We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll come back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll come back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our second stay at the Villa Italia Hotel. Very helpful and courteous staff! The rooms are small, but clean. You reach by foot CVS (2 minutes), Walgreens (5 minutes), beach (5 minutes), restaurants (2-10 minutes), Ross/Publics (5 minutes by car).
Breakfast, beach chairs, beach towels and other accessories are covered by a small daily fee.
The hotel is not in the middle of the rowdy south beach, but in a quiet area.
Rooms have carpet, what we think is not very easy to keep clean in a beach area. The breakfast includes coffee/tea, muffins, milk, orange juice, beagles and cereals.
We'll come back again!

Room Tip: Room 105 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    103
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
150
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Veneto, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

the hotel is located in a quiet street a few steps from ocean drive, close to amenities and the beach. the room was clean and very large. all staff are really friendly and kind and willing to answer every question.
the only thing that I was not happy was the breakfast, in my opinion a bit' poor than average, but still good. I am glad we stayed at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A great place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Very close to the beach and all the action on Ocean Drive, but this is a quiet and calm hotel a short walk away on Washington Avenue, which is run by very nice and friendly people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because of the reviews, and we're very glad we did. The location is very good. Yes, it's a few blocks from the beach and a few more from what feels like the very center of South Beach, but the walk is short and pleasant. We actually liked that it wasn't in the center of all the madness and was very quiet. There is also a bus stop right in front of the hotel for a local bus that only costs $0.25 each way and goes up and down Washington Ave, how convenient! The room was large, as was the bathroom. It was also very clean! The water pressure in the shower could have been better, but that often is the case in hotels. The staff we interacted with the most were Juliana and Michael and they were both GREAT! Overall, we definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be in a central location, but not in the crazy mix of South Beach.

Room Tip: We were in room 204, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Villa Hotel has an ideal location, close but not to near to the noisy Ocean drive and at the border between SoBe and the fancy SoFi. In front of the hotel you find a bus stop for the South Local which runs along most of Washington Avenue in both directions; for 25 cents you will be able to reach Lincoln Rd in a few minutes, a better alternative to Ocean drive for eating and shopping. Buss 150 to/from the airport stops very close to the hotel, although we took taxi in both directions as we found the 33 dollar flat rate to be cheap.
It is a little hotel, calm and with very helpful young, professional and multilingual staff.
Breakfast is served outdoors and is good enough. Rooms are spacious, clean and with real good A/C. Wi-Fi are relatively fast. Beach chairs and towels are provided free of charge.
I highly recommend this hotel for all medium aged or older couples.
A plus: In the reception you can take, whenever you want, an extra cappuccino, a cake, a banana or fill your bottle with purified water.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice hotel near сру beach area. You would be surprised how close is it to the beach and Ocean drive (main 24/7 party area) being on very calm street at the same time. The parking was always available which is rare case on M.B. (thought expensive 1,75UDS/Hour or 25UDS per day).
The stuff is very helpful and you feel like home.
Rooms are new and cosy.
Recommend to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

There were positives and negatives about Villa Italia and we left with mixed feelings. The location is pretty good: a relatively quiet area that is very close to the beach and the start of Ocean Drive's restaurant strip. You can walk up to Espanola Way etc if you like a nice walk, or then take the local bus for 25 cents. Night-time was always quiet so we slept well; however, once new people moved in upstairs we could hear their walking in the room very clearly. The view from the room was to a basic street and parking garage, so nothing to admire.

The bathroom and shower were very spacious and the toiletries were nice, the selection included things like conditioner, cotton buds and shower cap, which are not standard everywhere. Cleaners were very efficient.

The hotel provides beach towels and chairs, which was handy.

My main complaints are the wifi and breakfast. The wifi is supposedly available throughout the hotel, but in our room, the reception was shaky at best and we wound up sitting on the floor by our door with our iPads in hand. Now, my main pastime on a vacation is not being online, but I do like to check emails twice a day and would prefer to do that lying in bed: this was not an option at all. We mentioned this our first day and the system was rebooted - nothing improved. I conveyed my disappointment about this upon our departure but no discount or such was offered (I did not ask for one, but still).

Breakfast is great for those who like to pile up the sugar in the morning, but I am not one of them. The selection consists mainly of super-sugary American-style cereals, waffles, and various sweet pastries. I wound up eating a bagel with cream cheese six mornings in a row. There was yoghurt but only the kind with artificial sweeteners. Oranges were available pretty much every morning, and decent bananas on a couple of mornings. On a few mornings, there were almost completely brown bananas that no one wanted, so they sat there for a few days until finally they bought fresh ones. I did ask on two mornings if they had any fresh bananas, so it's not that there weren't any hints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
An apology is surely in order that your complementary items fell short of expectations and caused a negative stay while vacationing at our resort.

Firstly we offer both Wi-Fi availability throughout the property and wired-internet in every guest room to be proactive and ensure there are no disruptions of service as we understand the importance of connectivity especially for our many business travelers. The city of Miami Beach also recently rolled out a new program and it too now provides FREE Wi-Fi.

I’m sorry the issue wasn’t addressed during your stay since we could have responded with more urgency. Our records indicate that a night-time manager did take the preliminary steps to increase the signal boost by resetting the modem. This uses fixes the issue 99% of the time, however if we’ve had known the issue is ongoing there are more steps we’ve could of taken to analyze and detect the disruption of service to find a swift remedy to the matter.

Secondly, the breakfast we offer is simply a continental breakfast so you can start your day by enjoying a warm pastry and a hot cup of cappuccino. We also offer latte & coffee along with fruit & snacks complementary throughout the day. The continental breakfast in in no means a replacement of some of the amazing brunch options available at some of the neighboring restaurants in this exquisite locale. Miami Beach is a mecca of amazing cuisine and fusion flavors. After all, we host the annual south Beach Food & Wine Festival (SOBEWFF) so we can showcase the many talented chefs and restaurants.

Again both items are complementary and difficult to proper value to issue a credit. The majority of vacation seekers select our hotel based on factors such as coziness, cleanliness, service and location which you confirmed were terrific as oppose to immaterial items. No hotel can guarantee secondary items that are merely out of the control of the resort such as inclement weather or specialty items. For example if the local cable company has service disruption causing sporadic cable and internet outages; the free items included in the daily room rate wouldn’t result in a refund of the entire room rate.

If you give us another opportunity, we would love for you to join us again in the future so you may finally enjoy our complementary Wi-Fi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Italia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach’s brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.