We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent - 1 year on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Italia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Still excellent - 1 year on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Italia at the same time last year and when we decided to return to South Beach we had no hesitation in again staying here and we were not disappointed.

Our room (by coincidence the same one as we had last year) was spacious, clean and well furnished. Breakfast is simple but adequate . Above all the attitude, care and attention of the hotel personnel is excellent to say the least - nothing is too much bother for them.

Hotel locational is also a plus being only a couple of blocks away from the busy (and noisy) Ocean Drive and it is also near to the "150 South Beach Flyer" airport bus stops.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed in the villa and it was excellent value for money and perfect for two couples.
Situated close to everything you want to experience at South Beach; Art Deco district, short walk to the beach, Ocean Drive and night life.
Good service and very good housekeeping. The hotel offers beach chairs and towels.
Hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: The villa is perfect for 2 couples or family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unni_Kristine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived hot and nauseous from a poor ride on the Super Shuttle and were devastated to find that we had not properly completed our reservation and we indeed were not in the hotel system. Fortunately Karl was most sympathetic and we were quickly given cappuccinos, snacks and their last room! The room was spacious, clean and inviting. The beach was an easy stroll away and Karl gave us lots of suggestions for sightseeing and dinner. Breakfast was lovely on the hotel patio with a good assortment of fresh food. Thank you for being so welcoming and going out of your way to make our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and likely quieter than rooms closer to the busy front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 894MCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed there for one night and had no major complaints but i would not go back. We asked for beach towels and were not offered any beach chairs, which was disappointing because i specifically asked whether they had any chairs on the beach. Also the next day i asked for chairs and sure enough there were some. The room was modern and very clean, but extremely bland. I also heard each step the people above our room made which was kind of annoying. Breakfast is nothing special, pretty bad coffee and a lot of pre-packed carbs, aside from some freshly baked carbs like bagels and danishes, yogurt & bananas, everything available on paper plates. Staff was not particularly friendly but nothing to complain about. They charge a hotel fee, which not all hotels in South Beach do. There are a lot worse (and better) hotels in SOBE but in the end i have no idea why they were awarded a Certificate of Excellence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Though your stay was extremely short & brief; we cordially invite you back to Villa Italia Hotel and stay longer than 1 night to experience all that Villa Italia Hotel has to offer.

Whereas many other hotel properties located on Miami Beach charge add-on fees for each service provided; we here at Villa Italia Hotel ONLY charge a low daily fee of $12.95 which includes both wired & Wi-Fi internet, local & toll free telephone dialing, premium movie channels, boarding pass printing and beach chairs & towels.

We hope you give Villa Italia Hotel another opportunity so we can show you the many reasons why we were awarded the certificate of excellence in 2 consecutive years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for five days and could not be more satisfied. The location is perfect, just off Ocean Drive. The room was clean, spacious, with a decent king bed. Valet parking was fine, albeit sometimes a little slow (since they service other hotels as well), but for us this was no problem. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is simple, but adequate.
Would definitely stay here again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Merlijn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very nice staff and a very nice room. Wonderful little hotel. They allowed us into our rooms early and were very helpful. Nice location just two blocks from Ocean Avenue. Would difinitely stay there again when in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for one week at this hotel. At first, you have to be aware that although it's more quiet then the area around ( over 5th street), it's still South Beach with a lot of traffic. We were disappointed to be given a room on the street with the AC room just next door. We were there for a while and would have expected something better, I had chosen the more expensive and qualitative room and I put a note in the booking asking for a quiet room. I know they read that note as it was also written it was my husband's birthday and remembered that. I asked to change room, a lady told me it would be impossible. I was very upset. After 2 nights without sleep; I was really to leave and loose my money as I needed some rest. When I say I wanted to know the cost of an early departure, the manager said he could place me in another room. Why did I have to say I was leaving before someone proposed something....?? The new room was better as part of it was on the back. I have to say the rooms are nice, well furnished and clean. The television makes a lot of noise and it's difficult to watch it. The bathroom is nice. The breakfast is a limited breakfast and not for free as said as you pay a daily fee for it with the chairs for the beach and the newspaper, even if you are not interested by everything. This hotel left me with a strange feeling that they cared, but no that much, that it was quiet, but not that much.. for the price which is high.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank THISSE-BOEDEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I hope this email reaches you well and you had a safe and pleasant return flight home. Our team here at Villa Italia Hotel always strives to meet guest expectations and I’m very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay here at Villa Italia Hotel. We tried hard to ensure both you and your husband enjoyed you his birthday and provided a complementary bottle of wine to celebrate the special occasion.

Due to the nature of our hotel size coupled with the busy events here in Miami beach (Miami Boat show and South Beach Food & Wine show); our hotel was fully committed. We apologize the building next door experienced electrical issues and hence their respective generator kept resetting causing additional noise. Once we physically had a room available we were able to move you to another room to better accommodate you and handled the entire moving process ourselves. Unfortunately the noise from the electrical problems was out of our control and we had no additional rooms available.

We will note your guest profile that you preferred the latter room during your stay and ensure the next time you plan to visit the world famous Miami Beach that we have you only staying in that respective room. We hope to see you soon.

We invite you to visit our website to take advantage of our many promotions available throughout the year.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Blanc Kara
#26 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Impala Hotel
#16 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
City Center
Vintro Hotel South Beach
Vintro Hotel South Beach
#14 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
La Flora
#19 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Italia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach's brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing