We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of First SoFi

Save Saved
You added First SoFi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First SoFi
130 3rd Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Way overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Positiv points: the location, the size of the apartments.
Negative points: the furnitures are shiny on the first sight, but are falling apart on the second sight (one of the beds was broken, the brackets of the glass door of one of the showers were broken, various door latches were loose, and many other little things), very superficial cleaning (hairs found in the shower), few devices available at the allegedly advertised "fully equipped kitchen"(for example, no coffee machine, no water boiler, no toaster!!!!!!).
Since we could not use one of the beds and the staff, despite of trying, was not able to repair it, we got a refund of 50%.
But all in all, we were quite disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
perth,wa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location, easy walking to South Beach spots and great for exploring south of fifth. Short stroll to beach. Good parking arrangements made it easy to park car, because you won't need it! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on 2nd floor, was comfortable and air conditioner worked well. Great to have washer/dryer. Apartment could be greatly improved with a little more attention to detail; more towels/bathmat, washing liquid, extra toilet paper, curtain to block out street lamp glaring into main bedroom. Overall enjoyed stay, good for casual beach holiday and budget stay in Miami Beach.

Room Tip: No elevator so just remember to ask for appropriate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wasn't really sure what I was booking when I booked on line so was pleasantly surprised to find a spacious, light, well located, furnished apartment for a very reasonable price. Apartments are a mix of rent and owned. Reception has limited hours but providing you get there before 8 you'll be fine. The apartment was well equipped with cooking facilities, dishwasher, fridge freezer and washing machine. It was modern decor - white walls and furnishing interspersed with black. No parking provided but they can get you a 50% discount on a public car park on corner of Collins and 5th. Just be aware there is a $60 charge for final cleaning however long you stay even though that was not clear at time of booking. We stayed on ground floor and noise from above could be heard but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Reception has limited hours, so when we arrived after it had closed there was no one to repair our air-con and so we sweated all night. They fixed the next day. The building is old and a lick a white paint and some italian leather furniture does not make up for hearing every noise at every hour from both inside and outside the hotel. Don't expect an equiped kitchen as there was very little in term of anything over and above the fridge and over. Still we enjoyed the location and the lady on reception was lovely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at First SoFi with 2 kids for 1 week in a comfortable, well-appointed, 2-bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment and found it to be just what we were looking for and wanted. It was spacious, light, sunny and the location one block from the beach was so convenient. We had had no communication with the reception prior to arrival so were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and everything was ready for us. I read the reviews, both positive and negative, and some things were true when we were there but some were not or could easily be resolved by the staff. We asked for a few extras and got them promptly. Granted some of the furniture could use a little upgrade and a few more kitchen appliances could make it more complete, but overall we had everything we needed. We wanted a kitchenette because we didn't want the restrictions of eating in a hotel or restaurants and we wanted space with 2 kids and we got more than we needed! We had no problem with parking in the (granted small) parking lot perhaps because it was off-season? Overall highly recommend First SoFi!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guessguess
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

By far the very best place in Miami Beach:brand new designer appartments with brand new kitchens : dishwasher,washingmachine & dryer included & all for the same price as a hotel room.100 cotton towels & linen -meaning they dry you off ,once you step wet out off the shower.Best location too :Superquiet -but close to all the clubs & one step from the beach.
lots of space & beautiful design.Best Value for your money!

Room Tip: stat at first so-fi !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived to find a big, light and modern apartment, a place where you could actually live for a longer period. Nothing of the stuffiness usually found at hotelrooms. Some of the furniture/applinces may be a little worn but the overall impression is charming and with a beautiful atmosphere. Our pullcurtains didnt work at first but were mended as soon as we told the staff.
The people there are nice and friendly, the guy in charge of parking dutifully moved the cars around so that it was always possible to get your car out whenever you wanted and you could park for free.

Room Tip: we were in 101, but don't know about any of the others.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First SoFi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First SoFi

Address: 130 3rd Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, each of the LUXURY Suites and Junior Suites offers a wide space and consists of an entrance, an open kitchen, a lounge/dining-room, a separate bedroom with a large double bed, a large dressing room and a bathroom with a walk-in shower.Decorated in a "modern minimalist" style, these Suites/Apartments are full of calmness and serenity. They impress by the size and brightness of space and the functionality of the equipments.The suites are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your First SoFi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Sofi
First Sofi Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First SoFi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.