We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lillestrom, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for ten nights and was very happy with our choice. The hotel is close to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. It is located on a quiet part of Ocean Drive so the noise from bars, clubs etc will not bother you.
Rooms were big and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    303
    73
    27
    9
See reviews for
123
522
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Really nice Hotel with a really friendly crew !

I'd love to stay there again !

We (friends 22&23) had an awesome weekend in South Beach. We loved to stay in the hotel, it was really clean and the room was awesome ! Compared to other hotels the rooms are huge and really modern.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We selected the Edgewater Hotel based on reviews and it was the middle of the road pricing for a hotel on Ocean Drive. We had two rooms on the second floor that faced the atrium or patio and found both of them to be clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Edward gave us good suggestions of places to visit and went a step further to look up the entrance fees and the hours it would be open. We enjoyed the breakfast on the roof top terrace as well as happy hour in the evening. One of the pluses for the Edgewater is that it is not located in the rather noisy area of Ocean Drive. We highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was a little apprehensive at first due to the rate... But upon arrival I was instantly and pleasantly amazed. My husband and I couldn't believe the space of the room not to mention the service was stellar and the hotel was extremely clean. It was almost too good to be true. However, from the beginning of our stay until the end there was not one thing to complain about. The hotel rate includes complimentary breakfast as well as a complimentary happy hour on the rooftop which gave us bragging rights over our friends who stayed at a different hotel. If you happen to visit this hotel please ask for Dale... He is awesome! After posting a picture on Instagram and tagging the hotel in the picture, the general manager of the hotel sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room which was such a kind gesture. In addition, my husband and I were to leave the hotel extremely early in the morning and the front desk scheduled a cab ride for us to the airport! In all, our entire stay went exceedingly well and we would not hesitate to visit this hotel for future travel to Miami and I highly recommend staying here. The hotel is in a great location, has great service, very modern accommodations, spotless, complimentary happy hour, free wi-fi, and complimentary breakfast, what more could you ask for!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Edgewater is a nice hotel, in a great location, with an amazing staff. It's not the best hotel in South Beach, there is no pool, and there is currently no restaurant operating out of the hotel, but it is in a great location. You are right across the street from the ocean, in between the Front Porch Cafe and the News Cafe, and in strolling distance to great shopping and dining. The staff is what sets this place apart. They were by far the friendliest staff I have met in a log time. They were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was always clean. Sure, there are swankier places to stay, but the experience here was very satisfying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The price was fair and my room was very clean, spacious, and the staff were all friendly. I thought the resort fee wasn't terrible because it included wifi, breakfast, drinks during happy hour, and free rental beach chairs.

The staff also recommended good places to visit around the area that were not tourist traps. I could find something to complain about but I would feel bad given everything was beyond expectations for the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you need or want a king sized bed, forget it. The web site says the One Room Ocean View Suite "Features a private sleeping room with King Size bed", but it's a queen sized bed. If you're 6'4" and your wife sleeps curled up on her side, that matters a lot. The staff were nice, everything was clean, the room was large, the price was good, Starbucks is a block away, etc. It should have been a great vacation, but nothing can make up for not being able to get a good night's sleep.
Other details you may or may not care about:
* Valet parking is $30/night. Just something to know in advance.
* The closet is gigantic. It's seriously almost as big as the bathroom.
* The shower doesn't have a door, so water gets everywhere. That's a pain.

Also, this is another example of why you should never book a hotel through a third party web site. We booked directly through the hotel's own web site, so we were able to check out one day early and go somewhere else without paying for that extra night. As I mentioned before, awesome (and multilingual) staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Our apologies on the bedding discrepancy, this was an oversight on our end and was supposed to have been handled prior to your arrival. We are addressing some of the items you have listed during an upcoming soft renovation and hope to entice you to return once this is complete, we would definitely make it up to you.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.