We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place, Great Location and Amazing Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tradewinds Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“An Amazing Place, Great Location and Amazing Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Coming to Miami and staying at this place was definitely the best choice I made. From the beginning it was clear the staff were friendly and here to help. The staff, specifically Susan & Paola, were VERY helpful, explained things VERY well when needed and found information for us when we could not. The facilities are amazing, a pool, free bike rental, as well as a free shuttle to and from the airport. As well centrally located close to shopping, the beach(a hop and skip away), as well as restaurants and even some attractions!
You cannot go wrong booking your stay with Tradewinds as you can be guaranteed great service from friendly staff who are here to help you! Overall, 10/10 for every aspect of this trip!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Evening SamCanada1,

There is absolutely nothing that we love more then to see a positive review with 5 stars!!!! :) I am glad that you stayed with us and feel that it was the best choice, I feel that way too! :) Our staff is on top of everything and wants to make sure that every guest is enjoying themselves and having a good time with us. I will definitely make sure to inform all the mentioned staff about your kind praise! We do offer great amenities when you choose to stay with us such at the R/T shuttle, complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM at Riviera or Catalina- just to name a few. We are just a hop and a skip away from the main strip and all the action, yet far enough when you want your peace and quiet. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    208
    65
    27
    34
See reviews for
126
200
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel from Hotwire. The rooms are spacious and contemporary. My complaint last year was that we were left with no towels after housekeeping came in and a funny smelling room. This year, the room smells fine, but again towels were an issue. They replaced bath towels but from the way they were hanging (thrown over the rack and crooked) didnt inspire much confidence thet they werent the same towels we had previously used and just taken off the floor and rehung. The hand towels or washcloths weren't replaced so good luck washing your face. Also coffee pot didn't work and no hotel coffee was provided.

These things obviously annoyed me but the real thing that inspired this post was waking up to a HUGE COCKROACH that ran like the wind. Nothing is worse than waking up and sleepily heading to the bathroom only to experience an unpleasant adrenaline rush and be left with the heebie jeebies....not to mention the fear of not knowing if you can safely go through your suitcase or if some critter managed to take cover in your bag.

We have 2 nights left here since we prepaid thru Hotwire...I'm scared to go back.....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Evening 31Cass,

Thank you so much for the time you took in providing us with your honest feedback! I am glad to read that you are loyal and returning guests. I will definitely make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping your comment regarding the towels, and moving forward that this doesn't happen again. Were you able to inform us about the coffee pot not working? We would have definitely provided you with one that was working. We don't provide the rooms with coffee, since we are more of an apartment hotel that is something that the guest would bring themselves. I am extremely sorry to read about the critter that you experienced in your room. I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of this, so that she can find a solution so that this doesn't happen again. We do advise guests to leave their windows closed and their doors as well, as this is the only way for these guys to get in. We would hope that you would give us another chance in the future, considering that we are going to eliminate this issue and make sure that it doesn't occur again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pro's:
- We got a free upgrade upon arrival from a Studio to a 1 Bedroom appartment.
- The staff at the front desk was nice (we only talked with them during checking in and out). They told us up front about a possible fee + that they would charge us 100 dollars on our card as a deposit. This we would get back after checking out if all was okay.
- The room was big and spacious.
- Daily cleaning was fine.

Con's:
- The pool area is quite small the number of rooms taken into consideration. There aren't that many deck chairs.
- We had cockroaches in the kitchen...

Stuff that would have been nice:
- Better explanation about amenities on website. We brought towells, but that wasn't needed. We didn't bring a dishcloth, but that was needed.
- A pool bar where you could buy snacks or something to drink.
- A sitting area connected to the appartment. There are areas next to the road, where you can sit and enjoy a drink at night (unless you live in one of the studios - they have a table and chairs available in front of the appartment).

