We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 4 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Villa Italia is small but new and excellent hotel on great location. This was my 4th trip to Miami Beach and I had both good and (very) bad experiences, and have selected this hotel based on very good reviews found on few web sites, which I have now confirmed to be truthful.
I liked the fact that rooms were newly appointed, very comfortable, impeccably clean, with good quality bed linens and towels, bath robes were also available. I prefer walk in shower over bath tub, another plus. Free wi-fi (very decent speed), continental breakfast. Beach towels and chairs were also offered, although we didn't use it. Excellent value. I would book it again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    90
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
143
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I chose this place based on the good reviews and was not disappointed.

Firstly getting there is easy, I took the 150 bus from the airport for $2.35 and it stops by 5th which is a very short walk from the hotel (tip: the buses don't give change).

The hotel is not much to look at really, you enter via a gate leading onto the front courtyard with half a dozen tables where you have breakfast.

Reception is a small office on the right and breakfast is laid out here in the morning to help yourself to. Breakfast consisted of bagels, pastries and the like and there is also coffee and juice ect. Not a huge range but just nice to get you started in the morning (plus loads of places nearby do a great brunch).

Reception staff are excellent.

Some people mentioned noise which I was a little worried about but there was no need. I'm a light sleeper and the only thing I heard was a bit of a hum from the fridge.

The room was larger than expected, there were two good sized comfortable beds, one of which we used one as an extra table.

The bathroom was nice with a decent shower, nice little toiletries (these little touches make the difference).

Only improvements that could be made, and these are really minor:

- slightly more choice at breakfast, as a non bagel eater it was a little limited
- no radio or radio channels on the tv, it's nice to have a little music

If you need an affordable place to stay in South Beach, this place is really good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The front desk staff at Villa Italia were great - welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was a good size and really comfortable with a mini fridge. Breakfast was basic but good to start your day off well, and eating on the terrace would have been nice if it hadn't rained! Location was good, quite close to beach but no traffic noise and right by a bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Villa Italia Hotel. The hotel is small, has only 10 rooms or so. We had room number 203 in the first floor. The room was big with 2 windows, very clean, and offered everything we needed for our stay (hairdryer, slippers, in-room-safe,...). It was also quiet. New and spacious bathroom. The only thing I didn't like was the carpet in the room (I prefer wooden floors). The location of the hotel is great: There is bus-stop in front of the house (goes to the airport), 5 minutes walking to the beach (the hotel offers beach chairs and towels), 5 minutes to the Ocean Drive. We can recommend a very nice Italian restaurant nearby: Fratelli La Bufala, they offer a wide range of very good pizza! The hotel also offers complimentary breakfast: coffee or tea, fruit, yogurt, muffins, very godd bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, orange juice.
The parking is expensive: $ 25,- for 24 hours, but public parking is also expensive ($ 1,75 for 1 hour, from 9am to 3 am). The staff was friendly, but a little bit reserved for my understanding. All in all, I can recommend this place for a stay in South Miami Beach: close to beach and restaurants, quiet and reasonably priced for this area!

Room Tip: choose a room in the first floor (we had 203, it was spacy and quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location away from traffic and noise, but still close to everything on South Beach. Friendly, serviceminded staff and the rooms are spacious, clean and modern - central AC, big screen TV with free movies and free wi-fi.
No pool, but two blocks from the beach and the hotel provides beach chairs and towels free of charge. This was our second stay and this hotel will always be our choice in South Beach!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It's a good place for those who prefer to stay in small comfortable hotels in a quiet street, but close to the beach, to restaurants and shops. One problem is too loud clothing room's doors (you can hear when your neighbors come back or go out).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostburg, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Villa Italia has 12 rooms in two buildings plus an additional villa. Our room #205 was light and airy, with large windows on two sides, but also oddly configured. There was plenty of room for an exercise mat at one end, but the desk unit on another wall was so close to the foot of the bed that we couldn't fully open the refrigerator door. A Continental breakfast is included and served on an enclosed patio at the front of the hotel. The clientele is international and the staff helpful with suggestions and reservations. A few relatively minor imperfections, however: The drapery rod on one window was only partly functional but remained un-repaired during our stay. A card in the room asks guests to hang towels that they wish to re-use, but housekeeping changed them every day anyway. The keyless entry system is a little tricky, and the front desk is unable to make change for the 25-cent-per-ride, exact-change-only local bus which stops at the front door and which they recommend. The approximately $200 per night rate for this neighborhood is a bargain, but be prepared for an additional $8.95 per night resort fee (even if you don't use the beach towels and chairs provided), $25 per night valet parking (parking is extremely expensive everywhere in South Beach), and 13% in city, county, and state taxes. That said, the Villa Italia is welcome escape from the crowds and noise of other South Beach venues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Italia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach’s brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list