We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albion South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albion South Beach to your Saves list
Albion South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel for business. EXTREMELY overrated!! Nice staff, some of them more willing to service than the others. Breakfast? AWFULLY Expensive. $ 17 for bread, some slices of ham and cheese and yogurt. If you want eggs or an omelette you have to pay $ 3 more!!!! The mattresses are like futons. Extremely noisy!!! If you have back pain, stay away of this hotel!!! No Ice machine. You have to call front desk to get ice. (ridiculous). the halls are impregnated with cheap aromatizer. So.. If you have allergies or asthma this is not your hotel. It was a really bad experience. I'll never stay in this hotel again!!

Room Tip: It seems that upper floor rooms are better...???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbionManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Albion South Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Herfrank1,
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good time while in Miami.
The Albion hotel is our home and as hosts we like to welcome every guest with open arms and make sure each stay is memorable.
Our restaurant prices fluctuate depending what would you like to order and they are at parity with most of the hotel restaurants in the area.
We recently changed the mattresses but after a previous review we are conducting a meticulous inspection to make sure to replace any possible defective item.
The Ice machines are not in the floors for two reasons, one is to avoid the noise and traffic through the hallways and the other is to make sure that the Ice is handled with care following the proper health regulations.

Sincerely,

The Albion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    421
    175
    59
    56
See reviews for
148
371
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very nice hotel located at Lincoln road where a lot of shops restaurants and night life is,the service is ok specialy the guys at the door ,close to the beach , the rooms are ok,a beautiful art deco building, visit James Av where you can see a lot of art deco houses and hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

An hotel that mantaigns the atmosphere of the original hotels of South Beach, with the comforts of a modern hotel. Amazing location: the beach, restaurants and Lincoln street mall are just 2 minutes walking. Rooms have a good price/quality ratio and clean. The staff is kind and friendly. It also has a nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent there a total of 3 nights with a visit to the Keys in between.

The first two nights it seemed as if my bed had a sort of plastic cover around it, making a lot of noise everytime I sat on the bed on turned around when I was lying in the bed.

It has an excellent shower in the rooms though the water did not go away as fast as you expect and at some point you will stand ankle deep into your shower water.

Very friendly staff who are very willing to help, however having a list of openinghours of the services would be very welcome.

The room has a fridge but is unfortunately just for the minibar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent three nights at the Albion South Beach (2 adults and 2 children) before driving to the Florida Keys. The location is great, very close to the beach, Ocean Drive and the restaurants/shops on Lincoln Road. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the valet parking efficient. Our room was comfortable with lovely comfy beds and the pool was a welcome relief from the very hot and humid weather! A few things that would make this hotel even better would be a few more parasols around the pool and a lick of fresh paint here and there. On the whole, good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-facing room on floors 4 or above if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Albion several times when doing business in South Beach. For the price, it is perfect if you are not in Miami to lay by the beach. This year, one of my managers stayed there for 5 days while we were at the Swim Show & said she received so much attention & has never been treated so well in any hotel.
Thought i should write this, since service is so important these days & the staff there went out of their way to make her stay a great one.

Room Tip: Always try to get the largest you can afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect! Everything is in walking distance, so if you a re looking for a good priced hotel in a good area, this is the one! The pool area is alittle bit old and in south beach you will find hotels with a better pool. We were not planning to use it, so we didn't care.

Room Tip: They say you can use a petit room with full bed with 2 persons, but that's to small. Go for a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion South Beach

Address: 1650 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albion South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Albion Hotel, a hip South Beach Hotel and one of the coolest Miami Beach Hotels located directly on stylish Lincoln Road Mall. The Albion Hotel location is considered the most central to shopping, dining, and nightlife of all South Beach Hotels. The Albion Hotel South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of flashy South Beach Miami, Florida. Miles of beautiful beaches and the Miami Beach Convention Center are just one block from this Miami Beach Hotel gem. Guests at Albion, a 3.5 star South Beach Hotel enjoy convenient access to Florida tourist attractions, many of which are within walking distance to the hotel, including Ocean Drive and the Art Deco District. Miami International Airport is approximately 20 minutes from Albion Hotel South Beach. Transportation from Miami International Airport (MIA) can be arranged through the Albion Hotel Miami Beach for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albion South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Albion South Beach Miami
Albion Hotel Miami
Albion Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.