We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food, overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Cross Street 17th and James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 531-4533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 871 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Oslo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay food, overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Compared to fine restaurants in Europe, Pied a Terre is an average restaurant. The food was good, but not special. When you pay extra you expect good food that´s above average.. The service was a bit much, the waitress was talking alot, and our waterglasses didnt get topped up.. They had good wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    55
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful intimate dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went here with my partner for dinner in April. It was a pleasant surprise, the restaurant is very small, tastefully decorated and very intimate, it has a very European feel without trying too hard. It was a welcome change from some of the over-the-top Miami restaurants. The food was fantastic with the tuna starter being a particular star. Sylvia is an energetic warm host who really cares for her customers. I would highly recommend this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food- but over attentive, almost false service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Not a relaxing meal. This restaurant should let the food speak for itself . It is also quite expensive for South Beach. Didn't really work for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth it for the wine list alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a 10-table boutique restaurant driven by the vision of the manager, Patrick Gruest. (There are more tables by the pool and on a terrace -- we loved it inside.) He pollinates the menu with dishes from celebrity chefs he recruits from France for annual visits. Several of the dishes were remarkable. The wine list is his creation -- one little treasure after another, and reasonably priced. Very hospitable and warm (perhaps largely thanks to Silvia) but at the same time correct in the French way. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a true dining experience. Sylvia and Patrick help guide you thru an enjoyable evening of delicious food expertly paired with wine from a varied and unusual list of selections from around the world! Not to be missed when visiting Miami!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pied a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.