All in all we enjoyed our stay, but we wouldn't go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Lennah,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! I am very glad that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade to a 1 Bedroom Apartment. We are always willing to do that if we have rooms that are available. :) I see that you were able to experience the service of our staff first hand. They are all great and all take their jobs very serious, and want to make sure that each and every guest is enjoying themselves. I am terribly sorry that you found a cockroach in the kitchen area. I will make sure to inform the Director of Housekeeping about this. I will also inform the General Manager about the lack of explanation when checking in. We have sitting areas all around the hotel. Perhaps there is not one right in front of your apartment, but there is definitely one close enough.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights from 4th Sept - 14th Sept. I stayed here on my own and this was my first time visiting the USA. The apartments are really good and spacious (i had a 1bed apt room 702) and they were a good size. They were cleaned everyday and new towels supplied daily. Overall i can`t knock this place as the grounds were kept in tip-top condition and everything was clean. I did have 2 cockroaches scurrying across the living room floor, but thats not a deal breaker.
The apartments were well placed for the beach as this was just a short walk away.
As someones previous review mentioned, yes you can hear what everyone else is doing of a night time IE music playing, doors slamming, high heels walking across floors, ppl having sex etc etc, but this goes on in all hotels.
This place is a bit far away from the action and tbh, was quite a walk if you wanted to go and have breakfast or a meal of a night time down on the strip facing the sea. I think this place has missed out on a massive trick by not having a in-house restaurant or bar as being a single holidaymaker it would of been nice to have got to know some of the other ppl staying at the complex and a bar/restaurant would have acted as a good hub to meet other ppl staying here, also after a day at the beach it would of been nice to have come back and chilled with a few drinks after a day of frazzling in the sun, or if you fancied a quiet night without having to go in town then this would have been ideal.
The pool and lounge area is way too small per ratio/number of apartments and would get very busy quick so i use to chill on the beach everyday.
It would of been nice to have a private terrace or patio to have your first cuppa in the morning in the sun.
Also there is no changing/wash room to use/hire in the situation if your flight is late at night and you`ve checked out at midday then had to doss on the beach all day, it would of been a nice to clean up before your flight home and i would not of minded paying $5 or $10 to hire a bathroom to freshen up, instead of cramming myself in that postage box size toilet in the reception area to change.
Sorry guys but as nice and plush as these apartments are they`re just too far from the action for me and i can`t be doing with all that walking if i want to go out and have a damn good drink or some food. If this place had a bar/restaurant and bigger pool area then i`d definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 1st floor, that way you don`t get all upstairs noises bouncing through the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Good Afternoon Scott B,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest and extensive feedback! We feel honored that you chose to stay with us on your first trip to the US. I am terribly sorry to read about the critters that you found in your room. We are just a short walk away from the beach and from many other hot spots. We are a bit far from the main strip but we are indeed an apartment hotel. The majority of our guests staying with us are here long term, and make us there little home away from home. Unfortunately we don't have a restaurant or bar on site, but each of the apartments include a full kitchen with all the cooking and serving ware that you need. We appreciate your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The apartment was excellent and room service for the towels and cleaning was soo quick. The room was spacious and kitchen fully equipped. It's about 5 mins walk from the beach so you can literally roll out of bed for a dip in the beach. They offer free bike rentals day on a first come first serve basis. Free happy hour from 7-8pm at the sister hotels Riviera and Catalina. They also offer free pick up service to and from the hotel to the airport. The receptionists Joan and Ricardo and door men Carlos and Felix were absolutely fantastic an really made us feel welcome. The only slight negative is that there isn't a shower by the hotel swimming pool so you have to go to your room to rinse off. overall it was a pleasurable stay for me and I will recommend it any day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello there Yemi2013,

Thank you for your positive 5 star feedback! I see that you were very content with the apartment in general and the service that was provided to you. We do provide the kitchen with all the serving and cooking ware as well as utensils, so that you can make your favorite home cooked meals in your home away from home. :) I am glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. The airport shuttle is another amenity that we offer and saves our guests some bucks. I will definitely inform the mentioned staff about your wonderful praise! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came to Miami and decided to go with Tradewinds Apartment Hotel. The room was beautiful; tiled floors, cherry cabinets, fully equipped kitchen with kitchen utensils, pots and pans. The hotel offered bike rentals (free of charge)!! The staff were super sweet and pleasant. The only downfall to this hotel is that it is on the quieter end of where the busy part of Miami was but within walking distance. I was glad we had the bikes to tour around and see things or else the sun will wear you out! The hotel itself was very spacious. The pool was super clean, they do well with maintenance, the cleaners did a great job in tidying up. There was a free happy hour at their sister hotel "the Riviera"- and also "Catalina" once you get to Catalina, you can actually bar hop to 3 more different places, we found that out through our golf cart driver which provides transportation to and from Tradewinds to the happy hour hotels (happy hour is from 6-8pm). Overall it was a pleasant stay. Although the next time around we would probably try to get closer to Lincoln rd to be near the busier part so we wouldn't have to haul so far to get there.

Room Tip: room away from pool would be better its less quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello there rs_929,

Thank you for your honest and positive feedback! I am extremely glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! Our apartments are fully equipped so that you can make your favorite home cooked meals, in your home away from home. :) Our staff is always hard at work to make sure that each and every guest is well taken care of, and enjoying their time with us! I am glad that you were able to experience that first hand. We are a bit further away from all the action, yet very close when you want to get to it. I see that you were able to take advantage of the cocktail hour at Riviera or Catalina.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excelent location, not far from the centre by foot. The fact that it is blocks of apartments is really good, because you can cook and have everything at your will. The kitchen is equipped with everything, the apartment has also hairdryer, a place to iron, and big flat screens, one on the living room and another on the bedroom. Both the living room and the bedroom have air conditioning. The reception staff is nice. The pool is good and has comfortable chairs.

It doesn't have a phone in your apartment if you want t call the reception. Since it's blocks of apartments, the reception can be really a walk if you need anything. There are some really nice pillows in the pool chairs, which make it even more comfortable... however, they should be washed more frequently... they really smell! The shower is ok, but could have more pressure. Although it is a quiet place to stay, we could hear all the noise from the rooms next door, as they were putting loud music and slamming doors...just bad luck for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Good Afternoon CM_Aberlour,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! I am glad to read that you had a great time while staying with us! Our apartments are fully equipped with a kitchen and everything you need to make your favorite home cooked meals, in your temporary home away from home. We do not have phones in the rooms are we are more of an apartment style hotel rather then a hotel. The majority of our guests that come to stay here are long term. I have already informed the General Manager about your comment regarding the pillows by the pool. She will definitely take care of that immediately. Thank you for your feedback!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.