We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Located at the north end of Ocean Drive, the Edgewater Hotel is close enough to walk to most places of interest in South Beach yet quiet enough to get a good rest. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful, from bookings to front desk to house keeping - well done. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The rooftop terrace is a nice place for the daily "drinks with the manager" and breakfast (which is perfectly fine as well). Some people complain about wifi - I had no problems at all with my iPad and iPhone. Summary: I will be back.

Room Tip: ocean view, definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Team Edgewater thanks you for taking the time to share your stay. We are grateful that you chose us for your stay in South Beach and hope to be at your service during your next trip here.
The WiFi issues should no longer show up on our guest comments as we've upgraded our network with better hardware, speeds, as well as HD channels in all rooms.
Thanks again, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    275
    65
    26
    8
See reviews for
110
463
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I live in Miami and chose this hotel as a get-a-way location to be near the beach....and I was not disappointed!!! The hotel is modern and very well kept. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is great! The best part of the stay has to be the staff (which is rare here in Miami). It is apparent that the hotel is very well managed because every employee was amazing. Two employees stood out: Jonathan and Andre were so friendly and welcoming that, alone with their efforts to make my stay the best it could be, I will definitely be coming back to this hotel!

Room Tip: 5th floor has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words and for noticing our stellar staff. Both Jonathan and Andre are grateful for your mention. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Edgewater for 3 nights in March 2013 - it was a great vacation! The hotel has a great location on Ocean Drive - close to everything without being affected by the noise late at night.

The staff was very friendly, professional and helpful during our entire stay. Our room, on the 5th floor, was very large, spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel has the best cleaning service I've seen in a long while - all surfaces and floors (in and outside the rooms) were spotless at all times. The breakfast offering has plenty of options and was included in our rate. There were beach towels and chairs available for pick-up during the day.

I will definitely look to stay here again when I come to South Beach. Thank you Santiago, Jonathan and the rest of the team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for noticing the hard work of our housekeeping team and our staff as a whole. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to spoiling you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ordered a king bed and received a small queen. We ultimately ended up with another room with noise that lasted till 2am. Then the morning staff arrived at 7am and we could hear them like they were right on top of us. Non working wifi for iPads. Gave up on maid service for the day when it didn't come till 3pm. Furniture so uncomfortable. The list goes on and on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Esteemed guest,

Our apologies for not providing what you had expected, we usually have the opposite feedback about our rooms, amenities and service. As we are a limited service hotel, our housekeeping service is provided in between 8AM and 4:30PM unless a specific time during this time frame is requested by our guests. The WiFi is being upgraded as we speak and work will be completed by mid-April so the issue you have experienced will be addressed.
After the discussion we've had I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at this oceanfront hotel for 5 days. The room was very nice. Clean and comfortable. While you pay extra money for the breakfast and happy hour they were enjoyable. The location is great -in the heart of the Deco section of South Beach. I do think that $30. daily parking on top of the $20. daily spoil me plan is expense

Room Tip: Do not get a room without windows. They are very dark and dreary my room had a balcony which was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
The Edgewater team thanks you for sharing your experience with us, Leida. The parking situation in South Beach is very difficult due to limited space, our valet charge is actually the norm for this area but there are other self-parking options such as the street and municipal parking lots and garages. The valet option is always more convenient for guests as the car is picked up and delivered to the hotel which involves a third party hence the higher cost.
In regards to your room tip, all of our rooms and suites have windows but some get less light depending on location.
Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile


Friendly and helpful reception staff! Very straight forward check in; we were very pleased to find everything so easy and hassel free. We stayed in a room on the 5th floor; the terrace was very spatious and has an amazing L shape sofa that is very comfortable and big enough for two people to laid down. The staff was very attentive. Andree in particular. Thanks very much to everyone at the edgewater for making our stay memmorable! Will come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your time with us, Soledad. Creating memorable experiences for our guests is at the core of everything we do, very glad we provided one for you. Andre is grateful for being mentioned.
Come see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed there for 5 days, before and after our Caribbean cruise. Unlike other reviews, I think the breakfast is really nice: yogurt, breads, fruits, milk, juice, butter, cream cheese and even nutella!
The bedroom is huge and the furniture is brand new. The location is perfect: the beach is right in front of it, and it is a few blocks to Lincoln Road and also close to Collins' stores. I loved it and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words, Kau. We're happy you enjoyed Edgewater and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.