We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on Ocean Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel on Ocean Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent five nights here in mid August and it is an awesome hotel. We used it as a base for exploring South Florida and it was a great setting.

The hotel staff are fantastically helpful with dining tips and activity suggestions. The morning breakfast on the room was very pleasant (if you don't mind a couple of pigeons). The rooms were great and ours was very spacious with separate sleeping and lounge/dining areas.

The hotel is located towards the top of the main Ocean Drive hot spots and is perfect for nights out on the strip. It's just far enough away that noise was never a problem. Views from the front of the hotel over the beach were also excellent.

Parking is expensive($32 per night) but the valet service very good and I understand that this is an issue everywhere on SoBe.

We can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us such a great comment, Mark. We do recognize that we have an amazing team, glad you noticed. We are trying various humane methods to keep the pigeons away but have not found the magic formula just yet (we're not giving up).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    304
    73
    28
    9
See reviews for
123
524
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in great location close to the beach and the strip.

Front desk was very helpful Jonathan and Rafael are very attentive and helpful for any needs.

If I have a choice to stay at this hotel I would do it without a doubt in a heart beat.

I recommended to anyone staying in south beach for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We thank you very much for the recommendation, Will. Glad we impressed you, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay was awesome, I would recommend everyone to this hotel who would like to stay in South beach. The ambiance of the area and the beach is breath taking. The room was very modernized and the décor is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Glad to have been at your service, Cristal. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and service, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed at this very nice hotel and have only positive things to say! The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Great location on Ocean Dr, directly across the street from a very nice section of beach. The beach chairs provided by the hotel are very nice. The room was a great surprise! It was huge, clean, and very comfortable! It was more like a small apartment! The price was more than reasonable for being on ocean dr and the size/quality of the rooms. On a return trip to south beach, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We're quite happy to have surprised you in so many ways, Hendo. Our thanks for choosing to stay with us and for the great comment.
See you soon, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Edgewater for one week, from 1st - 7th of August 2013.
Fantastic hotel! Huge and spacious rooms, the beach just across the street, close to everything you want and need when in Miami and SoBe.. :)
Nice rooftop balcony with happyhour every afternoon, perfect for an hour of relaxing with a few, cold beers after a day in the sun on the beach.. :)
Very nice and helpful staff, and Michael at the front desk is fantastic!

We'll come back, that's guaranteed!

We recommend this hotel to all travellers, you won't be disappointed!

Jon Vegard & Jinn, Norway.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jon and Jinn,

On behalf of the Edgewater team, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and for recognizing our staff and service. Michael is definitely one of our stars.
Thanks for choosing Edgewater, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Edgewater Hotel for 3 nights. The front desk agent Alejandro was so friendly and helpful. He gave us great tips on dining and thanks to him; we ate the best burger of our lives :) The Happy Hour between 6 pm-7pm was awesome. You have a chance to drink beer and wine for free. The hotel is a bit away from the crazy party atmosphere which is perfect because we were able to sleep peacefully. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time in South Beach with us. Alejandro is grateful to have been at your service and for the mention. Safe travels, till we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed only one night here and it was my first time to stay on Ocean Dr. The Edgewater is a bit away from the really crazy party atmosphere. This was perfect for me as I was able to enjoy my Ocean View Room without having to deal with noise from the street. Loved staying on Ocean Dr.

The moment we entered the hotel, Alejandro at the reception was super busy, but attentive, and acknowledged us. A small gesture that meant a lot, as some would assume we could see they are busy and say nothing.
He very thoroughly went over every aspect of the hotel amenities, and charges to expect, such as the fee for the wifi, breakfast and happy hour.
The room was huge and so was the bathroom. Nicely decorated, though showing just a wee bit of wear.
The bed was comfortable and the temperature in the room was perfect - not too cold, like so many Miami hotels.
My only complaint was the shower was not enclosed, it has sort of half door, so lots of water ends up on the floor.
I can not finish my review without saying the staff is really excellent, friendly, helpful, and informed.
I also enjoyed the informal rooftop happy hour and meeting some of the other guests.

I also enjoyed being able to walk everywhere I wanted to go and the beach is literally across the street!

I will certainly stay at the Edgewater again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Penny,

It was my pleasure to have met you, please accept our heartfelt thanks for your wonderful comment and for acknowledging our staff and the service they provide our guests.

We very much look forward to seeing you again, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.