We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey hotel on Ocean Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homey hotel on Ocean Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent 11 unforgettable nights in this hotel from the 25th Sep. till the 6th Oct. 13. Astonishingly polite personnel met us at the front desk and hardly a couple of minutes after we were escorted to our room. That was Room 500, The last from the elevator on the 5th floor, facing the roof terrace. The room had a balcony where I could smoke, which was very convenient. After the beach we would leave our bathing suits there to dry. The room itself was a little bit dark, but if you unfasten the curtains it would become light. Good for a midday nap :-) It's spacious, clean. Looks to have been renovated recently. Cosy sitting area in front of the TV. I even fell asleep a few times there on the couch. We did not watch the satellite TV much. There was an HDMI cable, so we watched on-line stuff from the lap-top. Thanks for hi-speed wireless internet. Almost forgot to say there was a bottle of champagne in the ice when we first came to the room, a very decent welcome drink, must admit! The room is also equipped with a kitchen - an electric stove, a microwave oven, a sink, a fridge. All the cutlery and the dishes provided by request for free. The bathroom is marble tiled, clean. All you need is there. The fan is in one of the drawers below the sink. I must mention, when you take shower the water splashes onto the floor and if you do not put down a towel it all will be wet. Every day from 6 to 7 PM there's a beer and wine happy hour. It's so cool to have a couple of glasses of Sauvignon or Chardonnay with pretzels or a couple of Coronas/Heinekens. The guests are friendly and it's great to chat with them over a drink. In the morning 7-10 there's continental breakfast on the terrace, which is quite scanty for a European citizen. So, we grabbed a toast and a hot drink, maybe an orange or a banana and had our pre-breakfast in our room. After that we would go to the 11th St Diner or any other place for a "2 Sunny Side Up and Home Fries, 4 stripes of Bacon" real breakfast. We never had any meal in the hotel restaurant. It seemed more expensive than anywhere else even with the 20% discount that all residents get. Therefore, I can't say whether the food is good or not. Hopefully, it's up to the mark, just like the hotel itself. There's a valet parking service at the entrance. $30 per day. I was charged $42.7 (saw this when received the card statement report), I think it's the tax or God knows what else. One can also take beach chairs and towels at the front desk. All free of charge. Finally, to sum up everything: the hotel is worth every cent we payed for it, the location is perfect, personnel is attentive and friendly, housekeeping is excellent, rooms are better than many people have at home. The morning we had to fly back home we did not wanna leave this place!!! Thanks to all the people who work in Edgewater South Beach (don't know all of them by name, except Andre and pretty sure Carlos Lopez)! You made our vacation!!! We recommend!

Room Tip: 5th floor, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sergey,

Thanks very much for the thorough review of your stay with us, we appreciate you taking the time. Our team is happy to read that you enjoyed our cozy corner of heaven and our service. The higher charge for parking is very likely a foreign currency exchange difference which is applied to international cards, if that is what you used.
Thanks you for choosing Edgewater, we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    265
    59
    24
    8
See reviews for
105
435
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The Edgewater South Beach made our stay as a couple, very pleasant and peaceful. As soon as we stepped in we were greeted by a very nice staff that accommodated us with information and gave us an excellent room. Raphael and Michael to be Exact. The Complimentary continental breakfast and happy hour were a very nice touch that helped us start the morning and our evenings right before we left to explore. Free beach chairs and towels for whenever we needed them for, you guessed it, the beach. I would like to thank both Managers George and Richard who made made themselves available during my stay. Overall, the edgewater south beach is an excellent place to stay because of the staff, the location and the amenities it offers. I don't usually write reviews for anything but I believed this hotel deserved one for sure. I would strongly recommend staying here if you ever decide to visit the south beach area in Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Julio,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for noticing our efforts to make your stay special. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location, right across from the beach, but away from the rowdy bits. Room felt like an apartment. Was very clean. And the staff was beyond friendly not just at the front desk, but in the hallways, the elevator, and anytime you passed. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect location and good service.
The hotel is considered a small hotel but staff were friendly.
The hotel is well kept and clean.
It is very close to the beach within a walking distance.It was a good experience for the money we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. You can't beat the location and I like the fact it's not a massive hotel. The staff went above and beyond duty to make sure we were happy--our taxi driver slammed my finger in the door on our way to the hotel and when we arrived we told the Edewater staff what happened and Raphael immediately got ice for my finger and Jonathan got us into a room as soon as he could, which really meant a lot to us as my husband and I were pretty shaken up from the incident. Our room was spacious, clean and very modern. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on and we enjoyed both a delicious cuban lunch and Mexican dinner. Again, YOU CAN"T BEAT THE LOCATION. They also have a fabulous rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view of the beach. It is right in the heart of South beach and across the street from a public beach access. The continental breakfast spread was amazing and delicious, and they had a wonderful happy hour with a great assortment of beer, wine and snacks. We asked for a taxi for the next morning to take us to the airport and it was right on time. When we come back to Miami, this is going to be our hotel of choice for sure!

Room Tip: 5th floor was awesome--close access to rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the location is perfect - You can't get any better than this. The hotel is small but it's well kept and very clean. The staff really made a difference in our hotel stay - they were extremely friendly and very customer oriented. The room size is more than to bargain for - we stayed in a 1 room suite and there was ample space for our family with 2 little kids. The breakfast was delicious and kid-friendly for our tots, however my only dislike was the relaxed smoking rules out on the terrace. As a mother of 2 young children (a toddler & an infant), I would have preferred a non-smoking dining environment for my family, especially while we were trying to enjoy breakfast with a gorgeous ocean view. Apart from that, I am extremely pleased with the hotel's location, the level of cleaniness and the hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved this boutique hotel so much, on our return from Key west we used it again!
Friendly staff, easy check in and out , and lovely large rooms.
Definitely recommend this hotel, good value for money

Room Tip: Studios excellent value for money Breakfast not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Fitness center...
Show More
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#2 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Quaint, Charmin...
Show More
City Center
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Spa, Boutique...
Show More
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
Lord Balfour
Lord Balfour
#5 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
The Hotel
The Hotel
#10 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Angler's Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.