We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change of strategy required - SBH needs to refocus on it's residents” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Soho Beach House to your Saves list
Soho Beach House
4385 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A change of strategy required - SBH needs to refocus on it's residents”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Soho Beach House is a little unusual because it is also a club house with members. This should certainly not matter but I felt that they prioritised members over residents, which is surprising considering the cost. The hotel itself is lovely but you could very easily get very annoyed with this strategy. Couple of examples - could not get beach chairs as all taken with members, could not get a dinner table in Cecconi's on a Monday night because its 1/2 price for members (so we had to eat out) and breakfast on a Sunday morning was a nightmare - again could not get a table because of all the brunches booked by members. Residents paying top dollar to stay here were squeezed onto tiny tables in the reception area - just awful.
There are potentially other little things which will really annoy you too; make sure you stay on a high floor to get a ocean view and escape the restaurant noise. The rooms had Nespresso machines (great) but only cheap generic coffee pods so I had to get a taxi to the Nespresso store to buy the correct pods. The library has very few books, so make sure you bring your own.
On the plus side, the rooms are comfortable and stylish but when you are paying over $5,000 for a few nights stay you do not expect to be constantly disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    37
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
104
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been staying at Soho Beach House since it opened years ago. And I have to say that it has improved as of late. The rooms have been touched up (or so it looks), the staff is friendlier (especially by the pool - reception area has its up and downs), and the food way better, especially with the addition of a new Greek menu which is brilliant.

Anyway, still a great place to stay. Even during the hip hop festival in south beach, the house was a heaven of peace and quiet.

Will stay there again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We hade three wonderful and relaxing days... Inhouse restaurants and bars provide great food, service and nice atmosphere... Also there is a privat beach available with all the needs you desire (food, drinks and general attention) We hope to be back soon again...

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are going to go for the $500 rooms... Don't stay here...we made the mistake of choosing a bayside room (which is hospital green depressing and has a view of the entrance, which is the equivalent of a parking lot). The pool is small and the beach is Claustrophobically crowded with chairs...not relaxing at all. Better just go south of fifth with a towel...or stay somewhere down there. The service at the front desk is meh. (Expect to be hassled about you being a member and to wait for even the most minor of requests, such as, it is 4 pm, would it be possible to send someone to clean my room?). The pool guys are great and cecconis is a must visit. I would recommend going for a beach view...as it being Miami and a planned relaxed vacation for most of us, you will spend more time in you room than you think. It is true that the lights don't work and the engineer will have to pay you a visit. On the yoga classes...the teacher I had is very unyoga like judgmental...I wish you a different teacher or go to the standard, which has great teachers.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a bayside room! The view is terrible and hardly can be called bayside...mor elite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed from a Friday to a Wednesday and had a great experience. Everything was great, from the food to the service. I especially loved being on the beach and the service from the team there. The breakfast options are super delicious in the morning if you get there before 11am. I love that you get your own personal cooler with coconut water, Evians and oranges to snack on. We went running on the boardwalk all the way down to south beach multiple times and I can't say enough how perfect everything was. The Cinco de Mayo party was fun I just wished the Mariachis would have been there as originally stated but oh, well, still had a great time. Thank you to everyone at Soho House for an extra special trip to ring in 30 right.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Staff..Rooms , tastefully done and High ceilings.....surrounded by Palm trees...blue sky and a wonderful boardwalk along the ocean/city......priceless...oh yes...the club is fun!!!
Great location...June is a great time to go...off season...great rates

Room Tip: tip the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Will and Eric are amazing!!! The property is beautiful. If you have the chance stay here. Great find and awesome parties. I will say the only thing that ruined my soho experience was Christina. Christina was very ruined. I think she thought she was the guest and I was the employee. Anyway I had such a great time. Avoid Christina and you will love it!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Soho Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Beach House

Address: 4385 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soho Beach House is a private members club, hotel and spa located on the historic site of the Sovereign Hotel.The site has been entirely redesigned and expanded to include a 16-story oceanfront tower. Overlooking the ocean, the house includes 50 bedrooms, a private beach, an expansive Cowshed Spa spa and gym. There are two pools, indoor and outdoor dining, secluded gardens, a screening room and our signature restaurant Cecconi’s open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soho Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Beach House Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.