We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great quiet location in SoFi. Very good room and bed. Excellent shower . All facilities worked fine . Amazing value for South Beach. Local resort bus (25 cents flat rate) stops outside hotel, but taxis still good value ( whilst everything else in Miami has been cranked up in price ) . Wifi and breakfast included in cheap daily resort charge. Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    108
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
159
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Very good, but really very very bad breakfast! I were there with my two children (12&14). Would go there again, they also have very nice and helpful guys at their reception. Beach is close and towels and beach chairs are available.
Our room was very quiet, even there was a Main Street in front the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Villa Italia before and after our Cruise vacation. Their customer service is excellent! Email questions were answered promptly and the staff at the Front Desk were very personable and helpful. We arrived back from our cruise early in the day and our luggage was stored until our room was ready, and when we returned for the day, our bags were in the room, the bed turned down and a chocolate was on the pillow, very nice touch.They also arranged for a rental car for us and looked after the return the next morning. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location is excellent, but quiet. The beach is straight up the street,and shopping is close by. Each recommendation for a restaurant was spot on. You wouldn't even know that this property is a hotel, it blends in with the neighborhood. The wifi works better on the top floor and there is some noise from foot steps in the upper rooms, but nothing that disturbed our sleep. We will book Villa Italia again!

Room Tip: the upper floor has better wifi and is a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Villa Italia is small but new and excellent hotel on great location. This was my 4th trip to Miami Beach and I had both good and (very) bad experiences, and have selected this hotel based on very good reviews found on few web sites, which I have now confirmed to be truthful.
I liked the fact that rooms were newly appointed, very comfortable, impeccably clean, with good quality bed linens and towels, bath robes were also available. I prefer walk in shower over bath tub, another plus. Free wi-fi (very decent speed), continental breakfast. Beach towels and chairs were also offered, although we didn't use it. Excellent value. I would book it again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I chose this place based on the good reviews and was not disappointed.

Firstly getting there is easy, I took the 150 bus from the airport for $2.35 and it stops by 5th which is a very short walk from the hotel (tip: the buses don't give change).

The hotel is not much to look at really, you enter via a gate leading onto the front courtyard with half a dozen tables where you have breakfast.

Reception is a small office on the right and breakfast is laid out here in the morning to help yourself to. Breakfast consisted of bagels, pastries and the like and there is also coffee and juice ect. Not a huge range but just nice to get you started in the morning (plus loads of places nearby do a great brunch).

Reception staff are excellent.

Some people mentioned noise which I was a little worried about but there was no need. I'm a light sleeper and the only thing I heard was a bit of a hum from the fridge.

The room was larger than expected, there were two good sized comfortable beds, one of which we used one as an extra table.

The bathroom was nice with a decent shower, nice little toiletries (these little touches make the difference).

Only improvements that could be made, and these are really minor:

- slightly more choice at breakfast, as a non bagel eater it was a little limited
- no radio or radio channels on the tv, it's nice to have a little music

If you need an affordable place to stay in South Beach, this place is really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The front desk staff at Villa Italia were great - welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and really comfortable with a mini fridge. Breakfast was basic but good to start your day off well, and eating on the terrace would have been nice if it hadn't rained! Location was good, quite close to beach but no traffic noise and right by a bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Villa Italia Hotel. The hotel is small, has only 10 rooms or so. We had room number 203 in the first floor. The room was big with 2 windows, very clean, and offered everything we needed for our stay (hairdryer, slippers, in-room-safe,...). It was also quiet. New and spacious bathroom. The only thing I didn't like was the carpet in the room (I prefer wooden floors). The location of the hotel is great: There is bus-stop in front of the house (goes to the airport), 5 minutes walking to the beach (the hotel offers beach chairs and towels), 5 minutes to the Ocean Drive. We can recommend a very nice Italian restaurant nearby: Fratelli La Bufala, they offer a wide range of very good pizza! The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast: coffee or tea, fruit, yogurt, muffins, very godd bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, orange juice.
The parking is expensive: $ 25,- for 24 hours, but public parking is also expensive ($ 1,75 for 1 hour, from 9am to 3 am). The staff was friendly, but a little bit reserved for my understanding. All in all, I can recommend this place for a stay in South Miami Beach: close to beach and restaurants, quiet and reasonably priced for this area!

Room Tip: choose a room in the first floor (we had 203, it was spacy and quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Italia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach’s brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.