor and these rooms seemed to be larger than rooms on the floors below. Breakfast was a simple buffet with custom-made eggs with sausage and bacon but it was generous and was included in the price of the room. I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Penthouse level and away from street noise on Lincoln Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Pleasurable Experience from booking to stay. Treated as individual by Oscar Manager who fulfilled my needs as a wheelchair user with hoist well.

Massive Room, loads of space. Comfy Bed. No need for risers to get hoist under. Brilliant wet room. Shower could be more powerful. Water free. Fridge provided... Location excellent. All staff friendly. Breakfast inconsistent but was free and fine to be honest. Fruit pastries and cold meat. Some days eggs and bacon which was good. Could help yourself and not overeat.

Had a nice salad by pool but no liquor when I wanted a nice wine/beer...

But 9 out of 10 to be honest. Will go back.

Room Tip: Disabled Room 612...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is a chic modern hotel in a great spot in South Beach. The hotel reception is very trendy and the staff were very helpful, they even let us check out a little later than we were meant to.
The valet sorted out our car for us although parking was very expensive (not the hotels fault).
The room was clean and spacious, although the bathroom a little small.
The pool was a nice size although it did look a bit grubby round the edges.
The best thing about this hotel is the location, a short walk from the beach and all the attractions.

I haven't stayed in Miami before so not sure how it compares to others but it was fine for what we required.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Service was terrible - when I arrived the toilet flush was broken and it took the hotel staff two days to fix.

The only good thing about this hotel was one of the staff members, George, who was incredibly helpful and professional and very polite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is its location - perfect for exploring South Beach, eating out, shopping, etc. It is quite old, as is most of South Beach, but has been redone. The rooms are adequate, but old; the bathroom is tiny and old (again that word...). The front desk was somewhat helpful unless you ask for an extension of the check out time or anything special for your room. They did help us by suggesting restaurants (DON'T eat at the hotel; there are lots of great restaurants around) and finding a place for me to work after I had to check out on time while the rest of our party was in a meeting. All in all it was an adequate, but no where near special, place to stay for a couple of days, iffy for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We had a 2 room suite, which was sparsely furnished with very contemporary, uncomfortable furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion South Beach

Address: 1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albion South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albion Hotel, a hip South Beach Hotel and one of the coolest Miami Beach Hotels located directly on stylish Lincoln Road Mall. The Albion Hotel location is considered the most central to shopping, dining, and nightlife of all South Beach Hotels. The Albion Hotel South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of flashy South Beach Miami, Florida. Miles of beautiful beaches and the Miami Beach Convention Center are just one block from this Miami Beach Hotel gem. Guests at Albion, a 3.5 star South Beach Hotel enjoy convenient access to Florida tourist attractions, many of which are within walking distance to the hotel, including Ocean Drive and the Art Deco District. Miami International Airport is approximately 20 minutes from Albion Hotel South Beach. Transportation from Miami International Airport (MIA) can be arranged through the Albion Hotel Miami Beach for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albion South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Albion South Beach Miami
Albion Hotel Miami
Albion Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.