We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the main advantage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location is the main advantage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

As most other reviews have said, a big selling point for Tradewinds Apartment Hotel is its location. It's very well placed for easy walking access to Ocean Drive, Collins Ave and South Beach itself.

On the down-side, my wife and I found our ground floor apartment to be a little 'tired' and worn in terms of the fittings and furnishings. As others have noted, the A/C was a bit noisy and the floor was dirty when we arrived. However, I'm pleased to say we didn't see any cockroaches !

The kitchen is a good size with all the necessary appliances and utensils, but there were no cooking knives.

The front desk staff varied in their professionalism. Some were very efficient and helpful, others less so.

The free airport shuttle is a definite bonus, but make sure you're at the right place and the right time at the airport, or you'll miss it ! There is also Happy Hour access to other hotels in the South Beach Group.

If you're looking for reasonably priced accommodation in this part of Miami, then you should certainly consider this facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SageAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We value all of our guests feedback! We are in a great location here on South Beach. I am sorry that you found the apartment to be worn down. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of this, along with the rest of your comments. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

First time in Miami FL but because of this apartment hotel unforgettable. Little paradise in the middle of busy streets of South Beach Miami. Rooms clean, smell good, big - wow. Gardens - wow. People - stuff - wow. Service - wow but breakfast missing :( I would like to have breakfast in those beautiful peaceful gardens or by the pool. Location - wow. U can simply walk around ,in about 20mins of walking u can get to Lincoln rd mall, to the beach just about 5mins. We walked everywhere - shopping, swimming, restaurants.. etc. We also rented bikes - fantastic. And the hotel did NOT charge us any extra fees or so called resort fee. We paid the exact money given on booking.com. that's it.
Last recommendation - go for this hotel. But not with a car - parking expensive. Enjoy your stay. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elly111985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello there elly111985,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are definitely a bit further away from all the South Beach craziness! Still close enough when you want to be apart of it. It seems like you were able to enjoy everything that we have to offer here at Tradewinds! We hope to see you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaan, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel for tours in Miami and Florida. Not too big, great rooms. Modern furnished, good facilities in the kitchen. Clearing service is ok. To the centre of Miami Beach it's a short distance walk .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebug555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good Afternoon lovebug555,

