We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Door man and concierge Rafael knows the area well. He will work to accommodate your wishes. Continental breakfast is nice the free happy hour is even better. the rooms are clean and well appointed. Both my parents and my girlfriend had a great time on New Years. Looking forward to the next visit. Adam and Nadia

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Adam and Nadia,

Please accept our genuine gratitude for having chosen us for your stay in South Beach and more so for recognizing Rafael's fantastic service (he was very grateful for the mention). We can't wait for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    305
    73
    28
    9
See reviews for
123
525
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Good location close to the northern end of ocean drive which is quieter, friendly staff, comfortable large rooms and beds. Nice touches like guest happy hour and breakfast on the rooftop. Very positive experience.

Only negative that applies to most hotels in that area, the parking is difficult even when using the valet services.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter side and don't mind the view, ask for a back facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Edgewater for your time in South Beach. The parking/valet situation on Ocean Drive is pretty hectic at times and we do our best to manage it, just like all other hotels located on Ocean Drive.
Our staff is quite happy and thankful that you noticed our efforts and we hope we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent place to stay, gorgeous hotel and view, just what I wanted from South Beach. The room was really spacious, well decorated with its own little kitchen and the hotel has great service. Defo stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We're very happy that we provided exactly what you had wanted during your stay in South Beach. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for our first night on put way to the keys in December! It's right on south beach and only about a 20 minute drive from Miami airport. Our room was huge, could've easily slept 2 more on the sofa in the lounge area. It had a kitchenette though no pots/ pans etc but did have a large fridge and microwave so useful I guess if you had babies milk? However breakfast is a bit ropey... Plastic plates and basic continental style, bagels pastries(in plastic packages) coffee in paper cups etc.... But it's edible! Location is good, down the slightly quieter end of the street but walking distance to the atmospheric bars and restaurants all along the front. The bar downstairs (not part of the hotel) gives hotel residents a discount and looked nice. Beach is right across the road and beach towels provided... The sea is like a bath and beach clean and white! We didn't stay long but would return if in Miami again .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Breakfast is consistently being changed based on our guest feedback, thank you for your honest opinion. Glad you enjoyed your time in South Beach, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I only stayed overnight, and I did not use the restaurant or the pool. However, the front desk and outside personnel were excellent and very friendly. I would love to stay again when I can spend more time. Great location and a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your time in South Beach with us even though it was short. We hope your next stay will be longer so that you can get the full Edgewater experience.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This South Beach hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Lincoln.

Rooms are very comfortable and looked refurbished. The carpet is so soft, it's like walking on air. The large bed was very comfortable. My room had a mini kitchen which could be useful for longer stays, as well as a big widescreen TV and decent minibar.

Received a very warm welcome from the very helpful staff - exactly what was needed after an international flight.

My room looked out onto a side street, but I was not there for ocean views - just a comfortable, quiet base for a short stay in Miami in a great location.

One thing they need to work on is making the wifi easier to use (no one could remember the passwords) and for it not to time out. I did not eat at this hotel due to circumstance, but the restaurant area looked OK and anyway, you are in South Beach so there's plenty of choices.

Is is a good, solid choice for a stay on South Beach - you will need to pay more if you want guaranteed ocean views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed our property, service and stay. We are currently working on upgrading our WiFi so you will not experience the same during your next stay.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is located on the north end of Ocean, so it was fairly quiet. However, some rooms look out onto a courtyard, so your only view is of the front doors of other people's rooms. You also have to deal with a tremendous echo caused by anyone who uses that courtyard.

We asked nicely, and they moved us to a beautiful 1 bedroom unit with high ceilings and an ocean view.

The rooftop patio was nice, and they provide a complimentary wine hour, and daily breakfast options up there.

The only other issue we had was with the valet parking. On one day, they brought us the wrong vehicle, on the next, it took them an hour to get our vehicle. They also tried to charge us for parking the whole week, even though we only had the car for 2 days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we very much appreciate it. We do have a few different room layouts and view orientation but are often able to accommodate guest preferences if one of them is not comfortable for our guests, just like we have for you. Apologies for the mishap with valet service and billing, this rarely happens.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.