We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but beware hidden charges and odd pre-auth rules.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Italia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OK but beware hidden charges and odd pre-auth rules.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is ok, but having just come from a Hilton a step or two down!
What annoyed me was that the lodging had been paid up front, but the pre-authorisation was still $400? I only had to pay the $25 per day for valet parking (the going rate around here) and the $8+ per day hotel tax!!! For 3 nights about $100 in total. The tax was for hotel amenities whether you used them or not!
The receptionist said the $400 would be debited from my account on checkout and repaid back 3 days later?? I am paying cash on checkout? Doing this will incur double transaction charges - not that she cared! All a bit odd and just hoping that the money will arrive back in the account - I stay in lots of hotels around the world and pre-auth doesn't normally work that way. Can't checkout and go somewhere else as they will charge $100 on top of non-refundable payment already made. Rant over.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgera, Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay.

Let me take a moment to clarify any confusion. There are NO hidden Fees. Hotel policy requires a major credit card to ensure your vacation stay even if you choose to pay with cash at check-out. We ensure that there are sufficient funds on the respective credit card to cover your total room cost (for express check-out) and possible incidental charges through your date of check-out. THIS IS NOT A HIDDEN CHARGE!

Upon Check-Out the difference is immediately released back to your respective bank / credit card. At check-in we specifically disclose this fact like many hotels do to all guests so there are no surprises. As a matter of fact if you use a credit card; and log-on to your credit card during your stay it is listed as a pending charge and it will never make it to the final monthly credit card bill. Additionally if you use a bank debit card the funds will not be released for 72 business hours from the date of check-out at the discretion of YOUR financial institution.

The Hotel fee is an advertised fee listed on the website that you acknowledge before finalizing your reservation that describes in detail what it encompasses; so there are no surprises. It provides you with many services such as daily continental breakfast, daily snacks & coffee throughout the day, daily newspapers, daily beach towels & beach chairs, unlimited local calls & toll free dialing, wired & Wi-Fi internet throughout the property, on-demand premium movie channels and boarding pass printing.

Guests can modify & cancel their existing reservations without any penalty as long as do so within 48-hours prior to arrival. Once within the cancellation / modification period a cancellation or modification fee is applicable. This is industry standard in hospitality so the hotel can properly forecast our reservations & availability.

I hope this was able to provide some clarity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    108
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
159
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I found this little jewel by accident, when my first hotel in Miami Beach proved to be insanely noisy. Villa Italia was a lovely little spot, close to the beach, with wonderful staff that truly cared about what I was doing. The room was very clean and well maintained. My friends stayed 3 blocks away at the Marriott, and they were shocked to find that I could have free breakfast, free wifi, and even free beach chairs! If I ever go back to Miami Beach, I will stay at Villa Italia again.
By the way, I was in the handicapped room, although I am not handicapped, as it was the last room they had. I think it was very well put together and accessible. All around comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3nights. Villa Italia is a sort of b&b in the south of Miami Beach. it is well located and can be easily reached by bus 150 from the airport.it is very close to the beach,to restaurants and to bus stops.The room is nice,clean and comfortable. The breakfast is free but quite poor.They could improve it.It is also quite expensive,but all hotels in Miami Beach are expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at villa italia for our honeymoon and had a great time staying at the hotel. First of all micheal, the receptionist, was very helpful and gave us a map of all the best resturant in yown and places to go. He always went the ezlxtra mile ti ensure our stay was as pleasent and enjoyable as possible. We love this hotel and will sure go back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location on the south end of South Beach.  It is one block off a major road - far enough where noise wasn't a factor but close enough for easy access to shopping, restaurants and beach.  Staff was friendly and helpful, room was spotless and good sized.  There were lots of little extras that made the stay quite nice (free wifi, coffee/tea in the lobby, goodies in the room - most for a very reasonable extra cost).  We had room 101, and my only complaint is that it is adjacent to the entrance hallway door which would slam when people came and went. Not terribly loud, but loud enough where I would likely ask for a different room next time.  

We stayed one night pre-cruise, And it was a thrill to walk down to the park adjacent to the channel and watch the ships come and go.  Big Pink is a great diner just a couple blocks (easy walking distance) from the hotel.  We would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 due to its exposure and proximity to the entrance door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really liked staying in Villa Italia. The employees was very polite and helpful with us and the room was cleaned and spacious. The location of the hotel is excellent, near to Collins Avenue and just 2 blocks from the beach. Rooms was very quiet and comfy, I really enjoyed my days there.
Definitely I would stay there one more time if I go to Miami beach again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had 3 rooms for each of our children and they all were very positive about their experience. The rooms are spacious, the staff was very accomodating and the location is excellent. The courtyard is a great additonal feature. And finally, the cost was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Address: 354 Washington Avenue, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Italia Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach’s brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Italia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.