We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable and convenient stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First SoFi

Save Saved
You added First SoFi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First SoFi
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   130 3rd Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable and convenient stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at First SoFi with 2 kids for 1 week in a comfortable, well-appointed, 2-bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment and found it to be just what we were looking for and wanted. It was spacious, light, sunny and the location one block from the beach was so convenient. We had had no communication with the reception prior to arrival so were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and everything was ready for us. I read the reviews, both positive and negative, and some things were true when we were there but some were not or could easily be resolved by the staff. We asked for a few extras and got them promptly. Granted some of the furniture could use a little upgrade and a few more kitchen appliances could make it more complete, but overall we had everything we needed. We wanted a kitchenette because we didn't want the restrictions of eating in a hotel or restaurants and we wanted space with 2 kids and we got more than we needed! We had no problem with parking in the (granted small) parking lot perhaps because it was off-season? Overall highly recommend First SoFi!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
guessguess
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

By far the very best place in Miami Beach:brand new designer appartments with brand new kitchens : dishwasher,washingmachine & dryer included & all for the same price as a hotel room.100 cotton towels & linen -meaning they dry you off ,once you step wet out off the shower.Best location too :Superquiet -but close to all the clubs & one step from the beach.
lots of space & beautiful design.Best Value for your money!

Room Tip: stat at first so-fi !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived to find a big, light and modern apartment, a place where you could actually live for a longer period. Nothing of the stuffiness usually found at hotelrooms. Some of the furniture/applinces may be a little worn but the overall impression is charming and with a beautiful atmosphere. Our pullcurtains didnt work at first but were mended as soon as we told the staff.
The people there are nice and friendly, the guy in charge of parking dutifully moved the cars around so that it was always possible to get your car out whenever you wanted and you could park for free.

Room Tip: we were in 101, but don't know about any of the others.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was pretty happy with my stay here. The room was very nicely decorated, more like a long-stay apartment than a hotel room. The girl at check in was very friendly and helpful. And it was very near the beach, but not too noisy (I stayed in February). Unfortunately the very limited parking was full so I had to pay street parking overnight which adds another $20. Be careful when booking also; the quoted rate does not include a $60 service charge. This seems an unnecessarily obscure way of charging. Best to just state it up front.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Read the small print! This accommodation advertises as nightly rate BUT you will have to pay an extra $60 service charge on top of the price you were quoted. We thought the price was $89 for one night stay for 2 people. However, they actually charged $149 and this accommodation is definitely not worth this price. You can get a better room on the main strip on South Beach for less money. The Avalon only ask $140 and you get a breakfast included with a great room.
First Sofi is an old building and it smells. They have tried to cover it up by painting the interior walls in dark gold paint but it still stinks. The room we got was also smelly and the furnishings are cheap and nasty. The bed quilt did not even have a cover, the window blinds were broken and there were no curtains in the rooms.
This accommodation is only for kids who want to party on Spring Break. Also, look out for the terms & conditions which say you must pay $200 security damage fee on arrival, on top of the service charge.
This place is not worth the money!

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reus, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at SoFi for 3 nights during our trip through the East Coast. The only good point we found after being there is that it is located few minutes from the beach.

When we first arrived at the hotel there was nobody in the reception, so we had to wait 2 hours for someone to come. We showed them the reservation but they didn’t know anything about our reservation and a deposit of $180 we paid months before. Luckily in the end they found it… But we weren’t given the apartment we were supposed to have; they gave us another one which had been quickly and badly cleaned to accommodate us. We even found earrings and the trash can was full of previous guest’s garbage…

We parked our car in the street in front of the hotel, which we thought was free to park, because they didn’t tell us anything about the parking they have in the rear part, so we got a $50 traffic ticket for parking in the street. It was our fault, but they could at least tell us that they had a parking for guests… Well, after that, we moved our car to the parking lot and the rude man in charge of the parking told us that there was no space for our car and we had to find somewhere else to park. Of course, we went to speak to the manager and after complaining we left our car in the parking but we had to give our car keys to that man that didn’t inspire any confidence.

The apartment was quite untidy, there was dust everywhere. A lot of knifes, spoons, forks, plates and one TV in one of the bedrooms were missing… There was a combo washing machine/tumble dryer that washed but didn’t dry, so we had to take our wet clothes to a laundry. At night, when I was about to have a shower, 2 cockroaches came out the shower, and found some more dead in the other bathroom.

Next day we left our towels on the floor to be changed, but when we get the apartment in the evening they were exactly in the same place, so we went to reception to explain that and they were so surprised and called the maid service which was supposed to come in 1 hour, but turned to be 3.

The following day, same thing happened, we were out all day and when we arrived nothing had been changed, but we found one light turned on (because everybody knows your “secret” code to open the door). This time we couldn’t even contact anyone from the hotel…

In the end, we had a very bad experience and felt it had been a waste of money, because it was like $300 per night, and a mandatory cleaning fee of $60 (I don’t know what they understand for cleaning…).

So, please, if you are considering staying here, I recommend you to start looking for alternatives, there are a lot hotels and apartments in the area. Probably cheaper and better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First SoFi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First SoFi

Address: 130 3rd Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 59 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First SoFi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, each of the LUXURY Suites and Junior Suites offers a wide space and consists of an entrance, an open kitchen, a lounge/dining-room, a separate bedroom with a large double bed, a large dressing room and a bathroom with a walk-in shower.Decorated in a "modern minimalist" style, these Suites/Apartments are full of calmness and serenity. They impress by the size and brightness of space and the functionality of the equipments.The suites are non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your First SoFi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Sofi
First Sofi Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First SoFi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.