Thank you for your recent visit to Tradewinds and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My daughter and I booked through Priceline ($70) for 5 nights, June 19-24. Since this was a graduate school graduation gift to my daughter I called reservations a couple of days before and requested an upgrade. I was pleasantly surprised that we were upgraded twice to a one bedroom apt. with 2 queen beds! (And yes, that $15 per night resort fee sucks, but I knew about it in advance.)The apt was huge, big closets, kitchen basics, plenty of towels and spotlessly cleaned every day. There's not enough kitchen stuff to cook complex meals, but I wasn't gonna do that anyway.
The front desk staff, Ricardo and Juan, were particularly pleasant and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the area and told us where to go for the free happy hours at some of their sister hotels. The well-maintained grounds are charming. We didn't use the pool, but it looked fine. Had lounges and towels were provided.
The location was great. Easy walk to the beach and all over SoBe. Since my husband and I want to move down there, we needed a car to scout out the area. But you really don't need one. Public transportation and taxis are readily available.
Our only problem was with their bike loans. Be very aware (cuz we had no clue or warning by the hotel) that bike theft is a daily occurrence on the beach!!! The bike lock (provided by the hotel) was cut and the bike stolen within 15 minutes after having been locked and parked by the beach in front of the W Hotel. Paola, the asst. manager, very politely said we'd still have to pay $125 because no bike lock works anyway. My daughter was very upset and wouldn't have taken the bike if she had been told how easily and often bikes are stolen. A security guard at the W tried to help her and told her don't even bother filling out a police report. Yes, she signed the hotel agreement that stated (in fine print) if the bike was lost or stolen we'd be charged. However, if your locks don't work, say so!!!
When we got home my husband, however, is very suspicious of this being a scam run by the hotel. I hope not because, other than that, we had a great time and I was even thinking of staying for a few months while looking for an apartment. And Ricardo, Juan and Paola seemed very empathetic about the stolen bike, but still charged us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukes225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello dukes225,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! We offer unbeatable prices, to be in a great location. Our $15 resort fee covers all the amenities that our guests love to enjoy- R/T shuttle from MIA, cocktail hour at our sister hotels nightly from 7-8PM, WiFi, etc. All of our staff work hard to make sure that everyone is having a splendid time with us! Bikes do get stolen on Miami Beach is you just leave the bike and walk away from it. We never scam our guests. We have to pay for replacements for the items that go missing. We do offer a complimentary electric shuttle service to our sister hotels that you can use, instead of the bikes.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I first arrived and fell in love with the landscaping! Nice gardens with courtyards, perfect for morning coffee. The apartment is lovely. Very clean and spacious. Staff was great! I probably drove them crazy with all my questions, but they were so patient and extremely helpful. I stayed here for 2 wks and enjoyed every minute of it. I felt like I was at home. Apartment had a full kitchen, separate living room and bedroom. And best of all, 2 flat screen tv's! Beach was about 2 blocks away. Only one negative, but this is a problem all over the beach - PARKING! If you're just staying on the beach, DO NOT RENT A CAR. There is no free parking. Learned that the hard way. Small parking lot for hotel, but it's small and $20 per day. I left my car in the lot and just rented a bike whenever I needed it. Got lucky! There were lines for the bikes every morning.What can you expect? They have free rentals! Be at the front desk early, first come first serve. There is a grocery store a few blocks away, stocked up my refrigerator. Helped having a full kitchen. Made breakfast every morning. Tradewinds will definitely be my go to place whenever I'm in Miami again. The value and the wonderful staff here are unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello Stacy S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Tradewinds. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay! Parking on South Beach has always been a hassle. We offer limited parking spaces, and works as a first come first serve. Not bringing a car is your best bet. Everything you want to be apart of is just a cab ride away. Miami Beach also has bikes you can rent for cheap. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Located in quiet area of Miami Beach. Room was big and clean with kitchen area good for long stays. Collins Rd and Lincoln Rd close by. Only hassle is parking. You have to pay $20 per day on top of the $15 per day resort fee. Free wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Min_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello there Min_FL,

Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are located a bit further north of all the action. A cab ride would take a few minutes, and only cost a few bucks. We only charge a $15 resort fee that covers all of the amenities that we include. We hope to see you again when coming to Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our whole stay at the Tradewinds Apartment Hotel from check in to departure was fantastic. All the staff was really friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and extremely spacious. The pool, outside seating area and various courtyards were very pleasant and it was great to have bikes on site (Free rentals). We will be back, and next time we will stay longer. From the moment we walked in we were greeted by an extremely friendly staff. Although, they were very busy I felt like they were very attentive to my needs and wants.

The staff is dedicated to providing great service and makes you feel like family. We plan to return and highly recommend this suite hotel when you visit SOBE. Publix is located less than a mile down the road.

Moreover, at the Tradewinds Apartment Hotel building; you will be notice pretty good interior finishes. A FULL kitchen with black peral granite tops, an under mount sink, dark wood cabinets, stainless steel appliances (Full Stove, refrigerator and microwave) and track lighting. Full bathroom include decent fixtures. (Bathroom is rather small, but not an issue because of the overall size of the room makes that a none issue.Central air conditioning throughout and basic porcelain tile flooring. Once outside this apartment, it is a 4 minute walk to the beautiful famous beaches of SOBE. Oh yeah, Wi-Fi is also included and parking is $20 a night in an adjunct uncovered parking lot. However, free parking is available in the front of the hotel but very limited. Please do not park in the restricted areas (You will get towed for a price of $170). Last but not least an EXCELLENT VALUE!!! Free airport shuttle too. The list goes on and on..

Special thanks to Joan and Jennifer they were exceptional and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westgordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello there westgordan,

Thank you for your recent visit to Tradewinds and for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, thanks in part to the excellent service you received from our team. They are all rock stars and they are dedicated to providing an original guest experience in a friendly, attentive and gracious manner. We are located a bit more north of all the action, but close enough when you want to be apart of it. We offer great money saving amenities, to all of the guests that stay with us! We look forward in having you stay with us again in the future.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,517 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing