We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much Potential- not there yet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Deauville Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deauville Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Woodside, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So much Potential- not there yet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel feb 2013 - the staff was friendly, the hotel was in a great spot (with its on beach front) and surrounded by small business (restaurants, bars, pharmacies, etc). The lobby was nicely spaced and decently decorated. The room were mixed: in other words: the bed set up and main part of the room looked updated and was presented well, the entrance of the room however looked outdated... however, i must say that it was clean (big plus). The room has a iron, ironing board, a closet with goos space, but such closet was also where you found a mini-fridge, coffee maker, but no microwave. Some of the cleaning staff did not know whether or not the hotel had a gym, but it did (decent one too), it also had a barbershop, laundry room (you must pay), internet cafe, restaurant, bars, and a nice pool, with a jacuzzi and bar, we also had FREE wifi access (big plus). The Deauville beach resort also had a few ballrooms for corporate events and seminars, dance events etc... I happened to be there for the World Salsa Summit, and everything was set up properly and for the most part drinking- water was available most of the night. I did think the it was overpriced, but if you are looking for all the amenities i mentioned above, and you are looking to share your room... i guess the pricing isnt so bad.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view! you do not want to see the pharmacy across the street :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. As you were able to experience, we’ve made many improvements to the hotel with many more improvements planned for the near future. Our rooms have been renovated with only a single floor left to do. We are retraining our staff to make them familiar with the entire property regardless of their department. Our large pool has been painted and repaired and looks spectacular. Our pool was an eyesore in the past and it has now been restored to its original beauty. We provide Wi-fi in all of our guest rooms and public areas and overall we’re continuously striving to improve. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to hosting your stay and your wonderful Salsa Summit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    410
    378
    282
    559
See reviews for
538
538
98
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took our daughter and her cousin to see a concert and had nothing but problems with the hotel. We couldn't check in until 4pm. There were lines at the elevator door and the bell boy almost ran us over so he could get into elevator before the guests. When we finally got up to our room we had some surprises awaiting our arrival. The toilet did not work and when i went to use the phone to call the front desk that didn't work either. I went to the front desk and explained this to them and they were very rude and said, "Sorry sir, we are at 99% capacity and we cannot do anything right now other then send up a repair man." They never fixed the toilet or phone and said they would waive the $20 resort fee; which was a joke. I mean i had to go down 10 floors to use the hotel bathroom. We ended up having to get a manager involved and they gave us an additional 20% off after an hour of complaining; however, i am still not happy and would NEVER return to this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us this time around. It is correct, our hotel was entirely full with several large groups in house. This does put additional demands on our elevators and facilities which tend to slow things down. We did offer you compensation for your inconvenience and once we had a room available, we were able to change your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What ever you do don't book a standard room. The photos they show are of the most expensive rooms. This is a big hotel which is quite old. Some of the rooms have been renovated and some have not. My travel agent booked me a standard room and it was disgusting. The carpet was stained, it smelled musty, the paint was pealing, it was bare minimum furniture and very old. My view was of a filthy roof top. Two of the elevators did not work. The pool was closed for repair and staff were uninterested in helping. I had to upgrade to get a decent room to stay the night. It is not the greatest neighborhood. A $40 cab ride from the airport and another $40 to the pier. I would have been better to use that $80 and stayed a better hotel with a shuttle service. If you want a beach then book their best room and you'll be okay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We regret to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy our property. Our pool was undergoing renovations during the week of your stay. We painted and completely refurbished our pool and it has been filled and looks great. Our rooms have been renovated with the exception of several of our standard units. We offer these un-renovated units at deeply discounted rates and always offer our guests the option for an upgrade to our superior standard units, if available, when our guests are checking in. We invite you to stay with us again and experience our new rooms and newly improved facilities. We would like to offer you a significant discount so that you can have a fully enjoyable experience with us. Please contact me and provide me with your details so that I may be able to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were wondering how it was going to be here after reading several negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised and not disappointed. The accomodations here are comfortable and clean. We had a nice view from our (standard) room and I really liked the walk-in closet. I saw no hours posted anywhere for the fitness center though. The pool area was very nice and in general there are plenty of places to sit. Of course the beach is so convenient and inviting. We both agreed we would definitely stay here again.
One glitch was with the concierge. We had made a reservation with a deposit for a taxi to take us to the airport. It was not there at the requested time. When we came down then they called for it and said it would be 10 mintues. Why make a reservation then? When the transportation did finally arrive, we found out there were other people going with us. If we would have known that was the case, we could have just taken the airport shuttle then.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review. Our new rooms look great and now that our pool has been completely painted and restored, this will all greatly enhance our property and our guest’s overall vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

To the staff of the Deauville: I just wanted to say thank you very much for a job well done. You made my life very easy this week...which I am extremely grateful for. Everyone in my group was very impressed by the food and the service. Yahaira, Gabriel and Aramis (the bartender at the pool in the evenings) were especially fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are delighted to hear that your corporate group was a success. I will pass along your comments to our entire staff and congratulate them for their diligence and hard work.
We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful facilities and newly renovated rooms and hope to host your next meeting and group in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend get a way for our anniversary. Upon checking in we were given a room that we were not satisfied with. I called the front desk to complain about it and in a matter of minutes Claudio (Customer Service Manager) was knocking on our door. He gave us a tour of a better room and we were given the option to either stay where we were or change to the other room. He was very professional and attentive to our needs. Our room was great! The view was amazing! The beach breath taking. It was a wonderful weekend. I am so looking forward to returning. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our property. As you can see, our rooms are in the final stages of renovations so we were fortunate enough to offer you one of our available renovated rooms. I am also glad that you loved our location and views. We are blessed with over 700 linear feet of white sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views that our guests can thoroughly enjoy… and we are happy you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The service was great. My wife and myself where celebrating our anniversary. When we first walked into the room we were not satisfied We called the front desk and immediately the Customer Service manager (Claudio) assisted us to a better room. He was very nice and very professional. We really had a great time. We are looking forward to our next stay. I highly recommend this hotel. It has an awesome view of the beach and their pool and bar are a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio R, Guest Relations Manager at Deauville Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our property. I am also glad that you loved our location and views, was absolutely my pleasure to assist you for your special celebration Happy Anniversary. We are blessed with over 700 linear feet of white sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views that our guests can thoroughly enjoy… and we are happy you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deauville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deauville Beach Resort

Address: 6701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#96 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deauville Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has recently purchased a modern multi-story parking building located diagonal to the property so that we can provide all of our guests with more than adequate parking space. We are happy to inform our new parking facilities, The Deauville Beach Resort now has the most parking spaces of any hotel this side of Miami Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Deauville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deauville Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Deauville Beach Miami
Deauville Hotel Miami
The Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deauville Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.