We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location; Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is not what you would normally expect from a Ritz-Carlton - it's clean and nice and update - just not fabulous. The rooms are well-appointed, the service is very good, the hotel food is average. For the price and location - I expect more.

The beach staff was attentive and friendly and accommodating - and the beach location is spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    399
    173
    97
    70
See reviews for
363
537
50
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great hotel and a terrific location! Also, the staff did an outstanding job of finding the perfect quiet room for my stay. The management of this hotel is terrific and the staff made me feel at home thoughout the trip - great bartenders! Strongly recommend this property to anyone traveling to South Beach - I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at several RC and this one would rate the lowest. They worked hard to get us a nice room but then forgot we were there. The first evening no turndown or towels, the next day we finally called at 3:30 because our room had not been made up, and we had been out since 9am. The last day we were to have a late, 1pm check out only to have to answer the door 4 different times and explain to staff that we had the late checkout.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We had a nice corner room facing away from the water (which would have been e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my husband and 2 kids, age 6 and 4. Excellent service. Everybody smiled and asked if we were enjoying our stay or needed help. We've stayed at other Ritz-Carltons' Puerto Rico and Biscayne Bay. The service is consistent. Very family oriented. The beach was crowded but they had a nice little sand play area for the kids. Pool was very cool in temperature but the kids still enjoyed it. It was a nice relaxing time and everyone was friendly. The rhythm massage at the spa was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. I was thankful that it was quiet, considering this was Spring break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely place, old style elegance. PERFECT service. All staff was very attentive. Costly food and drink. Paid $679 per night so it stings to pay $18 for a non-call or non alcoholic drink. 18% gratuity is always included. If money is no object - pack your bags!

Room Tip: we had a corner room (south side) over the pool on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet and very conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The place is beautiful - the lobby, the rooms, the restos, the spa, the beach and the pool side. In Miami, we usually stay at Ritz Key Biscayne, since we love the tennis and the feel of a far-away resort on its expansive grounds. This time we opted for Ritz SOBE for a short getaway. Again, the Ritz SOBE is very pretty, but the service - whether it's the doormen who are sometimes too busy checking out women to open doors for you, the slightly surly servers at the Bistro, or the housekeeping staff who were watching TV when we walked in and interrupted their "turn-down service" - it's not as impeccable as the service at Ritz Key Biscayne. As a footnote the sound of the live music by the pool side and in the lobby feels great in an otherwise quiet (by SOBE standards) hotel.

Room Tip: Room on floor 11 with a balcony had an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Managment needs some training.
Great location, Great hands on front staff;
sad to have a heated discussion with an "Ashley" Manager with a very much wrong attitude towards customers in such a high offer market.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.