We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I really on South Beach?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Am I really on South Beach?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Trendy and hot South Beach is not as well known for its customer service as it is for sexy, Latino flair. However, at the Edgewater, tucked quietly between several other boutique hotels and restaurants on the 1400 block of Ocean Drive, customer service is as outstanding as its 5th floor patio waterfront view; there, a wine and beer happy hour from 5-6 PM and a continental breakfast are hosted, providing appreciated value-added hospitality for a $18/day fee. Towels for the beach are also provided and EVERYTHING at the Edgewater is provided with a smile. From the helpful doormen to housekeeping, and especially the reservations assistance through Martine, the Edgewater exudes pleasant attitude, a sincere interest in guest satisfaction and meticulous care of the premises. As a former condo turned hotel, this spot has become an annual favorite for business or pleasure travel. Neighboring restaurants are convenient and top-notch--especially Il Bolognese next door which has another restaurant on Lincoln Road. But please don't let TOO many people know about this great hotel--we don't want to lose our favorite room!

Room Tip: The 5th floor faces the balcony where happy hour and breakfast are hosted. Great view and convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
No matter how many know about us we will never lose attentiveness and will to please all of our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words, our team is very appreciative. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    266
    59
    24
    8
See reviews for
106
439
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Miami Beach is an expensive place and we’ve had some good and bad stays over the years. Late last year we booked a Deluxe Studio for 2 nights at Edgewater over New Years on Hotels.com, as the hotel was on the beach and included the following description: room overlooks ocean and beach. Unfortunately, we were sadly disappointed.
Check in was less than wonderful. We arrived at 1pm hoping to get in early and hit the beach; unfortunately no rooms were available until 3pm (which is normal check-in). While the staff was not very friendly when we first arrived, they improved during the rest of the stay. When we were able to check in, we found that the only view of the beach came from sticking our heads out the window on the side of hotel; not exactly what we imagined and we felt cheated. The room was large but uninspired and a little boring. It’s a studio equipped with a small kitchen but no crockery or cutlery so basically useless! Items for sale in the ‘mini bar’ were ridiculously priced. The bed was average but the bathroom was a good size and modern. The room included a seating area (couch and chairs) and a TV. The curtains did not block out the sun so might be an issue if you want to sleep in or you’re a light sleeper.
Guests are required to pay a resort fee per day which includes wifi (good reception), breakfast (rather lame, packaged muffins, bread, fruit, yogurt and coffee/tea/juices), and towels for the beach. I’d rather pay for the items we wanted (wifi only).
It’s a great location, on the beach and a few blocks from Lincoln Road (pedestrian road for shopping), many restaurants (hint: eat and drink during happy hour and you’ll save big money).
It’s a decent hotel, right in the action but not the best we’ve stayed at in South Beach, but perhaps worth it if you can find a good deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us constructive feedback, it's always appreciated as we use it to improve our product and services. We do our best to accommodate all requests, including early check in and succeed quite often but during sold out times it becomes very hard to grant certain requests without inconveniencing other guests.
Thank you for staying with us, we do hope you will consider giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I travel to Miami between 2 to 5 times a year on business and I bring my wife along when I can so I can get a bit of a vacation out of it as well. I have found hotels to be very hit and miss in South Beach, pictures don't always tell the story. I read a ton of positive reviews on Edgewater so I decided to give it a try.

In very simple terms Edgewater is the best spot in South Beach. Perfectly situated on Ocean Drive, quiet at nights in my room so I can get rest before a day of business, yet a 5 minute walk to all the hot restaurants, clubs and bars on Ocean Drive. Also a short 5 minute walk to the fantastic restaurants on Espanola way and another couple of minutes to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln road.

Now that location is covered, the biggest problem I've had with past hotels in south beach is quality, cleanliness, size of room and service. Edgewater was a 10 on all fronts, big room, great view of the ocean, very clean, full kitchen, great water pressure, comfortable bed. I don't know what else to say, other than the staff were fantastic and made our stay perfect.

South Beach can be expensive, so make sure when you go down you are not disappointed with your room. At Edgewater you will be 100% satisfied.

Thank you Edgewater, keep up the good work, see you guys in a few months.

Ed

Room Tip: If you are able request a room facing the beach and on the 5th floor. More costly but worth it. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ed,

Our team is very grateful for your wonderful feedback, THANK YOU for taking the time to share. We very much look forward to be at your service during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL PASO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly helpful staff.
Recently remodeled.
They offer a continental breakfast on the rooftop that has an ocean view, this is wonderful.
They had a happy hour in the evening also on the rooftop.
Within walking distance to anything that you may want to do in south beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for your kind words. Looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is very convenient and the staff is so friendly but hotel really has no charm. Nothing interesting about the common areas or room. We stayed in a suite which was roomy but lacked any warmth. The television was in the sitting room where the carpet was dirty and the furniture was uncomfortable. The lighting in the bathrooms (there were two in our suite) was horrible for putting on makeup. There is a kitchenette, but no silverware or plates.

Positives: size of room, location, very comfortable bed, linens and pillows, friendliness of staff
Negatives: dirty carpet, no bathtub, no TV in bedroom, bad lighting in bathrooms, uncomfortable seating in sitting room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay, Paula, we appreciate it very much. We do have a particular setup and it's true that it does not appeal to all but what we lack in lobby space we make up in gorgeous rooftop space and consistently great service. We do offer kitchen amenities upon request, not sure that you inquired at our front desk.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Only stayed one night on the last night of my business trip. Hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I appreciate that windows open and the small kitchen in the room.
Well done Edgewater!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for staying with us! We hope to serve you for a longer time on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great 3 night stay on a business trip. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous, day or night. I used valet parking and that was helpful and timely. The room was spaceous and comfortable with nice kitchenette ammenities. Though there is a lot of activity going on along Ocean Drive, the room was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping. It was in easy walking distance of all the places and activities that I needed, especially accessible to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, Chad. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.