We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Cross Street 17th and James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
(305) 531-4533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pied a Terre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 841 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cross Street 17th and James Ave.
Description: Located in the Cadet Hotel on 17th and James Ave. Pied A Terre has 11 tables seating 30 people plus outside seating available depending on the weather. We serve innovative Contemporary French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Our menu is always a reflection of seasonal ingredients and local products. We offer a 6 course tasting menu featuring our signature offerings. Our cuisine is always a work in progress and we strive to ensure there are always new and exciting dishes for our guests to sample. Our wine list is unique featuring unusual wines, Boutique wineries from different parts of the world. We also offer outdoor dining with two chef's tables to accommodate larger parties. Our 2 outside patios are perfect for private parties up to 80 guests. We can accommodate any dietary requirements.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food was great.
Great Wine and Food Matching.
Nice suprise with some unfamiliar and unique wine.
Service was fast , classy , and very friendly.

...and at the end price was ok for Miami beach , and such great food.

We will back again.

p.s. you need to try the Foie Gras with the special wine...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    68
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was very good, and the menu is reasonably priced given the quality of the food. The owner took the time to carefully go over the menu with us. He also suggested a less expensive Champagne than the one I was going to order, and I was very happy with it.

The decor is upscale without being stuffy. I would definitely dine here again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some good elements but a little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Overall we had an enjoyable meal here and the food was good but we found the atmosphere a bit odd - the restaurant is very small and almost felt like someone's lounge or private dining room. I think the small / intimate vibe is definitely more suited to couples rather than a group of friends or family. We had to move table when we arrived as there were shards of glass on our original table, but the situation was dealt with well by the waitress who was very apologetic (and we were offered free puddings). But we did have an issue with the wine - the waiter poured our white wine straight into our glasses without offering for us to taste it. And then tried to pour our second bottle of wine (a different red wine) straight into the same glasses - I wouldn't expect this in a restaurant of this calibre but it's most likely just an issue of training the staff better. Overall the food was good with lots of tempting and creative choices on the menu but my mother and I both had the seafood risotto and found it too rich. Everything was presented beautifully and it's definitely better than some other places we tried in South Beach - but I'm not sure I would rush back for the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Timeless Class & Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Should be number #1 on any worldwide list of dining experiences.

The best white-tablecloth restaurant I've ever dined in.
Dining here is a "must".
The cosy atmosphere in this restaurant oozes class!
Presentation, preparation, and service of the food is the best I've experienced.
The perfect place for a small that know quality, or want quality.
Wine list is exceptional, and very broad.
The intimate atmosphere makes it a perfect place for a marriage proposal.

I thoroughly recommend Pied a Terre.

I thoroughly recommend Pied a Terre!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excelent Peruvian influenced Food in a French restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had a romantic dinner at this small but very nice restaurant in Miami Beach. What a pitty that it was not our engagement dinner! It would have been perfect. A very friendly service lead by the French garzon made it very special. I was surprised when I suddenly saw so many peruvian influences at the menu (as I live in Peru), which was then amazingly reinforced by him telling us how important the peruvian cusine is. The result a very special and magic dinner. Amazing sea bass and shrimps, delicious!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pied a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.