We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
413 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
305.397.8444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 829 restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our experience, beautifully decorated. Extensive wine menu, great selection of dishes. Service was overall very good if a not a bit slow at times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    78
    17
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good experience , extremely Nice people serving us and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Now in a different address, I had a very good experience. The people serving us are absolutely nice.
I recommend as a starter Mixto Ceviche, fabulous

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow Miami Beach service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food was excellent. The service was not. WIth gratuity built in around the miami beach area servers have very little motivation to work for the customer. It took close to 15 minutes before anyone took a drink order. Once dinner was served and a desert was turned down it took another 15 minutes just to get a bill.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning Food, Stunning Setting, Stunning Service = Superb Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have to say first that I am writing this review with mixed feelings. The Dining Room, which has been my favorite neighborhood restaurant since it opened, has grown up and moved on. Now known as The Dining Room Pop-Up at Vesper, located at 1801 Collins Avenue in the recently renovated, beautiful Shelborne Hotel, it has joined the ranks of the South Beach lovelies. The difference, though, is that it’s not just another pretty face in the crowd. Though it now has that South Beach sexy vibe, this place continues to be all about the food and service.

The setting is definitely South Beach swank – low lighting, plush seating, polished surfaces, with a full bar next to the interior dining area and a wine cellar below. I do miss their signature chandelier and the family photos that made the old place feel like home. That said, the new place is a visual stunner The outside restaurant area is also beautiful, with its view of the pool area. The bonus is that it is covered, protecting it from Florida’s famous surprise rain storms. Good news for any patrons who had to run inside to escape the rain at the old place.
Now the food: The same quality that defined The Dining Room in its original incarnation has carried over to its new home. First, because of the new, expanded wine cellar, we were served our wine perfectly chilled and delicious. In addition to nibbling on the bread with truffle butter, marinated carrot pickles, we had the Cobia Ceviche and the Grilled Calamari Salad as our starters. Both were just-out-of-the-water fresh and absolutely delicious. For dinner, we had the Branzino, Heirloom Tomato Salad, and Cashew Brussel Sprouts. The chef, Cristian, knows fish and it was perfect – crispy skin and perfectly moist interior. We’ve now had, or tasted, virtually everything on the menu. Like the fish, all dishes are interesting, expertly cooked and presented, and delicious.

The service at the restaurant has always been, and continues to be, terrific. The Dining Room has a well-trained staff, friendly staff interested in ensuring patrons satisfaction. Their attentive, yet unobtrusive service makes everyone feel special and makes you want to come back soon to be pampered again.

The Dining Room, now known as The Dining Room Pop-Up at Vesper, is a real South Beach treasure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nested down in the Southern Most end of Sobe. This restaurant is a bit out of the way if your walking from the north end of south beach.. But it's only like 5 or 10 bucks for a cab there..
My Business partner and I really enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.