We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albion South Beach

Save Saved
You added Albion South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albion South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“A little bit run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for a central location in Miami and found The Albion. You can't beat the location - it's a short walk from the beach, shops and Lincoln Rd.

The staff at the reception acted quite reserved, it felt like they were too cool for the guests staying at this hotel. The valet was friendly and helpful though.

The room was quite small but our family of four managed just fine. The bathroom was tiny and it was difficult to find space to balance make-up bags and so forth. In contrast, the wardrobe was big but we had no need for it since we only stayed one night.

It was nice to have a pool but truthfully it's seen better days and is in need of renovation.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as it would have been an additional charge and very expensive for four people.

Frankly, I would expect more for the price, at least free breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    385
    164
    57
    53
See reviews for
141
347
51
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in this hotel on our honeymoon. Me and my husband always wanted to experiece Miami. The Hotel was fine but the room was very small. There wasnt enough space in the so called wardrobe to put our clothes in. We had to leave everything in the suitcases, so there wasnt enough space to go round the bed as our suitcases were on the floor! Bathroom was fine but toilet itself smelt. We couldn't sleep as the guests next door were very loud. It felt like we have been given a room at the staff end of the hotel. It felt old fashioned and shabby. Would never stay here again and definetely not recommend to anybody!! And also we had to pay $35 per night for parking which is a rip off in my opinion! The over all experience was NOT worth the money! AVOID!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Vaida123,


We regret to hear that the Albion Hotel wasn't what you expected.

Please remember that our room size is included in the room description In every website.
Unfortunately we do not know who you are or when did you visit us therefore we would not be able to investigate what you have mention about the toilet. Please keep in mind that we clean every room paying attention to every detail.
It is well known that South Beach is becoming like New York in terms of parking. We offer valet parking service at the rate of USD 35.00 per night that rate is also published in every website.


Regards,

The Albion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Needed to go to a Convention Center event for one night . Was able to make reservation 2 days ahead. Room was small and dated but what I expected. Location was great for Convention Center and Lincoln St. Parking past 1 PM cost and extra $ 10, counter to what attendant told me the day before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear funnyroad,

We are glad that you liked the location of the Hotel. Our standard rooms are usually larger than the average room in a boutique hotel. The only smaller option Would be our Petite room which is well described (including the measurement of the room).

Best Regards,


The Albion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Albion in early February for three days as part of a business trip to Miami Beach. I had never been to Miami before but this hotel was recommended by colleagues I was traveling with. I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. Some of my colleagues complained about the street noise from their rooms, but I did not find this to be a problem. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small but not a big deal since I was only there for three nights. The hotel was conveniently located next to shops and restaurants, as well as the beach. Overall it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear ASK2005 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Albion hotel. It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and would return in the future.

We will always welcome you with open arms.

Warm Regards,

The Albion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is located just off of Lincoln Road and has a beautiful classic Miami art deco lobby. The property is somewhat dated and could use some refurbishing: new carpets, wallpaper, beds, etc. We had a room in one of the upper floors for three nights in January and it was a perfect escape from NYC while a great winter storm raged there. We avoided the breakfast because of other bad reviews about the price of it and because there are great options steps from the hotel. My biggest issue was that the last night we were there we could hear the guests next door. The walls are way too thin and made for an unpleasant sleepless night. That said, the Albion is in general much more sober and quiet than the raucous scene in south beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear lscsNYC,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Albion hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Miami with us and the Trip Advisor community.

Best Regards,

The Albion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

i've stayed in quite a few hotels in Miami and this hotel never disappoints. It's in a great location, 3 mins from the shops, 5 mins from the beach, walking distance to everywhere, and the hotel is superb. it's a great boutique hotel, with charm and personal character, effort has been made on the rooms which are stylish, clean, modern and quiet. Staff are very friendly overall.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Richiev2009,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about the Albion hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,

The Albion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed for one night by myself after a work trip. This hotel was exactly what I needed - friendly, helpful staff, perfect location and great hotel services. Every staff member I came in contact with was very pleasant and went above and beyond what I could ask for. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything yet off the strip and away from traffic. Also, it is so close to the beach. My room was a little small but I didn't need a large room as I was heading to beach the for my stay. I stayed at the beach after I checked out and I was able to leave my car with valet for only $10 dollars. Everything turned out to be very convenient. The hotel rate is amazingly reasonable for the location. Two thumbs up for the Albion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Leah A

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Albion hotel.

We will always welcome you with open arms.


Warm Regards,

The Albion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion South Beach

Address: 1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albion South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albion Hotel, a hip South Beach Hotel and one of the coolest Miami Beach Hotels located directly on stylish Lincoln Road Mall. The Albion Hotel location is considered the most central to shopping, dining, and nightlife of all South Beach Hotels. The Albion Hotel South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of flashy South Beach Miami, Florida. Miles of beautiful beaches and the Miami Beach Convention Center are just one block from this Miami Beach Hotel gem. Guests at Albion, a 3.5 star South Beach Hotel enjoy convenient access to Florida tourist attractions, many of which are within walking distance to the hotel, including Ocean Drive and the Art Deco District. Miami International Airport is approximately 20 minutes from Albion Hotel South Beach. Transportation from Miami International Airport (MIA) can be arranged through the Albion Hotel Miami Beach for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Albion South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Albion South Beach Miami
Albion Hotel Miami
Albion Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.