We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater South Beach

Save Saved
You added Edgewater South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Edgewater South Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel could not be better located if you want a south beach hotel close to all the action. It's at the quiet end of ocean drive which means its a hop across the road to the beach and a short walk to Lincoln Road mall, Espanola Way etc where you find very nice shops and restaurants.
We had a deluxe sea view studio which was spacious and view out onto ocean drive and sea was perfect.There was a background noise from out the front which did not bother us at all. People who complain about a bit of noise at this hotel should research their holiday plans,this is Ocean Drive, Miami!!! It's not a quiet place. Stay off ocean drive if a quiet holiday is what you want.
The beach chairs and towels were a big bonus. The breakfast is very basic but adequate. Happy hour free drinks a nice touch. Wi fi worked very well.
The staff are all very friendly and keen to help.
If a central location, close to the action,at a reasonable price is what you want then look no further !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us and for choosing Edgewater. We are glad you enjoyed what we offer and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    265
    59
    23
    8
See reviews for
105
434
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed here for 1 night. the loocation is very central and the staff was very friendlly and helpful. I had the smallest type of room which was really really small. basically just a bed, almost could not open my suitcase on the floor! fortunately I was alone. for 2 this type of room would have been really too small!,The room was very clean, .not get fooled by the "free breakfast" offer. it is only a "take away" type of buffet with pastries and coffee. ther eis no place to sit down and actually eat your breakfast! ,I would like to mention to the Maintenance staff and the Fast service to Open my Room and safety box......

Room Tip: Try room 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hi Jennifer,

Thanks for staying with us and for deciding to share your experience. Your comment about the room size comes quite as a surprise, we usually receive the opposite since our smallest room is 361 square feet. Please keep in mind that we also offer one bedroom suites which average around 600 square feet.
Sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast offering, we do pay attention to what our guests enjoy and change the selection every so often. We do not advertise it as free, it is actually part of the resort fee. We use our rooftop terrace for breakfast and we do have plenty of seating, not sure if you noticed.
Thanks again for staying with us, hope we will have the pleasure of being at your service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is in a great location right on Ocean Drive and within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue and Collins Avenue. We used the valet parking for about $30 a day, although if you don't have a lot of luggage there are plenty of multi storeys you can use close by. We arrived before check in and our room wasn't ready so the staff took care of our luggage and advised us to get some lunch, when we returned our room was ready.
The happy hour on the roof terrance was great with amazing views out to sea. We also used the hotel beach towels and chairs and walked over the road to the beach.
Rooms are large but the view from balcony wasn't great. The bath towels are quite small and the hotel doesn't have a sign on the front making it tricky to locate. Also no swimming pool but with the beach so close it didn't matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback, Angie, it only helps us improve. We are actually looking into upgrading our signage so that we will be more visible.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice hotel in an excellent location! Thanks to all the friendly and great staff! In this Hotel you are IN Miami Beach! everything walking distance. The room was very spacious and clean, the complimentary breakfast, it's a very good breakfast that you take at the terrace of the Hotel with an excellent view. Resuming: great location, friendly staff, spacious rooms, great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks very much for your positive review, Adrian. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If South Beach Miami is your destination this is a great place to stay. The hotel has recently been remodeled. The rooms are large and reasonably priced. The staff are all friendly and responsive.

There is a mandatory $18 resort fee which includes a continental breakfast, internet access and a beach chair and towels.

Breakfast is served outside on the roof of the hotel. If it is windy or raining this is a major problem. On beautiful days this is an asset.

Our first night we stayed in room 207 - it is a nightmare!! It is located next to the elevator equipment and the noise is unbearable. The bed is also tiny and has a dangerous wood bed frame (I banged my shins every-time I walked around the bed. I believe that this is the same for room 307. The second night we stayed in room 304 which is beautiful! The only problem with 304 is the loud music played by the restaurant located just below the room and facing busy Ocean Ave.

Room Tip: No pool of fitness center. Make sure not to stay in room 207 or 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Joel,

Thank you for the constructive criticism, we appreciate all guest feedback. We are looking into the bed frame of room 207. The music at the restaurant is usually at a reasonable level and stops completely at around midnight. Our apologies for the inconvenience with both rooms.
Thank you for choosing Edgewater South Beach, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaulieu, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our second visit to the Edgewater and still a great place to stay. Right on Ocean Drive but down the quiet end of the strip. Great helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommend the resort package including breakfast happy hour (free imported beer and wine) and beach chairs and towels. Rooms are large clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us Mark. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Richard & the rest of the front desk team were personable, responsive and sincere. I needed to check in early before a business meeting, and they made it happen. FYI best parking option is public garage down the street at 13th!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George_Vesa, General Manager at Edgewater South Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for recognizing our front desk team's hard work and for sharing your experience at Edgewater. We appreciate our return guests very much, thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater South Beach

Address: 1410 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater South Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater South Beach welcomes guests to a relaxing, intimate retreat. The contemporary style and comforts of a modern boutique hotel are evident in every detail of this fully renovated Art Deco District hotel. From the contemporary vibe of the rooms and suites to the European ambiance of the private Rooftop Terrace, Edgewater South Beach is a refreshing alternative in Ocean Drive hotels.Edgewater South Beach was originally built in the heart of Miami Beach’s burgeoning Art Deco District in 1936. Constructed in the Mediterranean Revival style by renowned architect Roy F. France, this Ocean Drive hotel features a striking façade and an intimate rooftop terrace that evokes feelings of St. Tropez, Italy and the Cote d’Azur.Completely redone and renovated in 2003, Edgewater has emerged as a modern boutique hotel featuring suites and studios designed by the internationally renowned Deborah Wecselman Design firm. Located oceanfront at 1410 Ocean Drive, Edgewater South Beach offers guests an experience that blends stylish accommodations with exceptional service, all in the heart of Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.