We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality rooms in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Quality rooms in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This South Beach hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Lincoln.

Rooms are very comfortable and looked refurbished. The carpet is so soft, it's like walking on air. The large bed was very comfortable. My room had a mini kitchen which could be useful for longer stays, as well as a big widescreen TV and decent minibar.

Received a very warm welcome from the very helpful staff - exactly what was needed after an international flight.

My room looked out onto a side street, but I was not there for ocean views - just a comfortable, quiet base for a short stay in Miami in a great location.

One thing they need to work on is making the wifi easier to use (no one could remember the passwords) and for it not to time out. I did not eat at this hotel due to circumstance, but the restaurant area looked OK and anyway, you are in South Beach so there's plenty of choices.

Is is a good, solid choice for a stay on South Beach - you will need to pay more if you want guaranteed ocean views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed our property, service and stay. We are currently working on upgrading our WiFi so you will not experience the same during your next stay.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    230
    52
    21
    8
See reviews for
84
376
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is located on the north end of Ocean, so it was fairly quiet. However, some rooms look out onto a courtyard, so your only view is of the front doors of other people's rooms. You also have to deal with a tremendous echo caused by anyone who uses that courtyard.

We asked nicely, and they moved us to a beautiful 1 bedroom unit with high ceilings and an ocean view.

The rooftop patio was nice, and they provide a complimentary wine hour, and daily breakfast options up there.

The only other issue we had was with the valet parking. On one day, they brought us the wrong vehicle, on the next, it took them an hour to get our vehicle. They also tried to charge us for parking the whole week, even though we only had the car for 2 days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we very much appreciate it. We do have a few different room layouts and view orientation but are often able to accommodate guest preferences if one of them is not comfortable for our guests, just like we have for you. Apologies for the mishap with valet service and billing, this rarely happens.
Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for the Miami Ock and Roll Half Marathon. Excellent service and the place was better than we expected. "Richard" was helpful with directions and other relevant beach informatioin. Would stay again for next year's 1/2 marathon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We're glad we surprised you with excellent service and look forward to your stay next year. Richard appreciates that you noticed his work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Genuinely helpful staff and a really good location on Ocean Drive near Lincoln outdoor mall make this a great find.

Room was large - like a junior suite with small kitchen. Newly refurbished with modern furniture.

There's no pool (the beach is across the road) and the balcony looked onto a small service road but these are to be expected for the price.

Only a few details would make this hotel better:

- the room was very dark at night and needs at least one more lamp
- the bathroom towels were thin and cheap - in contrast to the bathroom itself which was very smart
- the wifi was particularly fiddly to log into and has been set to log you out every few minutes.

But overall, a very nice property. Recommended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your observations, we appreciate our guests' feedback. We are already working on upgrading our WiFi and will definitely look into your other suggestions. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very nice location and very nice service. Really nice hotel. The restaurant is also very good. Big rooms with lots of space and light. Near the beach and the restaurants and bars. in a quiet place in Ocean Drive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing us, Sergio. Our rooms are definitely different than your usual hotel rooms and this is why our guests feel more like at home than in a hotel. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

So pleased with this hotel - great location, decent room (very clean and good size) and the staff are just super helpful and friendly. We were travelling with 2 kids (toddler and newborn) and naturally I was super nervous but the staff were so incredibly helpful and nice that I felt totally at ease. I would definitely come here again. Highly recommend edgewater hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your feedback Neena. We are definitely child friendly and our staff goes above and beyond to insure everyone is comfortable. Very happy you enjoyed your stay, please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel could not be better located if you want a south beach hotel close to all the action. It's at the quiet end of ocean drive which means its a hop across the road to the beach and a short walk to Lincoln Road mall, Espanola Way etc where you find very nice shops and restaurants.
We had a deluxe sea view studio which was spacious and view out onto ocean drive and sea was perfect.There was a background noise from out the front which did not bother us at all. People who complain about a bit of noise at this hotel should research their holiday plans,this is Ocean Drive, Miami!!! It's not a quiet place. Stay off ocean drive if a quiet holiday is what you want.
The beach chairs and towels were a big bonus. The breakfast is very basic but adequate. Happy hour free drinks a nice touch. Wi fi worked very well.
The staff are all very friendly and keen to help.
If a central location, close to the action,at a reasonable price is what you want then look no further !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and for choosing Edgewater. We are glad you enjoyed what we offer and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Edgewater South Beach Hotel
Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.