We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for several days with my boyfriend. Everything was wonderful! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The proximity to the beach is unbeatable, just across the street. Continental breakfast and happy hour is included in the resort fee. Service is awesome.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Sylvia,

Happy to see that the two of you enjoyed our service and amenity offering. Thanks for choosing Edgewater and for your rating/comment. We hope to be at your service again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    266
    59
    24
    8
See reviews for
105
438
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well situated with very friendly staff.
Rooms reasonable for the price and extremely adequate and spacious.
A "hotel tax" of $18 per room per night applies locally but is well worth it since it entitles you to free breakfast, use of towels and beach chairs (limited availability) and free "happy hour" drinks and nibbles on the sun terrace which for South Beach is a bargain and a god way to art the evening.
The bar off the street though is crazy expensive so best avoided (and likely why is most times empty)

Room Tip: We had one out the back so no view but quiet so suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
MAC,

Our friendliness is a byproduct of our love for hospitality and what sets us apart from the many options in the area. Our team cares greatly about the experience we provide to all of our guests.
Thanks very much for choosing Edgewater for your stay in South Beach and for your feedback. Hope to see you again.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I were very pleased with our one-night stay at Edgewater. Can't beat the location, friendly staff and nice & quiet for being in the center of the action. The breakfast wasn't great and they ran out of a lot of items. But it was OK for being complimentary and certainly wouldn't prevent us from highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Traveler,

Apologies for the gap in our breakfast service. Our breakfast attendant does run into occasional challenges due to elevator traffic, our product is stored on the first floor. Glad to see you enjoyed your night with us regardless. Thanks for choosing us, we promise to provide a better breakfast experience next time.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in mid-May and we absolutely loved it! We got upgraded to a suite as soon as we arrived and stayed in a large, well-furnished room for our entire trip. The staff was wonderful! We were greeted each time we walked through the lobby. Chairs, towels, and refreshments were provided to us whenever we wanted to go to the beach (the hotel was also very conveniently located right across from the main path to the beach). Everybody was very kind to us during our entire stay and we would especially like to extend our gratitude to Dale, Jonathan, and Rafael, who did everything they could to make our stay wonderful! The service was the best we had ever experienced in any hotel. On top of that, we enjoyed complimentary breakfast with spectacular views from the top floor roof daily. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater Hotel and would recommend it to anyone. It is the best deal in the South Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks so much for praising our staff, Jenny. Nothing make us happier than being recognized by our guests. Good to see that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us, we work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a fantastic experience while in South Beach.
Thanks for choosing Edgewater!

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited South Beach about 5 times and always stayed at different hotels. The hotels have varied from low end to high end. My first choice has always been to stay on Ocean Ave, but many of the hotels are older with tiny rooms and very limited services. We just returned from a 5 day stay at Edgewater and I must say the service was exceptional, great location, walking distance to all Ocean Ave locales and Lincoln Rd. The room was very spacious, modern, great view and super clean. We would highly recommend it and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is great and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Joe,

Exceptional service is what we always aim for and our housekeeping team works very hard to achieve the "super clean" you mentioned. We are happy to see you will return and remain at your service.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent my 50th birthday in South Beach. This oceanfront hotel was a beautiful surprise. The staff was phenomenal and saw to every need. Michael was exceptional. Everyone was great including Dale, Talisa and an Asian gentleman whose name I failed to capture were also wonderful. My only complaint is the bathroom shower has no door so water splashes on the floor and the lighting in the room was awful. I can't put it any nicer. There is no fitness center on site and that was a negative for me as well. The rooftop breakfast was a nice touch. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It is definitely a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear David,

Thanks for choosing to spend your birthday with us, we are glad that our team made it special for you. We do have a planned soft renovation which will address quite a few items which our guests have brought up over the past couple of years, including lighting.
As we do not feature a fitness center we partnered with the local Crunch Gym which is a couple of blocks away from our hotel, the day pass is $15 at our reception.
We appreciate the time you put into leaving feedback for us and hope to be at your service in the future.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just sadly got home from a week long stay at Edgewater. We have stayed here previosuly two years ago, and decided to return, which we don't normally do, but glad we did.

A lot seems to have changed, many improvements and all the staff are new..

The hotel itself is in a great location. Right on ocean Drive but just far away to get a good nights sleep. 20 minutes from the airport by taxi, and everything from the hotel is within walking distance! The hotel is wonderfully clean.

Room - we had what looked like a suite this time, separate living and kitchen area. There is plenty of storage, nice and quiet, although our room was right next to the lift which was noisy. Didnt bother us too much though. TV has loads of channels, meaning i could watch the World Cup when my girlfriend was getting ready! Spotlessly clean also. The fridge is a great idea. We stocked it full of water from Walgreens, and took it to the beach every day.

Staff - All the staff were fantastic. Al pleasant, and couldnt do enough for you. Special call out to Dale who really made our stay, Michael and Edward for really saving the day with transport to a concert, and Talisa for all her help.

Happy Hour is another reason we returned here. Ok the drinks are paid for with the resort fee, but its nice sitting on the rooftop have a couple of 'free' drinks whilst deciding where to go for the night.

Breakfast is basic, but similar to the happy hour, its nice having something simple on the roof. Pastries, fruits, yoghurt, eggs etc. I would be twice the size if we'd also eaten breakfast out every day!

Couple of minor suggestions -

Bigger beach towels, the ones provided are fine, but we ended up renting loungers ($55/day) to save lying half in the sand

Cooler pack - one to take to the beach with ice in would be a great touch. We only thought of it on the last day, or would have bought one.

All in all a fanastic stay and would recommend this hotel every day. We will definitely return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Justin,

Thanks very much for the insightful and thorough comment you left for us. We appreciate that you returned to us! Will definitely look into larger beach towels but seems you might have missed out on our beach chairs which feature a fairly large cooler pocket which can be filled with ice.
Our team looks forward to your return.

George Vesa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.