We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location was great! The desk clerk was extremely helpful. Valet service very convenient. Nice room - lot's of space and very clean. (Wi-Fi left something to be desired.) Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    103
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
150
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a really nice small hotel in a good location for Miami Beach. It's just 2 blocks walk to the excellent beach and then a gentle stroll down Ocean Drive to the Art Deco hotels on the front. The room we stayed in (Room 201) was a very good size with a very large bathroom and every convenience you could possibly wish for. I find it difficult not to praise the bedrooms but come up with a query when it comes to breakfast. We were possibly unfortunate in that it was raining in Miami when we stayed at the hotel. Breakfast consists of a selection of cold pastries and cereals or microwaved waffles which are displayed in the central office. Unfortunately, this office is not large enough to eat in and the only eating place is on the outside patio under the umbrellas. This would be great if the sun is shining but is not so pleasant in the rain. Just hope for sunshine, after all, thats why you went to Miami isn't it?

Room Tip: Room 201 is a large room with a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a long day of traveling I was exhausted and just wanted to get into bed. The staff member(s) at the hotel (specifically Michael) greeted us was extremely accommodating and offered to build out an entire itinerary for myself and friends for our stay. The rooms were really clean and gave me an unlimited amount of towels (!!). The hotel is within walking distance from the beach and surrounding stores. Aside from the rain and spotty weather, the hotel was everything that I expected and wanted in a boutique hotel. When you are on vacay the last thing you want to worry about is where you are staying. I highly recommend Villa Italia - quaint, quiet, clean and safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave guest feedback as this is an important tool to let other travelers know about your respective guest stay.

These reviews are unfiltered and genuine and provide prospective travelers a realistic experience.

I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay and I went ahead and forwarded your respective guest stay and to both Michael and his supervisor.

We hope to see you soon at Villa Italia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Friendly helpful staff, very clean nice room, excellent location. We were also very happy with the beach towel/chair service. We liked the breakfast and especially the espresso!
We stayed in a ground floor room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel did not give me the feeling, I was very welcome. The room was clean, the bathroom very very small (I had no place where to put my toothbrush), the cleaning staff was nice but the staff at the reception was completly uninterested. We stayed in more than 10 hotels during our trip in florida and this is the only one who asked us to sigh for borrowing and bringing back the beach towels. I simply did not feel welcome. The breakfast might be complementary but it is of a very poor quality, all packed food and old fruits. If you need ice you have to go to the reception. Moreover it happened that their valet parking stole an item from our car (the item was not expensive, just 20 $, but we needed it...) and they were completly uninterested in refunding us or let the valet parking refund us, or whatever. They just offered us a two more parking days for free....sure, I'll give you my car again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time for leaving a guest review.

Firstly I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your guest experience at Villa Italia Hotel. I reviewed the guest notes and sorry the item went missing during your stay. It appears you reported a phone accessory suction cup to stick to the dashboard while driving. The manager offered to purchase the item for you and also offered to pay for valet parking (total savings of over $75) but you mentioned that the item was immaterial since the item is only sold abroad and the value was insignificant but was more of a convenience.

Additionally I'm sorry you were inconvenienced during the daily rental of beach towels / beach chairs. As a hotel property it is important to account for all items to ensure adequate supply to accommodate all guests.

Finally the breakfast is only a continental breakfast offering guests a quick start to their active days. We include hot coffee, latte, cappuccinos and other beverages along with fresh bagels and pastries. Additionally we offer guests yogurt, cereal, orange juice & milk.
We also offer guests beverages and packaged snacks throughout the day for your enjoyment

We hope you will give our new team in the new year an opportunity to change your mind about Villa Italia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Ideal for a short stay in Miami. The hotel employees are very friendly. Excellent location if you want to visit South Beach. Only 5 minutes (on foot) from the beach, and 15 minutes with a cab to the airport. Why pay more for other hotels? The neighbourhood is very quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way back north from a trip to South America. The location is great if you want to be in South Beach, but prefer a quieter part of the neighborhood. The hotel employees were terrific in helping us check in early after a long night on an airplane without any sleep, and they continued to be available for any needs large or small. The hotel automatically charges a $12 daily fee for beach chairs and towels, which came in very handy as the hotel is only two blocks from the beach and the weather was perfect during our stay. Our room was very big and the bed very comfortable, and we appreciated the free on-demand cable TV programming. The breakfast is fairly simple but they have a coffee machine that makes real espresso drinks and is available anytime. My only complaint is that smoking is allowed on the terrace where you eat breakfast or take-out (as we did for dinner one evening). I’m not sure if the hotel is required to provide a smoking area or not, but I prefer not to eat my meals while people are smoking nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Italia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach’s brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.