We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great hotel and fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent place to stay, gorgeous hotel and view, just what I wanted from South Beach. The room was really spacious, well decorated with its own little kitchen and the hotel has great service. Defo stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We're very happy that we provided exactly what you had wanted during your stay in South Beach. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    479
    265
    58
    23
    8
See reviews for
105
433
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for our first night on put way to the keys in December! It's right on south beach and only about a 20 minute drive from Miami airport. Our room was huge, could've easily slept 2 more on the sofa in the lounge area. It had a kitchenette though no pots/ pans etc but did have a large fridge and microwave so useful I guess if you had babies milk? However breakfast is a bit ropey... Plastic plates and basic continental style, bagels pastries(in plastic packages) coffee in paper cups etc.... But it's edible! Location is good, down the slightly quieter end of the street but walking distance to the atmospheric bars and restaurants all along the front. The bar downstairs (not part of the hotel) gives hotel residents a discount and looked nice. Beach is right across the road and beach towels provided... The sea is like a bath and beach clean and white! We didn't stay long but would return if in Miami again .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Breakfast is consistently being changed based on our guest feedback, thank you for your honest opinion. Glad you enjoyed your time in South Beach, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I only stayed overnight, and I did not use the restaurant or the pool. However, the front desk and outside personnel were excellent and very friendly. I would love to stay again when I can spend more time. Great location and a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your time in South Beach with us even though it was short. We hope your next stay will be longer so that you can get the full Edgewater experience.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This South Beach hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Lincoln.

Rooms are very comfortable and looked refurbished. The carpet is so soft, it's like walking on air. The large bed was very comfortable. My room had a mini kitchen which could be useful for longer stays, as well as a big widescreen TV and decent minibar.

Received a very warm welcome from the very helpful staff - exactly what was needed after an international flight.

My room looked out onto a side street, but I was not there for ocean views - just a comfortable, quiet base for a short stay in Miami in a great location.

One thing they need to work on is making the wifi easier to use (no one could remember the passwords) and for it not to time out. I did not eat at this hotel due to circumstance, but the restaurant area looked OK and anyway, you are in South Beach so there's plenty of choices.

Is is a good, solid choice for a stay on South Beach - you will need to pay more if you want guaranteed ocean views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed our property, service and stay. We are currently working on upgrading our WiFi so you will not experience the same during your next stay.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is located on the north end of Ocean, so it was fairly quiet. However, some rooms look out onto a courtyard, so your only view is of the front doors of other people's rooms. You also have to deal with a tremendous echo caused by anyone who uses that courtyard.

We asked nicely, and they moved us to a beautiful 1 bedroom unit with high ceilings and an ocean view.

The rooftop patio was nice, and they provide a complimentary wine hour, and daily breakfast options up there.

The only other issue we had was with the valet parking. On one day, they brought us the wrong vehicle, on the next, it took them an hour to get our vehicle. They also tried to charge us for parking the whole week, even though we only had the car for 2 days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we very much appreciate it. We do have a few different room layouts and view orientation but are often able to accommodate guest preferences if one of them is not comfortable for our guests, just like we have for you. Apologies for the mishap with valet service and billing, this rarely happens.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Miami Ock and Roll Half Marathon. Excellent service and the place was better than we expected. "Richard" was helpful with directions and other relevant beach informatioin. Would stay again for next year's 1/2 marathon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We're glad we surprised you with excellent service and look forward to your stay next year. Richard appreciates that you noticed his work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Genuinely helpful staff and a really good location on Ocean Drive near Lincoln outdoor mall make this a great find.

Room was large - like a junior suite with small kitchen. Newly refurbished with modern furniture.

There's no pool (the beach is across the road) and the balcony looked onto a small service road but these are to be expected for the price.

Only a few details would make this hotel better:

- the room was very dark at night and needs at least one more lamp
- the bathroom towels were thin and cheap - in contrast to the bathroom itself which was very smart
- the wifi was particularly fiddly to log into and has been set to log you out every few minutes.

But overall, a very nice property. Recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your observations, we appreciate our guests' feedback. We are already working on upgrading our WiFi and will definitely look into your other suggestions. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.