We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apartment miami beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tradewinds Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Bayshore)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“apartment miami beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tradewinds looks like a 1950s standard apartment block that has been turned into a hotel/aparthotel facility. Ours was a superior one bed apartment w double bedroom, bathroom and large kitchen dinner/living area. It was spacious and well appointed, the staff were helpful and pool fine. Location is at the top end of what can be called South Beach, but local buses meant we could move around easily.

Beware local building works on Collins and adjacent to Tradewinds. The aparthotel is also soulless - bar a tiny reception and the pool there is no hub, i.e. coffee area, bar etc. My only other gripe would be that the public areas were not cleaned as regularly or thoroughly as I would have liked.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    181
    53
    23
    33
See reviews for
108
176
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at this apart hotel. Basic and clean apartments and towels supplied at pool, staff very helpful too. The trees shaded a lot of the apartments but this was welcomed on extremely hot days. Beware of the payment of a resort fee charged at the hotel desk. No matter what the travel agent tells you, you will be charged it regardless. I was charged $118 for one week for 2 adults.

Room Tip: If you want to get the sun on the balcony, request a room that is not surrounded by trees..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The apartment is really good, we particularly loved the kitchen which was full of every possible stuff we could need: a huge fridge, oven, and so on.
The bedroom is big too and is nice, the bathroom is on the small side but is ok.
Though it's not really in the very middle of SoBe I would say the position is good overall since you can get there with a 15min walk or you can get a bike for free at the front desk (which we didn't since you have to return them before 6pm, way too early for our needs - they should consider changing it to at least 7 or 8pm).
What disappointed us the most was the service: when we booked we asked for a shuttle to pick us up at the airport (a free service they offer), but we weren't told anything and when we tried to call the front desk (and we tried many times) no one was answering.
When we finally arrived (a $35, plus tip, taxi ride) and KINDLY explained the problem at the front desk the guy who was there was very rude and presumptuous and he seemed to care nothing about us.
Apart from that, we stayed at Tradewinds for a week and we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A wonderful team, special thanks to Susan, Carlos, Wendie, Omar and the security men. The location is perfect, near the beach and Collins Street, couldn't be better! The rooms are clean, the furniture is news and modern. The price is fair. The pool is nice decorated and very inviting atmosphere. I just loved!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Ayde13,

We really appreciate you taking your time to post your wonderful feedback! I see that you were content with our team and the service that they provided you with. The location is great, a walk away from almost everything. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really enjoy our stay. the appartement is clean good looking . 5 minutes walk to the sea shore.
thanks to all the front desk people Paola, Joan, Susan for your wonderfull smile and kindness. also would like to thank Lonny(security), Carlos(luggage) and Olga (housekeeping). Feel like home with friends
Swimming pool not big but enough
free shuttle to the airport

Room Tip: rooms around the pool are the best and at the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good Afternoon ludivine d,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your 5 star feedback! I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our front desk agents are all eager to welcome you with great service, as well as the rest of our staff! I will definitely let them know of your praise! I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle that we have for our guests. Please come back and let us host your next visit to South Beach!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 days at the Tradewind Hotel in late April. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. We had a rental car with us, and the staff gave great recommendations of where and where not to park (you can easily get towed if you are not careful!). The room looked identical to the photos so no surprises there. We were actually upgraded from a studio to a 2 bedroom, which was a nice bonus. The rooms had a bit of a musky smell but nothing serious. Overall it was pretty clean, however a few times our 'clean' towels had dark hair on them. So we had to request new towels. My only major problem was that we had no wifi, and you are charged a daily fee of $15 for it. Our suite was at the very end of the building (#501) so perhaps that is why we could not connect. It was rather disappointing though, because both of us needed internet access to check work emails. One other disappointment was the fact there is a kitchen but it wasn't fully stocked. Aside from plates, cutlery and cups, we had to buy all the basic necessities (salt, pepper, oil, napkins, a cutting board, a knife, coffee filters). It would be nice if they could provide those things.The best part of this hotel is the location. It is minutes from the beach and close to Lincoln Road. They do have a shuttle service to bring you to other hotels in their company, which is a free service.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon Krista B,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback I am very glad that you were given great service by our staff! The towing companies are eager to tow cars around here. It's good that you were given the scoop of where and where not to park! :) I will definitely let the Director of Housekeeping know about the dark hair on the clean towels, and the kitchen not being fully stocked. We apologize greatly about the WiFi not working properly in your room! Can you please provide me the last name on the reservation? We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel was a last minute book.and I am extra happy I stayed here. I had reservations for another hotel named. "Hawaii Hotel" in Miami and that place is a dump. when I first got to the Tradewinds Apartment Hotel I was please with the outside and lobby. very clean place!!! The rooms and nice clean and open. the kitchen was fill with place spoons and glass cups. I really liked that. The location is nice if u want something close but not on the strip. An average cab ride was $6, not too bad.T he pool area was also very nice. The pool isn't crazy big but the set up of the tents and chairs were nice. Over all I really like this place and would defiantly go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello CNT123,

We Thank You so much for taking your time to provide your wonderful 5 star feedback! We are glad that your came to stay with us! :) We work hard to ensure that everything is neat and tidy, so that all of our guests are comfortable! The location of our property is great, as we are close enough but not on the strip. Please come back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tradewinds Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Apartment Hotel

Address: 2365 Pinetree Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Bayshore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These amazingly, fully furnished luxury accommodations offer immaculate design and the ultimate beach location. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, Tradewinds feature 160 luxuriously appointed one-bedroom and studio suites anxiously waiting to be your next home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tradewinds Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tradewinds Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.