We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Boutique Hotel with Amazing Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Chantilly, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Unique Boutique Hotel with Amazing Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two days in March of 2013 with my daughter. I knew nothing about this hotel prior to staying here. What a wonderful experience! The staff, especially Jonathan, Ken and all the others whose names I can't remember provided some of the best customer service that I have ever had (I've been a Customer Service Manager for many years and I'm picky!). First - this hotel offers all that you need to make your stay enjoyable (excellent concierge service, ATM in hotel, workout room, complimentary breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the ocean, spacious, unique and extremely comfortable rooms, the decor was very well done, 2 minute walk to the beach, located right in the center of the excitement of South Beach...I could go on an on....The staff (from the front desk to housekeeping) was gracious, friendly and accommodating to all the guests that I saw first hand including myself. To the hotel owners - these are the folks you want mentoring your staff on how to run a hotel while providing an excellent customer service experience. I had never been to Miami before but after this wonderful experience I will be coming back and staying here again. In addition, I will be highly recommending this hotel to any of my friends who are visiting the area.

Room Tip: I stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip and so had two different rooms - both were excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're humbled by your compliments and comments, thank you so much! We do take great pride in our service, appearance and see ourselves as ambassadors of South Beach. We're very happy to have made such a lasting impression and look forward to your next stay with us.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    277
    65
    26
    8
See reviews for
111
466
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We returned 2 weeks ago from Miami and stayed at the Edgewater.its location cannot be beat...right across from the beach on Ocean Drive and just far enough from the hustle and bustle...
My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary and the hotel was kind enough to welcome us with a bottle of wine and a nice note. Thank you!!
The hotel is really great but what makes it even greater is the staff. From the front desk staff to the maid everyone made us feel welcome and appreciated. Some may find the $18 per day a bit excessive- as did we- especially since we never took advantage of the happy hour or the beach chairs. However, with the prices in South Beach $18 can be considered a bargain...
We booked an ocean view 1 bedroom suite and the room was great. Contemporary furnishings, clean, large and well appointed. We expected a terrace but the view was gorgeous and compensated for the lack of "outdoor space". We are seasoned travellers but this was out first (certainly not the last) trip to Miami thus were mostly outside the hotel enjoying the sites. Yes, prices all along Ocean Drive and in general in South Beach are exaggerated but...it's South Beach and it is expeceted. We rented a car and took advantage of the $30/day valet parking which was great because after 7pm or so there is no parking to be found anywhere is South Beach, especially weekends.
All in all, we had a great time, enjoyed everything about Miami and South Beach and we will certainly return to the Edgewater. Thanks to all staff for making our stay wonderful and memorable!! we willl certainly recommend your hotel to others...

Room Tip: some rooms on the fifth floor have a terrace although the ocean view can be somewhat restricted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're grateful for your recommendations, Anfloer, and thank you for your wonderful feedback. Team Edgewater loves hospitality as well as catering to our guests so we get quite excited when we are caught at our best. We wait for the next opportunity to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time, we really appreciated the staff. They were amazing. (Big thanks to Edward)

Location at 14th on ocean drive is just perfect!!

Rooms are clean and contemporary.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and for mentioning Edward's service, Thomas. We do have rooms which stand out from the others being offered in South Beach. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We struggled to find a place in South Beach for 3 couples meeting up in Florida - especially a nice location that wouldn't break the bank. Edgewater is a hidden gem - not too many rooms, but they're very large, well appointed (a nice kitchen in our room), and the staff is GREAT.

The only reason I wouldn't recommend it is because they'll soon realize that they're the best deal on Ocean Dr. with an amazing location, and their prices will go up!

Room Tip: We had Room 500 - great balcony overseeing the terrace, and has a bit of a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We'll always have great deals for our return guests, just give us a call. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Right on Ocean Drive this hotel is in a great location. Across the road from the beach and close to bars and restautrants (without being noisy). The bedrooms and bathrooms are really well appointed. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Complimentary breakfast in the morning is great, simple but fresh and tasty. The happy hour in the evening on the roof terrace is a nice chance to wind down with some pretzels and a beer after a day on the beach.

Overall great hotel, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We aim to please and take pride in our service, thanks for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Edgewater for a night before returning to reality after two weeks in Peru and Ecuador. Arrived at 7:30am the day of check-in after arriving in Miami at 5:15am from a overnight flight. We asked if we could check-in expecting a "sorry, come back later" and they just happened to have a no show the night before and they were able to get us in. Thanks Jonathan! The room was very clean and the hotel has all the necessities for the beach (chairs, towels, coolers). The happy hour and breakfast were also great. Location was perfect. Hotel is right on Ocean but on the quite end and steps from the beach.

Can't say enough about the great service! Edward and Joseph were all around helpful, friendly and accommodating. We were very pleased with both restaurant recommendations we were given. We had lunch at David's Cafe on Collins (Cuban) and dinner at Quinn's on Ocean (seafood).

We will definitely go back next time we are in South Beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we are very glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival. Also thanks on behalf of Edward and Joseph, they were excited about being mentioned.
Hope your travels will bring you back to us this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here December 2012 for four nights.Everything was perfect,staff,room and location.Breakfast was lovely with ample choice.Enjoyed the happy hour after a day on the beach.The only thing i would comment on is the shower screen is not big enough so water went everywhere.
I cant wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks very much for the compliments, Edgewater team appreciates the time you took to let us know that you had a great time and enjoyed what we have to offer. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.