We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - but not quite up to the billing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Cross Street 17th and James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 531-4533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 843 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
North England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good - but not quite up to the billing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We allowed ourselves to be persuaded by the wonderful positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and so perhaps our expectations were too high. It is really good, but it is not perfect. We ordered an expensive bottle of white wine, and then had to ask for a wine cooler to be brought to the table. This was the 3rd most expensive meal we have ever had, and the 2 that were more expensive were better - we came away from those 2 feeling that they were worth every penny, whereas with Pied a Terre we felt that although it is very good it is over-priced. I would recommend people to go, but caution them not to expect perfection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    46
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Aussi bon qu'il obtient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This little restaurant, hidden in the front corner of the Cadet Hotel, is a gem!
Small enough for customers to get very personal attention and recommendations, yet the food is exceptionally well prepared and presented.
We had Scallops Ravioli for our appetizer. Even the vegetables in this dish were terrific.
Our entre was Lobster with Asian Twist. It had a sizable amount of fresh lobster along with some rolls prepared with lobster and vegetables. We couldn't have enjoyed it more!
The dessert was as special, if not more so, than the meal. It was called something like Destruct Buche, and combined multiple flavors on one plate. The description used a number of terms we weren't familiar with but as I said, you get personal attention, and once it was explained we had to try it. Good call - it was fabulous.
We've done a lot of travelling and eaten at a lot of restaurants of all types but this one is absolutely top floor. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Proof of the Pudding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Is in the eating.

Excellence is not overlooked here and is served with aplomb. French cooking in the classical sense. I can recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking to sensate quality food but at a price that is worth paying for.

Wine selection is top notch.

Service is bang on. Well done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful French dinner at Pied a Terre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second visit to Pied a Terre and we were as happy as the first time. Excellent service, exquisite French food made from scratch and explained in detail by our host who also suggested the pairing wine and even though we just ordered 2 glasses went ahead and opened a new bottle of wine that was not offered by glass.

Both the foie gras terrine and seared variety were excellent. The wild mushroom risotto with steamed lobster were delicious as was the desert.

We will return when in town.

Tip: The place is somewhat hidden as it is located on the first floor of Cadet hotel, which itself is somewhat small. There was no valet service and we parked at a nearby private lot for $20 or you can park in the large garage structure 3 streets over by Lincoln street
If sitting inside, make sure to bring a jacket as the air conditioner works well. If sitting outside be prepared for the little critters and mosquitoes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked this restaurant based on the great reviews and were not disappointed. The restaurant is within the Cadet Hotel a small boutique hotel. The food was fantastic - we started with Foie Gras duo of a bonbon and terrine accompanied with a sweet wine and then had the sea bass and lobster risotto, we finished by sharing the Creme brûlée with a lavender twist. Our best meal on our Miami stay. Our host Didier made the evening with great insights on everything on the menu and the accompanying wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pied a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.