We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best of Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very good location- Walking distance to the beach, Lincoln Rd shopping St -Espanola St (Colourful Street with lots of latin food ) - Bar and restaurants.
very clean apartments - nice shared swimming pool - Free bus shuttle to and from Miami intl Airport. Taxi to airport is $25.
Good value for money.Excellent, professional and very nice staff . Recommended.
Good bus system to Miami down town ($2) from Collins Ave (Bus S or C just check with driver).
Taxi between $20 to $25.

Room Tip: If you like direct access to the pool, choose an apartment near to it. There may be a possibility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Oz M,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful 5 star feedback! We value all of our guests feedback! I see that you were content with the location of our property! We are definitely in a great spot here on South Beach. I am also glad to read that you were content with the cleanliness of your apartment and the swimming pool. Our amenities are great and they do save our guests some money, and we know that everyone loves to save money! We hope that you come back and stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    180
    53
    23
    32
See reviews for
105
176
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived in south beach Miami with nowhere booked and came across trade winds. They can't do walk ins but Ricardo on the Front desk couldn't have been more helpful. He let us use the phone to book reservation with south beach bookings but on hold for so long he suggested we go to Starbucks to do it online and gave us a code to use. Worked perfectly and saved 70 dollars! He knew a lot about the area and also saved us from getting our car towed away as we just parked outside. (Apparently very quick to tow here if in wrong place) Rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious. Beach towels and bag provided free. Found a gem of a place and if Ricardo's Manager reads this, he deserves a bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello thebailogs,

There is nothing that we love more then 5 star feedback from our guests. I am very glad to read that you were able to get a reservation with us. Ricardo is great and all of our guests absolutely love him! He is always up to date about what's going on in the area and knows about all the hot spots. Miami Beach is known for towing cars, so known that there is a show about it. I see that you were content with the rooms and the cleanliness of them. We hope to have you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I chose this hotel due to its location. This decision was probably the best decision I have ever made. I came here with a friend so it was two of us. The staff here are brilliant!!

Ricardo - Ricardo is one of the guys at the reception. This guy is so helpful beyond words. Being new to miami, he was able to give me directions on all the best places to go anywhere not to go. Always friendly and I believe that being always friendly can be a problem for some people but he made my holiday so much better. Even when there were problems, the level of customer service that he had is something that I have not experienced yet. His customer service skills are on a whole new level. He is a real asset to the hotel.

Omar - Omaris one of the security men during the evening. This guy is so awesome! Speaking to him was like speaking to one of my friends. He was also able to provide me with information on south beach and on miami as a whole. He even went that extra mile to print me off a couple of maps giving me directions to Malls and nice restaurants. If you stay here, have a chat with him. You may need to go to the reception at 4am but believe me, it is totally worth it.

Susan, Paola, John (I believe this is the nglish name) Sally were also all brilliant.

The hotel - The location of he hotel is just perfect. Literally around the corner, there is a 24 hour Wal Greens where you can practically get anything. Also, TreeHouse is just around the corner. Susprisingly, there isn't any noise in the evenings due to people coming from nights out. There are other hotels in south beach that are right next to clubs and the noise they get is bad. In the early hours of the morning there is total silence if you like that kinda thing. Getting around south beach is really easy thanks to Ricardo and Omar. you need to visit these guys. They are proper legends. Local buses, taxi's were the main form of transport. The hotel offers a free e cart service which can take you as far as the Chesterfield Hotel. The beach is also a 4 minute walk away. How do I know? I counted it. Brilliant location!

The room that my friend and I received was the single bedroom. I got the pull out bed and he got the bedroom. Surpringsly, there was so much room!! The rooms were cleaned everyday. There was nothing to complain about. The room had a fridge, freezer, two tv, microwave and oven. Basically there was a full kitchen. It was like being at home. For a hotel to make you feel at home is truly amazing.

As for the future, this hotel is like my second home, Ricardo and Omar are truly amazing. I can't stress that enough. If you stay here, speak to them about what to do in miami.

This is somewhere where I will 100% be coming back to.

Room Tip: 702 is where the party crew was at!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

okay ...here it goes !you goes are awesome !!!!great apartment !great service !great receptionists !!! all of them are so kind !About the resort fees that some of you complained about ...well dear tourists thats your fault because you have to ask yourselves about the resort fees when you book it at your travel agency YOU have to make sure how much you have to pay .We traveled for two weeks everything was wonderful !!!the receptionists informed us about the resort fees when we checked in but we already knew that the have extra charges !so dont blame it on them you wanna visit miami is gonna cost you alot it is not any other city its miami...and next time make sure you have a good travel agent !that is oing to be honest to you ...bottom line is THANK YOU tradewinds you made our vacation magic ;) u are the best !SEE YOU NEXT YEAR for sure ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tradewinds looks like a 1950s standard apartment block that has been turned into a hotel/aparthotel facility. Ours was a superior one bed apartment w double bedroom, bathroom and large kitchen dinner/living area. It was spacious and well appointed, the staff were helpful and pool fine. Location is at the top end of what can be called South Beach, but local buses meant we could move around easily.

Beware local building works on Collins and adjacent to Tradewinds. The aparthotel is also soulless - bar a tiny reception and the pool there is no hub, i.e. coffee area, bar etc. My only other gripe would be that the public areas were not cleaned as regularly or thoroughly as I would have liked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at this apart hotel. Basic and clean apartments and towels supplied at pool, staff very helpful too. The trees shaded a lot of the apartments but this was welcomed on extremely hot days. Beware of the payment of a resort fee charged at the hotel desk. No matter what the travel agent tells you, you will be charged it regardless. I was charged $118 for one week for 2 adults.

Room Tip: If you want to get the sun on the balcony, request a room that is not surrounded by trees..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The apartment is really good, we particularly loved the kitchen which was full of every possible stuff we could need: a huge fridge, oven, and so on.
The bedroom is big too and is nice, the bathroom is on the small side but is ok.
Though it's not really in the very middle of SoBe I would say the position is good overall since you can get there with a 15min walk or you can get a bike for free at the front desk (which we didn't since you have to return them before 6pm, way too early for our needs - they should consider changing it to at least 7 or 8pm).
What disappointed us the most was the service: when we booked we asked for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport (a free service they offer), but we weren't told anything and when we tried to call the front desk (and we tried many times) no one was answering.
When we finally arrived (a $35, plus tip, taxi ride) and KINDLY explained the problem at the front desk the guy who was there was very rude and presumptuous and he seemed to care nothing about us.
Apart from that, we stayed at Tradewinds for a week and we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.