We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark for our group . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summerville, SC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Missed the mark for our group . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm a fan of Ritz properties but will have to agree with others that this one falls a little short. We choose it over Loews (next door) simply due to the brand. I don't mind paying serious money for their accommodations but this time I left feeling like I didn't get my money's worth. It's hard to put your finger on it as it often comes down to a series of little events that seem insignificant (and whiny if you complain) but ultimately add up to disappointment. Examples:

- We arrived on a late flight. No bellman. No doorman. No luggage assistance. Just one girl at the desk who offered to "find someone if we really needed help."

- No available chairs at the pool. I was offered a wait list or "you might walk down to the beach hut and see if you have better luck." They can't help that they're packed but you would think the pool and beach would communicate so they know how to accommodate the guests.

- $17 frozen margarita (no salt) arrived with salt, partially melted and tasted like incredibly cheap liquor. Again, I don't mind paying $17 for a frozen drink but I'd like to enjoy it.

- An incredibly limited poolside menu that didn't accommodate kids although they bill themselves as family friendly and they certainly had tons of guests with children. Also, never really had a stellar meal there.

- No assistance with booking beach activities and the beach (no fault of the hotel) really isn't impressive on this stretch. Tons of seaweed and litter.

- Expensive and unreliable Wi-Fi. It's almost an insult to pay for it when it's free at a Hilton!

The rooms were nice, beds were plush and Concierge was very helpful but overall I can't see staying here again. If you've never been to a Ritz, you may be impressed but if you frequent this brand you can see where they're missing the mark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    435
    189
    106
    76
See reviews for
406
605
57
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This property might be terrific but the review is phony.
Hotelmode.com is a scam company. If you go on the internet you will see how they take your money upfront, cancel your reservation right before you get there and do not pay it over to the hotel. They then do not answer your phone calls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After staying in another very popular South Beach hotel and being utterly disappointed with the quality of rooms, we decided to book a few nights at the Ritz Carlton. The service afforded by the welcome team (doormen, luggage porters etc) is absolutely exceptional, upon arriving as well as throughout the stay. We were taken care of by (Riley I believe his name was) throughout our time there. The lobby is quite grand and very different from the "trendy" Miami South beach style in other properties along this road. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and I was especially happy with the size of the bathrooms. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have stayed at a lot of Ritz-Carlton hotels around the country and have generally had pretty good experiences, so i didn't think twice about booking the Ritz-Carlton South Beach when our travels took us to Miami. What i found at the Ritz-Carlton South Beach was an absolutely terrible hotel that should in no way fly the Ritz-Carlton flag. Upon arriving at the check-in desk, the check-in clerk was talking gibberish non-stop and was obviously annoying every guest she spoke with. When she got to us, we had no idea what she was saying because her English was so bad. She then proceeded to check us into a room that was already occupied, which we discovered when we entered the room and found dirty clothes, towels and luggage strewn about the room. We ran out of there as quickly as we could and didn't come across the guest or guests staying in the room. We went back to the front desk and got another attendant who had slightly more passable English skills, and after about 15 minutes she was able to assign us to a different room. i was shocked that the manager did not come out to apologize for the problem. What else is the manager there to do? The staff never acknowledged my 8 year old daughter, and being kid friendly is something that the Ritz Carlton is supposed to pride itself on. Luckily the next room we were assigned did not have a tiger or a clown waiting in it for us, but unfortunately the room we were assigned was not suitable for our needs. All of my interactions with the staff were bad, and when i checked out the desk clerk was downright surly. We should have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, which is usually our go to hotel. We had stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Miami a few weeks prior to our stay at the Ritz and it was lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a rom that is not already occupied
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
At The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach we take great pride in the level of service and attention to detail that we provide our guests. When your expectations are not met, we have failed in our primary endeavor.

I am truly sorry to hear your stay with us was not up to the standards of excellence you have come to expect from our brand. We take the events you experienced very seriously and should you wish to contact the hotel directly; would appreciate the opportunity to regain your trust.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Comments from our valued guests, such as yourself is invaluable as we continue to strive to deliver our guests the quality of service they deserve.

Kevin Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Location is suitable for shopping, entartainment and of course for swimming beacause of its great beach . Employee is all perfect!! Bell Staff, Consierge, Reception, Restaurant and also housekeeping.. Especially thank you for Simon and İclal, who are on the front desk.
Beach is wonderful! Rooms are so clean! Thank you for everthing Ritz Family!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights after having a not so great night at The Trump. Night and Day. First its in a much better location and the facilities are much better. And even better we had Ocean Front at a less expensive rate than The Trump. Everyone there was helpful and did exactly as they promised. Great Stay!

Room Tip: Stay In the tower looking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have stayed here many times and feel like its our home away from home. But we could not say that if it were not for the club level staff! Mike, Lydia and Rashad, Eddie and all the staff ( I know I am forgetting someone)!are amazing and so accommodating. We had to cancel last minute because a death in the family and when we did re-book a couple of weeks later there were flowers, a nice sympathy note and sweets in our room!! This hotel really prides itself on their customer service and that is why we keep coming back. From the moment we check in and even around the hotel we are greeted by name! My only one wish is that the renovate the work out room. Many machines are not working properly and the wifi connection and access to the TV's are pretty bad. Having said this we are coming back in a couple of weeks. Cant wait to see our friends on the 10th floor!

Room Tip: Stay on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.